We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Certificate of Excellence
Gartringen, Germany
2 reviews
“Grvl”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed for 3 days at this excellent place.

Room:
We had a standard room, room was very clean, hot shower, no tv in our standard room. Very fast and FREE WI-FI. All electrical things worked. Free bottled water every day. Ready to use mosquito net.

Food:
Food was excellent in both the a la carte restaurant or the buffet. Mix of kenyan/african food and european. Fantastic fresh tilapia, or try the pork chops. Awesome desserts. Drinks have to be paid extra, but prices are very reasonable. Staff is very attentive and helpfull at all times.

Generally:
Incredible views towards the rift valley, directly from your balcony. Well maintained garden, with free walking peacocks. Im not into birds, but this must be a birdwatchers heaven.

If u want to get away from the loud neversleeping city of nairobi or the heat and humidity of the coast, i recommend GRVL to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomsky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga M, Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for making time to post the above review.

Thank you also for your recommendation of GRVL as an ideal and serene get-away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

GRVL is indeed a many birdwatcher's haven, with over 300 recorded species within the region which stretches to the nearby Lake Naivasha basin.

We are glad that the room facilities worked to your satisfaction, and that you found the food and restaurant service to be of good standard. We promise to keep up with this and make it even better at your next visit.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    143
    48
    20
    16
See reviews for
82
70
14
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I traveled there with friends and what an amazing place for Rest and Recreation. Spectacular views, lush environment and beautiful villas and cottages. Our Villa was especially astounding and comfortable. It was self contained, therefore we cooked our own meals. Not to mention, sporty activities to do for adults and kids. It was simply breathtaking.

Room Tip: I recommend the self contained villas and cottages for families or a group of people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga M, Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review above.

We are glad to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for partaking in the fun animation activities we had throughout the festive period. Our Self-catering accommodation option seems to have been of good value for you, and we are delighted that you were happy with your Villa selection.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

i traveled there with my daughter to usher in the new year. Stay there was good, there was quite a number of kid's activities that the children could indulge in, swimming, the adventurers club where they played in door games with Rachel. The place was not as packed as last year,hence there was precision to detail subsequently resulting to a spectacular vacation once more. this team always delivers, an year after and they just keep getting better. Food was good and in variety too, there was always a theme for each night, Indian, Chinese... the golf course was well kept and the weather was favorable for some golfing. The hotel rooms, quite neat and tidy and cosy of-course. I would however recommend to have a table tennis for indoor players as there is the pool table. i look forward to making another trip to this amazing holiday destination.The place should be Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty lodging in Naivasha.

Room Tip: i would always highly recommend the hotel rooms, great view of the scenery spread out across.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga M, Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We are especially proud of the fact that your child was in good capable hands in the Adventurer's Club and that the various activities we had for Kids, Teens and Adults were of value. Being a repeat guest we are greatful for your candid view in comparison to previous seasons.

We do welcome you again, and promise to deliver an even better holiday experience at your next stay.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Some friends and I stayed at this lodge for 3 days in one of the apartments close to the lodge. We had organised for the excursions before we arrived and we enjoyed all of them (thanks to Daniel the experienced and knowledgable lodge guide) and would recommend that people take advantage of the great things you can do and see around the area. The most unique was climbing Longonot, walking up to a family of hippos in the water and relaxing in the natural rock steam bath on the Eburru mountaintop at the edge of the crater. The standard of service and staff was excellent. The apartment was clean and of a high standard with spectacular views of the rift valley and lake Naivasha. We loved the experience of walking amongst the wildlife on and around the golf course and enjoying the beautiful landscaped gardens everywhere. The restaurant for the conference area has a buffet set up with a variety of good food and the hotel restaurant has A' la Carte menu and that food is delicious. A special mention goes to the barman 'John' who has a great sense of humor and knows how to put guests at ease and serve them with a smile. Great Rift Valley Lodge is a unique place, a special treasure situated high up in the hills of Naivasha and one you definately should experience.

Room Tip: I can highly recommend the apartments as a nice place to stay with lots of room and great views. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga M, Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Kim,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review above. We are glad that we fulfilled our promise of making of delivering a wholesome, quality holiday. We are happy that you enjoyed our services and found the facility pleasant and enjoyable.

We are glad that you took time to partake of some excursions during your stay with us, and that they made up for some memorable experiences of the Rift Valley and its scenic attractions.

We hope to see you back in the near future.
Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great Rift Lodge has excellent views and support for conferencing, but lacks in communication support, food service, and general service culture. For a property which prides itself in writing for excellence in communication, it was notable that the telephones did not work to reach the front desk (located long distances from rooms, as the property is very large), nor to call room-to-room if you wanted to reach a friend.

The food in the a la carte restaurant was mediocre. Large portions, but poor quality and poor preparation. The buffet restaurant was better.

To top it off, there was no hot water on the morning of our departure; no one at the front desk seemed to know why. Of course, I had to walk to the front desk, as the phones did not work. Wifi was advertised, but not working during our two night stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OaklandVisit2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga M, Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your post.

It would seem there were several issues during your stay with us which need addressing while others (hot water and telephone issue) has already been addressed.
We shall review our a la carte offer with a view of addressing the gaps you have pointed out.

Once more thank you for taking time to give us your review. We would like to assure you of our commitment to giving you and other visitors a wholesome and enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

This resort did not impress me at all. The service was below average. We were there for a two day conference and things like note pads and pens were not available for the next day. Sweets provided at the conference had a funny smell and the toilet in our room got clogged up so all the water came back up again. They lost one of my friends baggage which was eventually found in someone else's room

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Zohreen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Clearly something went very wrong with your stay and for this i at the onset apologize profusely.
Heads are rolling to establish why we did not satisfy you so such omissions are not repeated in future.
We shall also be contacting you directly shortly so we can get more details from you.
We are glad you shared your experiences.
Kind Regards,
The GRVL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This places can be rated as 5 star just for its location,view and the friendly service .The rooms are good but for the bathroom .You do not have televisions in all the hotels but nevertheless you would not require one .You could do star gazing in the evenings .The silence of nature can be felt in this beautiful property .Be warned that you need to walk a lot in this property as everything is far apart from each other . Sundowner needs a special mention as they exclusively take you to a secret spot from where you can witness the sunset and serve cocktails and wine along with food . The resort is very isolated so you do not have anything much for almost 11 to 12 kms .In total you will miss this place once you check out .

Room Tip: Ensure your room faces the reef .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shankarram17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for patronizing GRVL and taking time to share with the world your experiences. We are all so happy that by and large you had a very nice stay.
It is true some of the nice features in GRVL include Birding, Jogging, Star gazing, Massage, Sun downers amongst many others.
We believe you will come to enjoy all these facilities again in future or send your Frirnds too.
We are so glad you made it Great Rift Valley Lodge and Golf Resort.
The GRVL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
10.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
10.0 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
11.0 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#4 of 40 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sweet Lake Resort
Sweet Lake Resort
#6 of 6 in Naivasha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
11.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
#1 of 40 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Resort
Lake Naivasha Resort
#12 of 19 in Naivasha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort

Property: Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Address: Eburu Escarpment | Lake Naivasha, Naivasha 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort enjoys one of the most spectacular views in all of Africa. The lodge sits at about 7,000 feet, from which elevation it enjoys magnificent views to the west and east. The Vistas stretch from the sparkling waters of Lake Naivasha to jogged volcanic crater of Mount Longonot and, beyond, the sloping shoulders of the Aberdare Mountains - Kenya's most important watershed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Rift Valley Lodge And Golf Resort
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Hotel Naivasha
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort Naivasha, Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing