We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Naivasha
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a family of 5. The rooms were well appointed, each with its own balcony overlooking the grassy areas where waterbuck and zebra decided to pay us a visit.
The buffet meals were of a reasonably good quality, the variety was very good and the service was excellent.
All round a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionbar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 242 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We did stay here 1 night with the family during our great safari trip with Africa Veterans Safaris .
Compared with the other hotels/ lodges the hospitality and the spontanious pro-activity was at a lower level . Nevertheless our overall expectations were met.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jswinnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at simba lodge naivasha during easter 2013. I think that the hotel was very nice and service there was excellent. Location is also good if you wish to visit e.g. mount longonot or hell's gate.

More on the negative side I must say that the food at the hotel was not good and the spa is not really a spa but rather a couple of cold rooms with massage tables. The rooms do not have mosquito nets above the beds and since the staff opens the windows everytime they visit the rooms, there are a lot of mosquitos in rooms during night time (and naivasha is malaria area).

All in all, I found simba lodge an ok hotel with excellent staff and good location.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erikiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I spent one night here with family and it is a good place for a day trip or overnight stay. Set in large grounds where the Waterbucks are resident and roam freely. Over the little bridge you can then walk (at a distance) with Giraffe's, Zebra's, saw some Buffalo and at night when on the right side of the fence you can see and hear the Hippo's! It is a lovely feeling being so close to these wild animals. The lodge itself is very nice, rooms are a little dated and could do with an upgrade but generally they are all fairly decent. The food and dining areas are also of good quality. There is a pool area, with a pub/bar and a gym. There is also another bar near the dining area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sir_Mitul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have to say that I did not expect to have much wifi on the veldt in Africa, but when a hotel says that they will have it, and it was down, I was at a loss for how to contact my family and let them know everything was OK. I suppose that the lack of contact is part of the allure to a vacation like this. At any rate, the room was very comfortable and the Bucks outside our sliders spent the entire night there, almost as though they were guarding our room. Ask someone to take you over the bridge to see the Giraffes. You'll see what I mean. :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrNonRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were surprised to find this hotel rooms over the Easter holiday despite its being ranked as #2 in the Naivasha region. The grounds are beautiful and expansive. The kids play area kept our young one busy.
For the price we paid, it's way over priced. The meals are nothing to look forward to, with little variety.
The staff seems not to make any decisions over the simplest of things such as late check outs.
The rooms are quite cold and with no AC One needs a sweater plus house slippers for the icy floors. There are too many mosquitos and no net in the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angienai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The two nights we spent in this lodge were extremely comfortable. The rooms are mostly two-tiered buildings spread around beautifully kept spacious gardens. The rooms are excellent both clean and spacious with a nice seating area apart from the sleeping area. We were a little disappointed not to have a balcony but this is just a minor fault. It was super to wake in the morning and watch all the wildlife grazing in the gardens and the bird life was also very plentiful.

The restaurant served excellent food by very friendly and efficient staff. They made you feel very welcome indeed.

We took a boat ride onto the lake and enjoyed it immensely. The boatman had a wonderful party trick where he would get a fish from one of the local fishermen then when out on the lake he would give a piercing whistle, throw the fish out into the lake and the resident Fish Eagle would swoop down from a nearby tree and take the fish from the water. Quite spectacular.

I would highly recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: The rooms are widely spread around the extensive gardens so it depends how near you would like to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweetiepie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
4.5 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
11.5 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
4.9 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Naivasha
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sweet Lake Resort
Sweet Lake Resort
#6 of 7 in Naivasha
29 reviews
8.2 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 41 in Naivasha
217 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sawela Lodges
Sawela Lodges
#5 of 41 in Naivasha
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Address: Moi South Lake Road, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Naivasha
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing