We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location , View & Service Impeccable !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location , View & Service Impeccable !”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This places can be rated as 5 star just for its location,view and the friendly service .The rooms are good but for the bathroom .You do not have televisions in all the hotels but nevertheless you would not require one .You could do star gazing in the evenings .The silence of nature can be felt in this beautiful property .Be warned that you need to walk a lot in this property as everything is far apart from each other . Sundowner needs a special mention as they exclusively take you to a secret spot from where you can witness the sunset and serve cocktails and wine along with food . The resort is very isolated so you do not have anything much for almost 11 to 12 kms .In total you will miss this place once you check out .

Room Tip: Ensure your room faces the reef .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shankarram17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for patronizing GRVL and taking time to share with the world your experiences. We are all so happy that by and large you had a very nice stay.
It is true some of the nice features in GRVL include Birding, Jogging, Star gazing, Massage, Sun downers amongst many others.
We believe you will come to enjoy all these facilities again in future or send your Frirnds too.
We are so glad you made it Great Rift Valley Lodge and Golf Resort.
The GRVL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    148
    51
    20
    17
See reviews for
85
73
14
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Wow Wow!!

It was a great great weekend. The place is just exotic. in the wood, thoroughly kept grasslands with an overview of Lake Naivasha in some places, perfect for a holiday hide out. All kinds of games are available including Golf with up to standard sports accesssories. I did play volleyball and it was a great relaxation.

Perfect destination for team building. The food is wow!!! You've got to get there to know what am talking about. Only minor issue is that the rooms are not as spacious as the place is. But probably this may depend on the room you choose.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
WOW WOW indeed. we area all so excited we made your stay memorable. We notice you are from Uganda and what a honor that the East African Community Market is now taking advantage of itself. May this Market grow to help all us us enjoy our own.
Kind regards,
The Team in GRVL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort for two nights as part of our flying safari holiday package. The resort staff were welcoming and ready to sort out any problems. There are security guards at the entrance. The resort is set at 7000 ft. altitude and the grounds are very beautiful, full of bird life with stunning views over the valley. The restaurants serve great food with plenty of choice. Our room was the upper level of a two level building. We had a four poster bed with mosquito netting. Room service was good. Our game park guide, William, was first class and gave us a great experience when visiting Nakuru national park and Lake Naivash. His knowledge of the parks and wildlife was impressive. One disadvantage of this resort is that the resort is only accessible via several kilometers of rough track. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking time to fill in the Guest review after your stay at the Great Rift Valley lodge and Golf Resort.
We notice that by and large all went on well and we have copied our Team of all these awesome comments.
We are so glad you made it GRVL.
Kind regards,
The GRVL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Spent two nights here for a learning session. Location is the perfect place to take time out to think and laugh real loud with friends and colleagues. Due to the size of the place, you must have your own car to move around or at the very least contact reception who are totally helpful to get you around at any time of day or night. Rooms are well ventilated but it tends to get pretty cold at night, being 7000 feet above sea level. Remember to call reception and request for a hot water bottle well in advance... they run out pretty quick. I am not a golfer and so will not comment on the golf course. It is pretty breathtaking for business, couples or a solo trip. It was hard packing up on the last day to leave the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BP813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post your comment on the TA forum. We are so glad you stayed with us and enjoyed.
I notice your concern on transport and Hot water bottles. Though you have not complained i feel we can handle these two items better so our Guest experience becomes better. These are now on my screen and i will work with the team to ensure an improvements.
Kind Regards,
The Great Rift Valley Lodge and Golf Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Beautiful 4 plex room overlooking the Great Rift Valley, but the bathroom really needs some work. The shower drain overflowed and the sink leaked. Buffet food was very, very good and the staff is excellent. The service in the a la carte restaurant was extremely slow. We both enjoyed fabulous massages, and wonderful wildlife walks, including an amazing bush breakfast.There were zebras grazing on the golf course, so amazing to see up close. Rough road access.

Room Tip: Check the bathrrom first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for staying at the Naivasha Unit and most important for taking time to post your feedback.
We notice that you were happy about your experiences. You have raised concern about the Bathroom that i will follow up with the unit and resolve shortly.
We are so glad you made it GRVL.
The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Spent two nights here on our flying safari and what a great place to stay. Staff where excellent and went the extra mile - thanks Jack for the surprise birthday treat!
Wonderful view across the valley and seeing the sunrise over the Rift Valley is something we will remember forever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johno457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay and loved the place. it is indeed true this is an awesome stop for a Flying Safari.
Good day
The GRVL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Pros

NIce hotel, the place and views are really spectacular. Good Golf course. The food is very good, even the buffet. Excellent service, they really try.

Cons

you can hear EVERYTHING your neighbour is doing, so privacy is interrupted. Actually it is a very BIG bad thing. Only because of this I wouldn't go back at the hotel. Unless you they can ensure your this is not going to be a problem. I had a room on the lower floor, it might be that. Also there is some room to make it more modern, but it doesn't mean is bad, just a personal opinion.

Room Tip: dont go to the rooms of the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santiagoviar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback that is truly appreciated. Your concern is noted and i will check with management which you room you had.
Allow me to mention that we have other categories of rooms including Chalets and Villas where i am sure this problem would not be experienced.
However as mentioned i will pick it up and resolve.
So glad you came.
Kind regards,
The GRVL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
10.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
10.0 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
804 reviews
11.0 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 41 in Naivasha
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#8 of 41 in Naivasha
61 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sweet Lake Resort
Sweet Lake Resort
#6 of 6 in Naivasha
29 reviews
11.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
#1 of 41 in Naivasha
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort

Property: Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Address: Eburu Escarpment | Lake Naivasha, Naivasha 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort enjoys one of the most spectacular views in all of Africa. The lodge sits at about 7,000 feet, from which elevation it enjoys magnificent views to the west and east. The Vistas stretch from the sparkling waters of Lake Naivasha to jogged volcanic crater of Mount Longonot and, beyond, the sloping shoulders of the Aberdare Mountains - Kenya's most important watershed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Hotel Naivasha
Great Rift Valley Lodge And Golf Resort
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort Naivasha, Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing