We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idyllic place to experience the real Africa with two charming hosts.”
Review of Sanctuary Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sanctuary Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We were recommended this lovely place by friends who had stayed there previously, and were certainly not disappointed! We have been to Kenya several times, and stayed in all the so called 'in places' but this beats them all! It is a chance in a life time to stay with a 4th generation young Kenya couple on a glorious working farm, and experience the 'true Africa'. There are an abundance of giraffe, zebra, bush buck, and unusual beautiful African birds everywhere you look, and of course hippos in lake.

We stayed in one of the newly converted stable en suite rooms, which was very simply, but beautifully furnished - all the furniture is hand made from Acacia wood from the farm. The rooms all have their own verandas with lovely comfortable chairs and barbeques, and there is nothing more one could ask for than to sit with a drink at dusk watching and listening to the animals from our veranda.

Julie and Guy are the most wonderful and interesting hosts, and Julie provides delicious home cooked meals which we chose to take with the family (I think they are building a restaurant) and other guests. They will suggest local places of interest to visit, and even accompany you if that is what you prefer. The whole experience is very laid back, and relaxing, and we loved it!

We don't ride, but there is horse riding available on the farm.All meals and wine are included in the very reasonable cost, and they are very generous hosts!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SurreyScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 115 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2011

We had a truly wonderful, restorative and relaxing few days on the farm. Where to start:

People: Julie and Guy are a fabulous, capable, friendly and knowledgeable host couple who have lived and run the farm for +10 years.

Place: A fantastic sanctuary - only an hour from Nairobi - somewhere you could either chill out or be adventurous as you see fit.

Lodgings: Either in the lovely pepper pot traditional pink round house with a 4 poster (separate round house toilet adjoining with free standing bath) or tastefully renovated and simple stables - adjoining bathroom with overhead waterfall shower about 5 mins walk from the main house.

To do: I had a horse riding lesson on both days (1 hour is enough each day) and also took a horse out one afternoon accompanied by one of the stable staff to practice my news skills on a 'horseback ride safari' to see the zebra, giraffes, water buck and wilder beast in closer proximity. Also hippo, pelican and other wildlife spotting on the lake in a boat (lots of fun)... or you could just laze on the house porch / hammock and read one of the many and varied books Julie and Guy have.

Mingling: meal times are social, on the veranda of the house / inside at night - a great way to catchup with fellow guests.

Food: Ahhh amazing amazing, Katherine the cook and Julie whip up treats throughout the day - from home laid eggs and freshly baked bread in the morning, to delicious salads at lunch, cake in the afternoon and a 3 course meal at night - all delicious! There was never an empty plate. As I stayed near Easter Katherine even baked hot cross buns served with home made jam, yum!

In short - I loved my time on the farm, the company is delightful, the food divine and you can do as much or as little as you like.. they'll even organise a masseuse/beauty therapist to join for a day/two from Nairobi if you require it... a real sanctuary!

Room Tip: horse-back riding safari
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E_on_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I stumbled across sanctuary Farm's details as I was searching for horse riding in the Naivasha area. I am so glad that i did, as within 15mins of arriving at the farm, i realised that i had found my favourite place in East Africa, and 2 the region's most enchanting hosts, Julie and Guy.

We stayed in the main farm's outhouse. the bed was supremely comfortable, the hammock just outside was just the ticket for a mid afternoon read/snooze, the bathroom was huge with views over the farm from the luxury of the bath.

The food was superb (so nice to have "home cooked" gourmet food after 4 weeks on the road in and out of game lodges and hotels). i think that its a nice touch that all drinks are included. One of the most enjoyable elements of mealtimes chance to chew the cud with Julie and Guy, as all meals were taken as a family in the farm house (evenings by candlelight, with canape's served on the sofa next to a roaring fire).

I fully recommend taking out a horse for a ride around the farm to get up close an personal with giraffe, impala, zebra, waterbuck, wildebeest and loads of bird life. My partner and I are both complete beginners and we were paired appropriately with steady and calm steeds.

i cannot recommend sanctuary farm enough to anyone, especially for people living in Nairobi who want a break from the city to be seduced by the calm and real homely feel of the farm, or likewise for holiday makers who are starting to get fed up of game lodge / hotel living and want to experience what it is really like to escape Europe or America to set up a life in Africa.

to sum up, Julie and Guy have managed to create what so many have tried but fail to achieve... a wonderfully intimate and luxurious stay, with the perfect balance of attentive homely service, fascinating company and plenty of space to amuse yourselves in the stunningly beautiful grounds of the farm or surrounding areas of outstanding beauty.

I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tim1000things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Boris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Herbert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryFarm M, Manager at Sanctuary Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PLA05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryFarm M, Manager at Sanctuary Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sergi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
1 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
10.4 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
7 mi away
Elsamere
Elsamere
#6 of 42 in Naivasha
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 42 in Naivasha
218 reviews
9.6 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#7 of 42 in Naivasha
79 reviews
1 mi away
Kiboko Luxury Camp-Sun Africa Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Farm

Address: Moi South Lake Road | Sanctuary Farm, Naivasha 20117, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Price Range: $192 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have converted a stable yard into fifteen beautifully and originally designed contemporary rooms. Four small twin rooms, two with an interconnecting door, four small double bed rooms, six larger rooms each would accommodate families of 4 or 5 and one Deluxe room . All have their own private bathroom and verandah set in a forest of acacia trees with abundant game everywhere. Zebras literally visit guests on their verandahs for early morning tea. Some rooms even have views of the lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Farm Naivasha, Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing