We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great.....if you're a business having an event there, if not stay away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Naivasha
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have previously been there but I hadn't realize that every time I'd been there I was part of a business group for an event there - workshop, conference etc. I however went there in December 2012 with a group of friends for a 'fun weekend' and it was a disaster. All the waiters were serving the business group event and all we had was one waited serving all the other guests. The general meal experience for us was frustrating as the service was extremely slow and the food was sometimes cold. Saturday night dinner was the worst experience for us and the group at the hotel had a bush dinner (in the bush away from the main restaurant) and the food we ordered was being walked all the way from there rather than the hotel kitchen by the sole waiter. Needless to say that was the coldest food we ate and for drinks we had to go to the bar ourselves to get service, not to mention how many times the sole waited got our orders wrong. On check out I was shocked to notice a TripAdvisor certificate proudly hanging at the reception for good service. They definitely do not deserve it! I would not go back on an individual capacity unless my company decides to hold a business event there. I will certainly not take my family back there again. The check in and check out process was long as they seemed confused as if they were not sure of our booking or perhaps the rooms were not ready and they couldn't tell us or maybe they were just too overwhelmed by the business group there. They have a lot of work to do to improve their service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the hills are a lovely sight in the morning and late evening. Also if you plan to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mschana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Clearly you were so unhappy with your stay and for this i must profusely apologize. We are working to establish why we did not satisfy you and what we need to to correct the situation for you and all the future esteemed Guests.
We shall certainly be in touch with you
Kind Regards,
The GRVL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 437 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had a 13 night stay. Apart from business there was an opportunity for bird watching and I spotted over 35 species just around the hotel - i.e. without taking a bird walk and was rewarded for my efforts thank you Daniel K. and Njenga!

Excellent views of the Aberdares in the mornings. Lake Naivasha and Naivasha town especially at night. Clean room - thank you Daniel! Excellent meals thanks to Chefs Benjamin and the catering crew!

Having a business meeting for 14 days was made bearable by an excellent massage!

Room Tip: Great bird watching location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Njiraini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Hello Guest,
So glad you had a nice time. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
The GRVL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Let's get the bad bits out of the way first. You can fly to this welcoming and hugely enjoyable hotel with its spectacular views out over one of the great natural wonders of the modern world. And make sure you do, otherwise you will experience the same four hours of misery our small group did driving up from Nairobi. Take a helicopter or a small aircraft but do not even consider enduring the sheer purgatory of that drive.

But having arrived this is a super little hotel with its own charming golf course where zebra come down each morning and wander about. Greenskeepers in the UK or USA would go mad but here it is part of the experience. And the rooms are a delight too with fine big beds, free WIFI in each room and a delightful bar and deck to sit out on and watch the sun go down over a refreshing cocktail or glass of the local Tusker beer, before tucking into a first class dinner.

There are a number of villas dotted around the golf club where the ex-pat members of the golf club are to be found. Most are elderly although if you plan for an early tee off time none of them will be ahead of you on the course.

Genial hotel manager, Gregory Wabuge, will organise an early breakfast for you if you want it and he and his extremely helpful staff are always only too happy to help. This is a first class place to stay and I only wish that our time was not so short that we could have spent longer than our one night here. It is a delightful and tranquil spot in one of the world's beautiful places.

Just make sure that you fly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a really good view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfing-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Good Morning Guest,
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It would appear something went very wrong with your transports. Though this does not fall under our domain, i will contact you so we know what it entails.
Kenya has a new Government who are so passionate about Tourism and we would happily share what you say so it helps us to see from a Guest View some matters of interest.
So glad you came.
The GRVL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We arrived at this hotel from the very nearby runway and were greeted by John the Masai Warrior and William, our guides for 2 days. We went everywhere with these guides who were first class and wonderful. First activity was a guided tour on foot of the Hotel and Golf Course with John who told us about the plants, the birds and the animals that were wondering around....like Zebras. We took dinner in the A La Carte restaurant which was very nice indeed after enjoying cocktails on the bar balcony overlooking the Rift Valley and Lake Navaisha. Next day we were taken to Lake Nakuru National Park to see all the animals that live there. We picniced ontop of a mountain overlooking the lake with stunning views and enjoyed the company of our guides over a lovely lunch provided by the hotel. The variety of animals was fantastic. In the evening we were surprised by a dinner cooked under the stars by our own chef and enjoyed an amazing candlelit dinner on the golf course!! Next day we visited Lake Navaisha and enjoyed a lake safari in a canoe where we saw loads of Hippos and Eagles. It was good to see the local community and visit the local community shop where you have to decide how much you are willing to spend and haggle!! We departed from Great Rift Valley with great sadness to leave our wonderful guides and fly onto the Masai Mara, our final destination. The Safari Link planes were brilliant and made travelling around Kenya so easy and within short time frames. Beware of cows on the runway....they wanted to invade jsut as our plane was arriving!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the Rift Valley but most peculiarly did not have a bathroom door! A bit strange
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hello Guests,
It is so nice you had such a wonderful time. The team is honored to have been of service.
We all look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,
The GRVL Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We arrived whilst the hotel was hosting a very large conference of Kenya Government people. This was stretching the hotel services and we felt like the only tourists present. Despite this, the hotel effectively allocated two people, Ruth and Jack, to look after most of our needs. The restaurant service on the first evening was largely directed at the conference. However our room was excellent overlooking the rift valley. On our first safari trip out, the Land Rover broke down, fortunately in the town of Nakuru. With the actions of Jack and the hotel we got on the safari in another vehicule after a couple of hours delay. On our return to the hotel they made every effort and more to compensate for the breakdown. The safari trips to both Nakuru and Lake Naivasha were good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hello Guest,
Thanks for sharing this feedback with us. My apologies for the Vehicle breakdown and we will work to ensure though mechanical such a thing does not happen again.
So glad you enjoyed the rest of your experiences.
Good day.
The GRVL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This oasis near Lake Naivasha is a must for anyone visiting Kenya; it exceeded our expectations and some.
The rooms at this lodge are clean, luxurious, as well as spacious and the cleaning staff slip in unnoticed, and work their magical to ensure immaculately clean rooms at all times; making sure you know that they have been around. Our room was kept immaculate every day.
The food is first class! Gourmet & gastronomic chefs created daily gastro delights to keep our taste buds tantalized.
Lots of exciting Safari tours can be tailor-made if you wish to leave this delightful haven. On the other hand you can take in a round of golf, relax by the pool, play tennis, cycling, horse riding, or go on a nature walk without too much effort.
There is nothing that the fully trained professional staff would not do to make our stay memorable, and in all honesty they exceeded our expectations and made life very difficult for us to leave.
On the last day we were taken to a secret destination on site for breakfast, and wow what a breakfast that was!! We were driven to a beautiful location were a chef had already prepared and was ready to serve us freshly squeezed juices, fruits and the most scrumptious breakfast, homemade pastries, cakes/biscuits. The food was exquisite, and the view magnificent!
The Great Rift Valley Lodge and Golf Resort is first class in every way, and we will certainly be returning for another visit.
This place would suite family, honeymooner as well as anyone visiting alone.
We send our regards to everyone that made our visit so memorable.
Thank you!

Room Tip: Book in advance and if you can book through the Heritage Hotels Kenya, they are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyndi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are so glad you enjoyed yourself immensely. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Good day
The GRVL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had not visited the resort for quite some time and clearly the standards have gone down over the years. The service at the hotel restaurant is awfully slow and generally poor - seems to be tuned to mass catering for conferences. Once the conference crowd cleared out on Saturday, the place was virtually empty. How the golf course is still in good condition and enjoyed my game. Overall, a good golf resort but have modest expectations on everything else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments which are truly appreciated. we have taken note of your concern on services and we shall be in touch soon so we get clearer details and develop an improvements agenda.
We listen to what our esteemed Guests say and indeed we have heard you.
Kind Regards,
The GRVL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naivasha
10 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
14.1 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
79 reviews
10 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Naivasha
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Sweet Lake Resort
Sweet Lake Resort
#6 of 7 in Naivasha
29 reviews
10.8 mi away
Sawela Lodges
Sawela Lodges
#5 of 42 in Naivasha
271 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kiboko Luxury Camp-Sun Africa Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort

Address: Eburu Escarpment | Lake Naivasha, Naivasha 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range: $240 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort enjoys one of the most spectacular views in all of Africa. The lodge sits at about 7,000 feet, from which elevation it enjoys magnificent views to the west and east. The Vistas stretch from the sparkling waters of Lake Naivasha to jogged volcanic crater of Mount Longonot and, beyond, the sloping shoulders of the Aberdare Mountains - Kenya's most important watershed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Rift Valley Lodge And Golf Resort
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Hotel Naivasha
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort Naivasha, Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing