We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL DESTINATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Certificate of Excellence
Machakos, Kenya
1 review
“WONDERFUL DESTINATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I would like to highly recommend this Lodge as a desination for family. They took wonderful care of my kids who throughly enjoyed the adventures club. They went on nature trails, made beaded jewellery, painted, swam.. they kept them so busy there was no time for tv etc.. The rooms are beautiful and the view from the balcony second to none. The food was excellent and they had a wide variety to choose from.... Asante sana to all who made this such a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanini2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga M, Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post the above review.
My team and I are honoured to have been your host during your recent stay at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort.
We are glad that your children enjoyed the services at our Adventurer's Club and shall pass on the commendation to the team.
We take great pleasure in ensuring that you get the best possible service at our resort. We do also welcome you to try any of our other camps and hotels spread out among the best destinations in Kenya.
Thank you once more for your valuable comments and we hope to see you soon.
Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    145
    50
    20
    17
See reviews for
84
71
14
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naivasha
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Excellent service,comfortable room,but wooden floors noisy.Location very good,natural,excellent amenities.Meals were the best.What l did not like was the clearance and laid back attitude when leaving at the reception.The guards at the main gate are wonderful,really appreciating visitors and saying karibu tena ,but not at the receptoin.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga M, Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guests,
We thank you for your recent stay at the Great Rift Valley Lodge and most important for giving us your feedback. This is so important for us as we strive to achieve excellence.

We have taken note of the comment on check-out procedure and shall endevour to streamline it.
We all look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

The resort is high above Lake Naivasha with great views of the lake and volcanoes around it. Even though it's labelled as a resort, it's very spread out and easy to feel like you're the only ones there. We rented a large house for the family, five adults and two young children. The accommodation was excellent, well equipped, spacious with great service. We stayed two nights, ate in the restaurant twice, once for a full buffet lunch and once had a bar snack. Service was slow in the terrace bar but food was really good for the price. There is so much wildlife to see here particularly if you are into bird watching but you are a good drive away from the lake boat trips. Golf is very reasonably priced for the standard of the course, just watch out for the zebras! The pool area is lovely, well staffed (towels, beds, drinks) and just right for my two small children. We had our own 4x4 vehicle but the access road is challenging, take it slow. We had a great time here.

Room Tip: Private houses are available for rent. Some have golf course views, some lake views. Worth checking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga M, Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post the above review.
My team and I are honoured to have been your host during your recent stay at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort.
We take great pleasure in ensuring that you get the best possible service at our resort. We do also welcome you to try any of our other camps and hotels spread out among the best destinations in Kenya.
Thank you once more for your valuable comments and we hope to see you soon.
Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Went their as a party of 6...3couples and had a 3br chalet to ourselves...1st night we ate at the main restaurant meals were lovely following day we ate ate thr chalet..self catering...beautiful views of the golf course and we had fun wit abit of swimming and at the driving range..must go back soon

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyanza_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga M, Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review above. We are glad that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed our services and found the facility pleasant and enjoyable.

We are glad that you took time to partake of some activities during your stay with us, and that they made up for some memorable experiences of the Rift Valley and its scenic attractions.

We hope to see you back in the near future.
Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We attended a wedding at this resort, and what an excellent venue. The drive from Nairobi is something you need to experience, the views are amazing once you get tot he rift.

The resort was great, the rooms were like being in a tree house. we hired bikes and cycled around the resort, the zebras wondering around the golfers different.

Overall very good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor as the views from the balcony are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lids329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga M, Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review above. We are glad that we fulfilled our promise of making of delivering a wholesome, quality holiday. We are happy that you enjoyed our services and found the facility pleasant and enjoyable.

We are glad that you took time to partake to some activities during your stay with us, and that they made up for some memorable experiences of the Rift Valley and its scenic attractions.

We hope to see you back in the near future.
Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

If you are looking for serene location in Naivasha, is should be none other than the Great Rift Valley Lodge. With the beautiful scenery of the great Rift and Lake Naivasha, classy cottages and Villas, amazing food, and friendly staff, Great Rift Valley is the place to visit. I had two days of relaxation and entertainment. I love the cottages, facing the vast lake Naivasha ,and whn you wake up in the morning you do not want to miss the breath taking sunrise. If you are thinking of going to Naivasha, go on book yourself at the Great Rift Valley Lodge, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The cottages are worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga M, Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review above. We are glad that we fulfilled our promise of making of delivering a wholesome, quality holiday.

We are happy that you enjoyed our services and found the facility pleasant and enjoyable, not to mention the panoramic views.


We hope to see you back in the near future.
Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great Rift Valley Lodge is a GREAT place to be, for business, they have perfect conference rooms and the package is fairly good. If leisure, it is a quiet place and it is not a 'home away from home' experience, it is beyond that! for sports lovers, there is a golf course, lawn tennis and swimming. If holidaying with family, you have a choice of breathtaking cottages ranging from 2br to 5br, ensuite. you can also enjoy a game drive in the park. hotel rooms are excellent too for the business traveller. You also get to take home gifts from the gift shop. The lodge is built on several acres of land and one can that that evening walk. To top it up, the service is excellent. hospitable staff that are available round the clock. it is an experience like no other. so if you are planning to visit that side of the country, this is the place to be!

Room Tip: the Villa rooms are great, spacious. The Lodge rooms overlook the park and the mountain, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga M, Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort.
We also thank you for taking time to post the above review and my team and I are glad that you had a fulfilling stay with us.
We are committed to giving you our client the best possible service at our resort, and also welcome you to try any of our other camps and hotels spread out among the best destinations in Kenya.
Thank you once more for your valuable comments and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
10.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
10.0 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
11.0 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#4 of 41 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
#1 of 41 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#10 of 41 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sweet Lake Resort
Sweet Lake Resort
#6 of 6 in Naivasha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort

Property: Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Address: Eburu Escarpment | Lake Naivasha, Naivasha 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort enjoys one of the most spectacular views in all of Africa. The lodge sits at about 7,000 feet, from which elevation it enjoys magnificent views to the west and east. The Vistas stretch from the sparkling waters of Lake Naivasha to jogged volcanic crater of Mount Longonot and, beyond, the sloping shoulders of the Aberdare Mountains - Kenya's most important watershed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Rift Valley Lodge And Golf Resort
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Hotel Naivasha
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort Naivasha, Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing