We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with ok rooms and good service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with ok rooms and good service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at simba lodge naivasha during easter 2013. I think that the hotel was very nice and service there was excellent. Location is also good if you wish to visit e.g. mount longonot or hell's gate.

More on the negative side I must say that the food at the hotel was not good and the spa is not really a spa but rather a couple of cold rooms with massage tables. The rooms do not have mosquito nets above the beds and since the staff opens the windows everytime they visit the rooms, there are a lot of mosquitos in rooms during night time (and naivasha is malaria area).

All in all, I found simba lodge an ok hotel with excellent staff and good location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erikiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    95
    33
    15
    1
See reviews for
62
64
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I spent one night here with family and it is a good place for a day trip or overnight stay. Set in large grounds where the Waterbucks are resident and roam freely. Over the little bridge you can then walk (at a distance) with Giraffe's, Zebra's, saw some Buffalo and at night when on the right side of the fence you can see and hear the Hippo's! It is a lovely feeling being so close to these wild animals. The lodge itself is very nice, rooms are a little dated and could do with an upgrade but generally they are all fairly decent. The food and dining areas are also of good quality. There is a pool area, with a pub/bar and a gym. There is also another bar near the dining area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sir_Mitul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have to say that I did not expect to have much wifi on the veldt in Africa, but when a hotel says that they will have it, and it was down, I was at a loss for how to contact my family and let them know everything was OK. I suppose that the lack of contact is part of the allure to a vacation like this. At any rate, the room was very comfortable and the Bucks outside our sliders spent the entire night there, almost as though they were guarding our room. Ask someone to take you over the bridge to see the Giraffes. You'll see what I mean. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrNonRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were surprised to find this hotel rooms over the Easter holiday despite its being ranked as #2 in the Naivasha region. The grounds are beautiful and expansive. The kids play area kept our young one busy.
For the price we paid, it's way over priced. The meals are nothing to look forward to, with little variety.
The staff seems not to make any decisions over the simplest of things such as late check outs.
The rooms are quite cold and with no AC One needs a sweater plus house slippers for the icy floors. There are too many mosquitos and no net in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angienai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The two nights we spent in this lodge were extremely comfortable. The rooms are mostly two-tiered buildings spread around beautifully kept spacious gardens. The rooms are excellent both clean and spacious with a nice seating area apart from the sleeping area. We were a little disappointed not to have a balcony but this is just a minor fault. It was super to wake in the morning and watch all the wildlife grazing in the gardens and the bird life was also very plentiful.

The restaurant served excellent food by very friendly and efficient staff. They made you feel very welcome indeed.

We took a boat ride onto the lake and enjoyed it immensely. The boatman had a wonderful party trick where he would get a fish from one of the local fishermen then when out on the lake he would give a piercing whistle, throw the fish out into the lake and the resident Fish Eagle would swoop down from a nearby tree and take the fish from the water. Quite spectacular.

I would highly recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: The rooms are widely spread around the extensive gardens so it depends how near you would like to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweetiepie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Sad that you cannot see the lake as they say you can...very disappointing.

Grounds were beautiful and rooms were very spacious and clean. No mosquito nets however.

Hotel security (a Masai gentleman) took us for a lovely walk after dinner into the bush where the giraffes, Dik Diks, zebras and bush bucks got very close to us.

Pool was beautiful and well kept.

Very busy property with many rooms and lots of local conventions going on.

Food left a lot to be desired...yuck!

And the store staff girl was too busy eating in the hotel restaurant to be able to keep the opening hours that were posted so we waited for almost an hour until she showed up with no apology!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at this resort for only one night on my way from Smburu and the Ark to Nairobi. I really enjoyed my time there and would like to go back and spend a little more time whenever I am back in Kenya. The rooms are clean and spacious, The buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner are of very high quality and is served in a very nice and clean restaurant. The pool is clean and a swim after a day of travel and sightseeing is really refreshing. I also enjoyed the very large area to stroll and see few animals that walk around freely between the hotel ground and the lake. I highly recommend this hotel/resort for a day or longer. I am sure you will enjoy the service and the accomodation as much as I did.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farzad_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
4.5 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
11.5 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
4.9 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 41 in Naivasha
191 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
#1 of 41 in Naivasha
847 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sweet Lake Resort
Sweet Lake Resort
#6 of 6 in Naivasha
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Property: Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Address: Moi South Lake Road, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing