We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This used to be a good Lodge and have visited it a number of times in the past 2004 -2008. But the Lodge has now turned its focus to hosting large conferences and the service and food has down downhill. You will be served food in a Mess-hall with 150 other people and the food taste's poor and service is bad. Requested to see the GM of the Hotel and he never turned up. Must be too proud to see his guests. This lodge used to be on such a nice piece of land over looking the Great Rift but they have now built apts and houses all over the place. It looks like a mini-Town. They messed upa good lodge in order to trip to make more money and avoid this lodge, otherwise you will run into a crowd of NGO conferences, taking advantage of the free food they are getting from Tax players.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nairobi_KenyaAspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback. Your opinion is respected and is being discussed by Management and staff.
It would appear we did not reach you in our communication as what you mention could have been mitigated in various ways.
We will be happy to host you again.
Kind Regards,
The Team in Naivasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 425 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

We booked at GRVL for the weekend and drove from Nairobi. The road leading up to the resort from the highway, is a dirt road with many, many potholes. As mentioned by other travellers, you would ideally need a 4x4 to get there. We saw baboons on our way which we thought was a prelude to what we would see on the resort, but sadly we did not see much. The entrance of the resort is lovely and the golf course is very well kept.
At reception they were helpful, we had booked two chalet's the one key was ready and the other we had to waite 30 min for. When we got to our chalet, from the outside it really looked very nice. But getting inside, I would not recommend staying in the chalet at all. The kitchen was terrible and dirty, the whole Charity Chalet was not clean. This really put a dampner on the whole weekend. The beds are extremely uncomfortable (very hard) and the bedding is all mismatched, not what you would expect to find for the price.
We ate in the restuarant on Friday night, there was a set menu and the waiters were very attentive.
Saturday morning we had breakfast in the lodge, it was fine, just not a lot of variety at breakfast, as I do not eat red meat or pork, so they do not have any chicken products (sausages) etc. they did have a wide selection of patries.
The decor of this chalet is really not up to scratch and should be looked at. The lady that did our booking did not actually tell me that she would recommend the villa's instead, as we were only 4 people.
They have a little shop onsite with essentials (even meat), they are a bit pricey, but not too bad. If you do not play golf, you would probably get bored here, as there is not much to see on the resort itself. You need to take an excursion of some sort, they do have a good selection.
It is isolated and you cannot see the lake at all from this resort.
We had some resort security parking their car at our chalet and really making a noise. My husband is keen to play golf here again, but I will not be staying at the Charity chalet again.

Room Tip: Do not stay at the chalet's.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElleVee288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Hello Guest,
I have taken note of your review. This is now on my table for discussion with the team in our aspirations to ensure your next visit is takes care of all your concerns.
Regards,
The GRVL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The road up to this resort is shocking. We stayed in the most amazing lodge rooms that overlooked the whole valley. We requested a room on the upper level and it was fantastic. This was one of these times where we walked into our rooms and were gob smacked at the sheer beauty of the view from our amazingly comfortable king size bed. Once again we pulled out the cask of red wine and sat out on the deck in silence as we took in the sheer beauty and watched the day melt into the night. This resort was the only one that offered us a choice of dining and we jumped at the chance to go to a restaurant and look at a menu and enjoy a 4 course dinner. The resort was quite commercial by comparison to the other lodges we had stayed at on our safari and it was the only place where I felt a little anxious walking alone to my room at night. This resort is used by companies for team building and conferences and when we were there a large conference was in and they were very drunk and foul mouthed. someone had vomited everywhere in the mens bathroom and there was obviously no responsible serving of alcohol here. The pool area and free form pool was a pleasure to relax in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thanks for this review. Your comments and opinion taken note of and indeed immensely valued. They will be on the screen of our planning committee as we plan to become the pace of choice in this part of the World.
So glad you came.
Good Day
THE GRVL TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Overview:
A well built area but the journey to reach the resort is a very bumpy track - which gets worse in the rainy season. We found that this track was a huge let down as the thought of driving in and out of the resort to town or the main road even. The resort is very secluded and 'away from it all'. The scenary from the resort is stunning and the grounds are well well maintained. One would for a moment think they are not in Kenya but somewhere in a developed country. The air is non poluted and the atmophere is very relaxing and serene. Hats off to the person or team that came up with the idea of such a resort.
However as many of the reviews already mention, the downside of geting to the resort is a very bumpy ride off the main Nairobi-Nakuru highway and it is not a pleasant one if you do not have a 4x4. I understand the owners do try and maintain this sandy non tarmac road but it needs a little bit of rainful to see the road getting worse. I guess despite the other things to do that Naivasha may offer, staying in this resort and the thought of going through the non tramac road to get to Naivasha is off puting and as such you are better if being in the resort depending on the number of days you have booked.
I would rate the resort as a little too isolated - but ideal for keen golfers.

Accomodation:
Toilets in the accomodation were a little outdated and you could see some of the aging bathrooms. The room that was allocated to us had both taps giving out just hot water and the thought of reporting this and then waiting for someone to turn up and be led to our bathroom , invade our privacy to get it fixed was not worth it so we lived with it sadly. The huge downside and this could be due to the time of the year we went was number of insects creeping in should you leave the bathroom windown open - gosh just far too many.
The accomodation had all the mod cons i.e kitchen had good cutlery, microvave , good fridge and an excellent bbq area which we made the most of. The rooms and overall accomodation was spacious. There was Flat screen TV but we were asked to bring our own satellite card to view programmes which we did from Nakuru.

I am told the chalets belong to private owners who let these out so not all the chalets are available for rent and all of the vary in size and style. The swimming pool is not heated so with the cold evenings of June, we did not attempt to swim at all although the reception area was lovely and restaurant I am told is not so bad but some of the reviews to cover this in detail.

Accomodation per night is pricey but then again it is geared for golfers who are nornally wealthy and can afford such accomodation. For non golfers I would say you may get really bored so think twice unless you want to chill and get away from it all.

Room Tip: Ensure the chalet has double bedrooms and not just rooms as description varies a lot
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel4love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for this wonderful review. The thing about Tripadvisor is everybody is allowed to express his views and though I respond to all of them, i never query what any Guest says.
So i respect you opinion that i may not fully agree.
We do however look forward to seeing you again soon.
Good Day and God Bless
THE GRVL TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have been to this place more than a dozen time now and each & every time it impresses me all the more. Located at the peak of a hill overlooking the lake naivasha, this place is an ecosystem in itself. I have always stayed in the cottages that are structured on wooden logs. The scenery is breathtaking and the experience is A grade. The food, staff, facilities and the rooms, everything is perfect to a T. We even used the lodge transport to visit the eburu forest for a natural steam bath and a nearby national park (I can't recollect the name though). The naturalist is very knowledgeable and is eager to share his tacit wealth about the vegetation, wildlife and the history of the place. The resort is hardly 2 hours away from the busy life of Nairobi city which makes it an ideal place for a quick weekend getaway.
The resort is home to plenty of east African birds and its a treat to watch them as they come to specific feeding spots in the lodge. The Food is rich and delicious. The hotel manager is very polite and down to earth. Every staff, in fact, makes you feel easy and relaxed. We enjoyed playing lawn tennis (though the clay court needs a lot of maintenance) but it was a lot of fun. The pool overlooking the valley is amazing. In the night, you can hear the wild animals and if you're a star gazer, there is a state of art telescope also (free of charge) to see Moon and the planets. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the cottages and not for the Villas. The cottages are more African in terms of the architectu...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shahzad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for this awesome review. We appreciate the time taken to let us know your experiences. We shall work to maintain what is good and improve what we may.
Kind regards,
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We drove from Naivasha to the lodge (an interesting experience) and so really appreciated just how remote the place is (the roads are awful) - the lodges all face out over the Rift Valley and the sunset/rises are amazing, our room was a bit dark although the one next door to us looked a lot brighter. Great food (lots of it), especially the evening buffet and great golf. The whole resort has loads of different styles of houses on, is really lush and is great to wander around. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we even got packed lunches when requested. The highlight was playing golf with the three resident zebras!

Room Tip: The top floors of the lodges have the best views.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamesa7242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Hello,
Thanks for this wonderful review
Appreciated
The Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is in the most breathtaking location overlooking the beautiful Rift Valley and Lake Naivasha. The gardens are spectacular and full of many interesting plant species and gorgeous birds. It would be paradise for bird watchers. I would highly recommend doing a nature walk, Maasai John took us on one which was very informative and revealed some very surprising plant species there. We were also lucky enough to see some zebra and impala on the golf course! Daniel was also fantastic and put on a slide show on for us both nights we stayed there, on African birds and a short history of Kenya. Jack who was our game driver and John our guide were fabulous and hugely informative when we went to Lake Nakuru National Park for our game drives and they also took us on a boat trip spotting hippos and the beautiful birds of Lake Naivasha. The highlight of our stay was a hilltop breakfast on the golf course which Daniel surprised us with on our last day. We were taken up to the highest point on the golf course overlooking Lake Naivasha and with our family of four and four personal chefs to cook what we desired, it was very special and a memory I will treasure forever. The food in general was delicious with lots of choice at the buffet the À la carte was also fantastic. I think we were perhaps given some extra special perks which may not have been feasible in high season for every guest so I recommend going in June even if it’s a bit rainy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Hello,
It would appear you had a nice time and this is good news to all of us. As you attest there is so much one can do at the Unit and I am glad you tried lots of it.
We truly grateful you came had a nice time.
The Great Rift Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naivasha
10.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
14.1 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
77 reviews
10.0 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#3 of 40 in Naivasha
203 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sweet Lake Resort
Sweet Lake Resort
#6 of 6 in Naivasha
29 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#6 of 40 in Naivasha
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort

Address: Eburu Escarpment | Lake Naivasha, Naivasha 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range: $264 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort enjoys one of the most spectacular views in all of Africa. The lodge sits at about 7,000 feet, from which elevation it enjoys magnificent views to the west and east. The Vistas stretch from the sparkling waters of Lake Naivasha to jogged volcanic crater of Mount Longonot and, beyond, the sloping shoulders of the Aberdare Mountains - Kenya's most important watershed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Rift Valley Lodge And Golf Resort
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Hotel Naivasha
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort Naivasha, Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing