We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely garden and setting. but mind the mosquitos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely garden and setting. but mind the mosquitos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

the hotel has a beautiful garden and the setting and location was good. there were wild animals walking in the garden. it was the only place we stayed where there is tv in the room and tea making facility.

but the room is a bit dated. the mattress was not as comfortable. our key concern was there were more than 10 mosquitos flying around with blood when we walked in the room. the other hotel all provided mosquitos net but this one doesnt.

be very careful with mpsquitos..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pumpkin422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    84
    30
    15
    1
See reviews for
58
61
3
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Recently returned from a Best of Kenya Safari booked through REAL AFRICA in the UK (a company we would highly recommend).

What a lovely place the Navaisha Simba Lodge is. The accommodation, set in large and lovely maintained grounds, is first-class with a nice swimming pool area to relax in when not taking in the sights of the lake areas. Among many other plus - points was the food which was varied and of excellent quality.

As a game viewing location, Lake Naivasha is of course a completely different experience where flamingos and hippos and bird-life in general take the place of elephant, rhino and the big game of reserves such as Amboseli, Samburu and the Masai Mara. To enjoy it properly, you really need to take a boat trip although it is also possible to take a short guided walk beyond the lodge perimeter an join the warthogs, giraffe and other species. (Don't forget to tip the lodge guide a couple of hundred shillings).

We stayed two nights here and on the second day our itinerary included a 90 minute trip to the nearby Lake Nakuru reserve which was well worth it. Had this not been included, then two days at Naivasha alone might have been too much for us - unless we had intended to take a break from “safari-ing” by spend a relaxing day just chilling out by the pool etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for just one night as part of our safari experience booked through 'the Big Journey Company'.

The room was large and comfortable with a sunken sitting area and large patio doors overlooking the ground and out towards the lake. We were lucky to have a waterbuck who'd recently given birth to a calf about 12 foot or so away from our balcony, watching the baby's tottering steps was a joy.
We also saw giraffe wandering about and monkeys, from our room, and when we walked down to the lake saw numerous other birds and animals.

The food was good with plenty of selection, and despite being close to the lake we weren't bitten or even saw / heard any mosquitoes.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and the grounds beautifully kept.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The rooms were amazing, with sunken lounge area and a king size bed. The food was delicious and the staff welcoming. The trip to the lake was enjoyable too. We boated around lazy hippo's; walked with giraffe on the lake side! A plethora of birds to view as well. Wandering waterbuck and playful monkeys were viewed as well. Just watch out for the outside showers! (an optional extra in some rooms-the proper indoor showers were more than enough for most of us)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nurse-suz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

As part of our safari, this hotel was as close as we got to a British hotel. To sit in the sunken "lounge area"' and watch wildlife wandering just a few metres away. The biggest animal on view in this area was a hippo, so we kept indoors, and wandered toward the lake with some trepidation the next day. There were hippos in the lake, but they did not venture too close to our boats. The small walk from our room to the dining area was safe, as the free to animal area was fenced off from us. Food good, and service excellent. No sign of beggars here, and a good experience was the order of the day.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Beautiful hotel and grounds - peaceful and relaxing. Food was good, room was great!

Take advantage of a guided nature walk on the grounds. My guide and I were able to quitely walk up within 15 feet of giraffe's and water buck. This was the highlight of my one night stay.

Room Tip: Don't miss the nature walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night on the way to the massai mara. Food was average and buffet style. A chef was avaioable at mealtimes to coook things to order: stir fry in evenings, eggs for breakfast. Accommodation was clean but large population of mosquitos due to the lake (they spray your room each evening but ask them to leave the spray as they get in later). View when opening curtains in morning was fab - a heard of antelope were walking passed the window. Animals were very close as they were free to roam the grounds. Signs were in place reminding guests to be careful as the animals are wild and can be dangerous.
Overall, this was not the best of the three lodges we stayed at but was fine for the one night and as a starting point for the day trip on the impressive lake it was great

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosshops00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
4.6 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
7.7 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
4.4 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#5 of 39 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
#1 of 39 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sawela Lodges
Sawela Lodges
#7 of 39 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Property: Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Address: Moi South Lake Road, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing