We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A good hotel with a few niggles” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good hotel with a few niggles”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for one night at Lake Naivasha Simba lodge as part of a tour.

Our room was at the far end of the complex - bring a torch!

The room is tiled which made it very cold - especially as there's no AirCon. There were mosquitos in the bathroom and no net in the room itself.

The food was ok - there was a good choice. There was roast beef which looked promising but it turned out to be very chewy and fatty.

There's wildlife in the grounds - which are very nicely cared for. We saw monkeys and antelope.

Lake Naivasha is fantastic and I'd definitely recommend visiting. This hotel is fine for a short stay.

Room Tip: Having viewed the other pictures, the rooms nearer the main complex look better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardner_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    84
    30
    15
    1
See reviews for
58
61
3
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was a second stop for my husband and I on an organised Thomas Cook Signature Safari , our honeymoon.
More modern than previous lodge, well appointed rooms with small sunken living areas with TV and fridges. Private bathrooms, all mod cons with a charming outside courtyard which had an open air shower. We could only assume this was to cool you down periodically if you used it as a sun trap. Large beds with hook to hang mosquito net. Toiletries provided.
Only here for one night but there is little to do as the grounds are actually vey limited and you are not allowed to cross over towards the Lake after certain hour and without an escort.
Bar area is very well stocked. Good service at meal times, plenty of variety and a help yourself buffet which worked well.
Swimming pool was full of noisy children when we were there and shuts at 6pm so not much choice if you want a drink and a swim after visiting the lake or a long drive.
Staff at reception a bit stand offish, but in general could not do enough for you.

Room Tip: They all have a balcony or seating area outside and face the lake, I prefer a ground floor but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drucherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Compared with the other two places we stayed last week, I cannot really recommend this lodging. Rooms did not have any window and were somewhat "clinical" with no privacy as the only way to prevent people peeping into your room was to close the whole of the door curtain. Mosquitoes in the rooms. Toilet flushing got stucked and water was running constantly for over a minute everytime it is flushed. Shower curtain didn't really work and water was everywhere. Staffs at reception were cold. Food was average.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank VNC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Was in Naivasha for 2 days with my family for a final trip before returning to New York. All I can say is I wish we stayed in Naivasha longer. This place has so much to offer! The lodge is very quiet and perfect for relaxation. The rooms are clean and I like the small living area overlooking the wild....The water bucks came up to a stone throw away from our balcony. Morning walks to the lake were a great start. Not to forget the friendly monkey that paused for pictures on our last day there. Meals at the lodge were excellent and staff very friendly. I recommend a trip to Hell's Gate - it's a challenge but worth every moment, plus very cheap...Lots of animals to see, zebras, giraffes, etc. My kids enjoyed this trip very much and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EveNasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed in thie hotel for one night. A beautiful hotel witn amazing view, located on the lake. You just take a walk around a the hotel grounds and around the lake and see Giraffes and other amazing animals.

Room Tip: The rooms were beautiful and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Nice hotel close to Nairobi and very refreshing place. Good food and clean Rooms how can I forget their power showers .clean swimming pools with steam sauna and fully equipped gym.A lovely playground for our kids with all amenities and tennis courts.Best part of this hotel is you can see animals like waterbuck,impalas,dickdick and Giraffes right from your room window.Their boat ride to crescent island is most memorable .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pallavi19shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Accommodation consists of attractive blocks of rooms clustered around a large lawned area on which waterbuck graze. The rooms are spacious and have a small sitting area with TV as well as veranda on which to watch the game.

The lodge also offers a lovely looking swimming pool, which unfortunately, we did not use, a tennis court, which appeared to be in need of some minor tidying up, sauna and steamroom. The men’s steamroom has some pretty dodgy looking electrics – the lighting consists of a halogen bulb screwed into a normal domestic socket without any protection against damp or water! Massage is also on offer and if there had been time, we would have made use of it. It was not expensive.

Meals are taken in the restaurant which consists of a central buffet/live cooking area with three large rooms radiating off it housing the dining tables. Food on the whole was OK.

We found the reception staff to be the least friendly of any of the places stayed at in Kenya, although their colleagues in the bar, restaurant etc. were much better. Many appeared to be trainees and this might have had something to do with the move from the norm.

The main bar is in a large, almost barnlike building, which is dominated by a log fire in the centre. It is a lovely building and in many ways a great shame that it was almost deserted the evening we were there.

We took the hotel’s lake trip. The area was still very flooded – the hotel’s normal mooring point and viewing deck was some 30 foot out into the lake. It was bizarre to see the line of waist high lights that marked the path to the mooring point, continue slowly until submerged by the water. However, we saw hippo, kingfishers, ibis, cormorants among the game on view and were also pleased that the boat operator was very knowledgeable of the animals and birds in the area.

We also visited Hells Gate whilst staying at the lodge. Although not much game was seen other than some Maasai giraffe and a few other birds and animals, the surroundings were beautiful. One can also see from points in the park the steam rising from the thermal pools, which form part of three geothermal power plants. Man's use of resource and the naturalness of the park do not sit entirely comfortably together - large pipes line one of the approach roads and when there we saw a very wide road being cut through the virgin forest. I suspect that when built this will take the power plant lorries and other traffic. The other unusual aspect of the park is that outdoor activities are allowed - so rock climbing, cycling, hiking etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
4.6 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
7.7 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
4.4 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#5 of 39 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
#1 of 39 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sawela Lodges
Sawela Lodges
#7 of 39 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Property: Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Address: Moi South Lake Road, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing