We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kenya on its best”
Review of Sanctuary Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sanctuary Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Kenya on its best”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

For me this was "A once in a lifetime experience" - "like a dream come true".

Fantastick atmosphere.
Super food of top quality like on the best restaurant but with a personal local touch.
The wiew with all the wild animals was fantastick.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriwol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    17
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
30
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is a place we took family and friends who visited while we lived in Kenya. Wonderful little place, very authentic. By far the best food I got in Kenya (I am a vegetarian and there were many good options). The owners and staff are super friendly and they were quick to solve problems. Very close to many animals and a quick walk to Crescent Island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curiousabouttheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi Region, Kenya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A very long overdue review as we have been coming to Sanctuary Farm quite a few times.This is also the kind of place you secretly hope nobody else will discover...:)
The surroundings are gorgeous, the food is delicious, original, fresh and obviously prepared with love and care.The bandas/rooms are decorated with care and in harmony with the surroundings. As avid campers, we love the fact that the camping ground can only be booked by one person, giving you the choice of having it all to yourself or of inviting 30 friends.The bathroom facilities are beautifully designed, clean and with plenty of hot water, giving you a big sense of luxury when camping.
We also love the warm welcome and care of the staff and the homely feel of the little wooden club house... we will be back, many times!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lineke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Just lucky to be here over Christmas and the host laid on a splendid meal of ham and turkey (along with fresh cranberry sauce - YUM!). But the best was when the Xmas Hippo came up out of the lake to wish us Merry Christmas (from a safe distance). Sanctuary Farm is a wonderful working farm and game conservation area, so one side has the cows, and the other wildebeest, zebra, giraffe, gazelles & monkeys plus a guest lodge with horse riding safaris, or a boat rides out on Lake Naivasha, We are here because of easy access to Hell's Gate National Park (interesting hike down the Gorge, followed by a dip in the new geo-thermally heated swimming pool), and to hike Mt Longonot (the almost extinct volcano next door). Sanctuary Farm is very pleasant & quiet - The guest rooms are comfortable and set in a refurbished stable (how appropriate for Xmas), 100 yards away is the old Polo Clubhouse with spectacular views of the grounds and lake, and excellent food. Very laid back & relaxing, not presumptuous. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed for two nts with family and children, nice but somewhat small rooms but clean and well staffed. Good for having as a base whilst touring the area. This the remains of a ex polo ground, with a lot of wild animals actually feeding right on your doorstep. You can even take a local tour on some of the ex xhampionship horses in beautiful surroupndings. Foodwas good but service a bit stretched, especially since all guests during our stay had the same hours. All in all, defintely a place we would use again. PS beqare of the hippos in the evening, Wait for the askari or driver to takeyou btw your room (actually a converted stable) and the clubhouae. Also, thanks to management for a nice little English carol singing during our stay. The Empire stil holds on in this part of the world.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xyzzy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay. Sanctuary Farm is a very quiet and restful place from which to daytrip to the nearby parks. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. It was fun to be able to walk among all of the animals (zebra, wildebeast, water buck, impala-most everything except predators) and sit on the clubhouse veranda at the edge of the lake. The food is very good and the service excellent. The staff packed lunches for us during our day trips so we could picnic in the parks. Our last morning we woke up to a family of 7 giraffes outside the window.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a break in our busy Safari schedule and Sanctuary Farm turned out to be the perfect place for this. We stayed one night and did nothing, unless you count wandering aimlessly amongst the wildlife and birds. We saw giraffe, zebras, vervet monkeys, wildebeeste, impala, pelicans, herons, egyptian geese, cormorants, etc etc. It is not recommended to walk about at night as the hippo come out of the lake to graze, and can be intolerant to people.
The place is idylic, and the food top class. Julie and Guy are special hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
1.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
10.4 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
10.8 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 41 in Naivasha
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
773 reviews
7.0 mi away
Elsamere
Elsamere
#10 of 41 in Naivasha
111 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
#1 of 41 in Naivasha
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Farm

Property: Sanctuary Farm
Address: Moi South Lake Road | Sanctuary Farm, Naivasha 20117, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have converted a stable yard into ten beautifully and originally designed contemporary rooms. Two small twin rooms with an interconnecting door, three small double bed rooms, three large triple rooms each with a kingsize bed and a single bed, two triple rooms each with two queen size beds and a single bed. All of our rooms have their own private bathroom and verandah set in a forest of acacia trees with abundant game everywhere. Zebras literally visit guests on their verandahs for early morning tea ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Farm Naivasha, Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing