We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place for water safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Place for water safari”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed here for 1 night with my family during our african safari in kenya.We reached the lodge at 3.30 pm. We had not had our lunch and the lunch buffet was closed( our stay here was on full board). The hotel staff were kind enough to organise an a la carte lunch for us. The rooms were very good and spacious and the the hotel staff were very friendly. The hotel landscaping was excellent.This lodge is about 300 metres from lake naivasha.There is a pathway from the hotel which leads to the lake and you are sure to sight animals like deer,giraffe,zebras,buffalo etc along the way and by the shores of the lake.The gate was closed once during the evening since there were wild buffalo along the pathway outside the hotel fence.The food however was average. .The highlignt of lake naivasha is the water safari, which can be organised by the hotel or outside the hotels by private boat operators.They charge about 30 usd per person for a 2 -3hr boat ride . One can see herbivors and about 200 species of birds in and around the lake. This place is not commonly visited by the safari operators,but a good place to relax

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anandraheja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    95
    32
    15
    1
See reviews for
61
63
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I stayed with my husband at the end of Feb2011. We were in Nairobi for work and wanted to get away for the weekend and we really had a great time. The lodge is beautiful and there is plenty of buck roaming free in the property, so this makes for a very special setting. The rooms are very good size and we had a beautiful view of the hotel grounds and the buck and giraffes. The hotel and rooms are very well maintained and the decoration very 'game parkie'. The only down side was the food. It was average so I give the restaurant only 3 stars.
We spent time hiking at Hell's Gate NP and chilling at the hotel and had a really good time.
We drove there, and it was a very scary experience. Car rentals are very expensive and poor quality. Drivers have no fear there and do not respect any rules. So try booking a driver as weel if you can.
If you are looking for a more 5 stars african chic or if you are expecting to see big game, then it is not for you. But it is a great place for a weekend away or to start your road trip in Kenya. Hell's Gate has fantastic hiking and MTB!

Room Tip: The rooms that face the lake are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keli_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

My hubby gave a surprise birthday gift by taking me to the simba lodge last month. It is just 90 kms from Nairobi. The landscaping of the resort is beautiful...friendly water bucks can be seen inside the campus. And we also saw some zebras and giraffes there...courteous staff..and food excellent..lots of variety for vegetarians as well!!Though we dint stay there, definitely worth visiting and relaxing...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsHarish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uchaud, France
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Typical of the Kenyan culture, the level of service received was exceptional, and always with a smile. The facilities were clean and tidy and most people went out of your way to assist you. Such a pleasurable environment to stay in.

Sadly, I believe that the prices charged certainly do not match the facilities. Although the price included Dinner, Bed and Breakfast, it was very expensive - even for Kenyan standards and there are better quality hotels to stay at for better prices. I was astounded that the prices only included D, B&B. If you wanted access to the swimming pool, or the on-site gym, these were charged as extra's. The food was all buffet, but the quality of the food did not match the level that the lodge is charging. Wifi facilities are available - but at extortionate charges!

Overall impression. Dissappointing. Will certainly not be recommending Simba Lodge to anyone in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

This is a relatively new chain hotel with two-storey chalet blocks, set in pleasant grounds, fronting a large grassy acacia plantation grazed by a largish herd of domesticated but atmospheric Waterbuck. This place is so quiet and delightful that it’s a shame that most people staying there see it as no more than a convenient one-night stopover en route either up north to Samburu NP and Mount Kenya or across to the Mara, arriving late and leaving early. Many previous TA comments mention this. We were birdwatching and stayed two nights, as we always try to do. We found the place entirely deserted in the middle of the day; we were the only people in the restaurant the one day we had lunch and the large heated pool (best on our trip) never had more than a handful of takers. An electric fence in a sort of ha-ha (regularly jumped by the resident Waterbuck) separates the hotel compound from the lakeshore proper. You are encouraged to take one of the hotel’s security guards if you want to pass through the little gate which takes you immediately among more Waterbuck and Giraffe, and potentially less benign Buffalo and Hippos (but not crocodiles – none at Naivasha). By the lake-shore there is a lookout tower and close views of Hippo and lots of birds.

We took a two-hour ride in the hotel’s boat early in the morning, which was expensive, but quite magical, cruising among the Hippos on a cold misty lake deserted apart from a couple of fishing boats (who encouraged us to come over and inspect their catch). There were masses of good birds among the papyrus and water hyacinth, and Crescent Island, to the north is well stocked with all the savannah antelopes, and had Flamingos and Fish Eagles. Quite unmissable.

Otherwise the Lodge is unexceptional. Our large room was pleasant and comfortable, with firm beds, a deck looking out over the grounds, and an enclosed outdoor shower area (in addition to the indoor one). The restaurant offers a good international buffet at breakfast, lunch and dinner, and tea and cake were available in the bar mid-afternoon. The staff were extremely attentive. There is expensive Internet access. Hell’s Gate NP, with its walks and spectacular geothermal operations is only ten minutes away.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clatskanie OR
Level Contributor
91 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Wa stayed here one night on our safari. The rooms are very large with a sitting area one step down in the bedroom with a TV. The view outside the room is of water bucks who seem to live here. One person in our party of 6 tripped on the step to the upstairs room and had to have a doctor come to the hotel. Our driver then took her to the local town to go to the hospital to get an xray. ($10) We brought the xray back and the doctor came back to see them and brought pain medicine. There was no break so her arm was wrapped. The doctor charged about $60 for medicine and 2 visits. He was on call for the hotel. The hotel was concerned about her fall but did not offer to pay for the visit. Immediately after the fall the office brought her pain medicine and brought food. They also provided staff to go with us to the hospital so we could find it.. I also tripped twice at this same location. We suggested that the hotel paint this spot with yellow paint.
There is a walk to the lake from the hotel and we asked a youngman at the hotel to go with us. You can't go without someone as after you cross the bridge there are giraffes, dick dicks, zebras, gazelles, cape buffalo and hippos in the water. Lots of birds too.
The food here was tastefully presented. They have a small gift shop. They have nice showers. All hotels provide hot clothes and juice when you arrive. A very nice tourch.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfastNI
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

stayed here for a few days as part of my honeymoon trip to kenya! absolutely gorgeous hotel with the beautiful surroundings of lake naivasha. staff were very friendly, they went out of their way to take us on a walk around the lake, it was amazing being within walking distance of giraffe, zebra and waterbuck etc. the lake was stunning. lots of hippos to see! the walk around the lake really is a must do experience! really can't say much more about this place except GO!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyb8630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
4.5 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
11.5 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
4.9 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#4 of 41 in Naivasha
187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
#1 of 41 in Naivasha
838 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sawela Lodges
Sawela Lodges
#5 of 41 in Naivasha
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Property: Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Address: Moi South Lake Road, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing