We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Breathtaking property!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Save
You added Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking property!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had gone there as a family to celebrate my Husbands birthday... :)

the property is so beautiful that it totally takes your breath away... there are water bucks strolling around.. a little further down post the fence of the property you would see zeebras and giraffes running and playing... birds chirping... trees whistling... its so serene that you would be at peace instantly...

I had not requested for anything special as we like to generally keep it a quiet affair... but they knew that it was my husbands birthday (had mentioned it while booking). But the way they celebrated it with so much happiness and excitement that we were all blown away! The care they took was so touching we will never forget our stay there.

The only thing I did not like was the rooms... they were too big for my taste... I like cozier and
more comfortable rooms... but then again no one else in the group complained! :D

PS: there are so many trees... dont forget to carry something warm for the evening/early morning stroll!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    83
    28
    13
    1
See reviews for
55
60
3
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Popped into this hotel for my recent short stay in Kenya, in fact, for lunch. It was awesome. The food is amazing and enjoyed every moment of it. It was worth the drive all the way from Nairobi. The whole environment is tranquil and relaxing. Cannot wait to sleep here in 2014. Loved the setting, within the bushy areas of Naivasha.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThuleN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Our tour company relocated us to to the Simba Lodge from the Sopa Lodge because of the Rally, so my expectations were not high. However, it was on lovely grounds, the staff was great, food just fine & giraffe, water buck & hippo were present & gorgeous. Room lovely, tho we couldn't open the window because of a huge beehive on the second floor eaves! Lots of hot water, too, for bonus points. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kqhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
303 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I just returned home from our 11 day safari to Kenya and Tanzania. We stayed at the Simba lodge on our 3rd night and enjoyed every minute of it. It is set on many acres of forest, right on the edge of Lake Naivasha which is in between the Masai Mara and Nairobi. The grounds are beautiful and there are many animals roaming around. We saw all types of gazelle, dik dik, flamingos, hippos, giraffes and many birds too. The public areas: restaurant, bar, pool, gym and the hotel buildings are very nice and in good shape. Our room was very large, with a separate sitting area for watching TV and pretty much was a mini suite. The rooms are also very nicely appointed with African themes and all have a view of the beautiful grounds and the animals are right out the window. One of our favorite things was, we had a ground floor room that had a small, private courtyard with an outside shower that we used a few times and that was a really nice treat! Overall, this place was on of the best we stayed at on safari and the food and the staff was top notch as well. We even made friends with a security guard who took us on a mini, night safari on the grounds where we saw several hippos and other animals too! ( I think his name was Samuel?) I would highly recommend staying here and would stay here myself for sure on a future trip!

Room Tip: Try to get an end, floor unit so you will have an outdoor shower with a private courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brentsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

When we drove into this resort right next to Lake Naivasha, we were eager to go for the safari walk . It was touching evening when we reached but the staff obliged us with coffee and tea on the house. The rooms were clean and had a sunken living area and the windows afforded a view of the waterbucks grazing just outside! Walking to our rooms when dusk had settled , we were thrilled at catching sight of a herd of waterbucks that had decided to adopt this resort for camping/ grazing at night!
Our adventure started there and then! We booked our Early morning Walk Safari and our boat ride as well at the reception.
We let the staff know that we were there to celebrate my so in law s birthday!
Dinner time when the food had been cleared away, the lights were dimmed and a candle lit procession of the staff swaying and singing weaved towards our table . They made the occasion so memorable! Even some guests joined in!
I mentioned that we were not beef eaters nor v fond of pork so they went out of their way and our table had an extra chicken dish courtesy the chef every time!
Next day the walk safari ( right next to the resort) had us spot hippos, giraffes, water bucks , zebras , etc etc and a number of birds!
The boat ride was awesome. The boat itself was a good one and we saw a number of hippos and the national bird of kenya steadfastly guarding its eggs! Herons and cormorants were in abundance! The weather was perfect with just a little chill. When we reached back, we saw five six giraffes, a number of zebras and waterbucks canter past and frolic in the dust! Awesome! A must Visit! And only about three hours by road from Nairobi!
This hotel is recommended for its Staff, Its cleanliness, its food, its service and its location.And Yes Do Not forget to tip generously everytime. They expect it but they are worth it!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the corner having an extended outdoor shower area. Its a unique experience to bathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeerjaPandeTiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in September on a weeks safari in Kenya. We were not originally supposed to stay here but our original accommodation was fully booked, but we did not mind at all as this was a lovely place. The rooms are fantastic and had a great little sunken living area, and with view of waterbucks in the grounds, absolutely amazing! Would definitely recommend anyone to take a boat trip on the lake, its still a little way by car from the lodge, but so worth it, we were told most of the flamingos had migrated already, but there was still thousands to see, along with hippos and all types of birds - cranes, herons, pelicans, etc. Wonderful scenery with the mountains in the background. The hotel has a nice restaurant and a late opening gift shop!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essex08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

the hotel has a beautiful garden and the setting and location was good. there were wild animals walking in the garden. it was the only place we stayed where there is tv in the room and tea making facility.

but the room is a bit dated. the mattress was not as comfortable. our key concern was there were more than 10 mosquitos flying around with blood when we walked in the room. the other hotel all provided mosquitos net but this one doesnt.

be very careful with mpsquitos..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pumpkin422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
4.6 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
7.7 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
4.4 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#7 of 39 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
#1 of 39 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sweet Lake Resort
Sweet Lake Resort
#6 of 6 in Naivasha
3.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Property: Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Address: Moi South Lake Road, Naivasha 20117, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing