We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not necessarily worth the cost.”
Review of Elsamere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elsamere
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, QC
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Not bad but not necessarily worth the cost.”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Nicely located beside the lake Naivasha with lots of little cabins available for renting. The décor is really nice with old items previously owned by the Adamson. The food was quite good with a large buffet for New Year eve. The cabin definitely had seen better days with some paints peeling and some showers not working properly. The room were also quite noisy with some kind of pump making a terrible noise. Also, the bed had not been made during our stay. Not bad but not sure it is worth the price they are asking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boutip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    46
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
29
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Elsamere is a small, cozy and homely place in the Rift Valley on the South West side of Lake Naivasha.

The lodge is simple, not elegant or renovated but still gives you a relaxing atmosphere.
Birds sing all the time and you can relax and enjoy nature.
Beautiful!

Recommendation: Towels and furniture need to be renovated but the most important is the peaceful ambiance and landscape.

We appreciate the Manager Mr. Sam for his commitment and dedication to make customers experience a pleasant stay. A very personal attention.

Also: Tea time great for pastry lovers.

Room Tip: Room No. 3 has a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catalina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worongary, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I had always wanted to visit Elsamere because of the connection to the Adamsons. However, we were brought by a guide from another lodge and we only had about an hour and a half which is just not enough time to fully appreciate the house, grounds and to watch the dodgy old video, which is actually very interesting and enjoyable, it just was old and gritty. So sadly, after watching the video, we had to rush thru the very basic 'museum' which has such interesting artefacts from the Adamson's lives, and we didn't even get to enjoy the afternoon tea. So unless you are staying here, make sure if you are brought here you have ample time to experience it all.

Having said that, as with many 'attractions' in Kenya, I did find the home a bit run down, overgrown with plants, and the shop was a bit sad. They could really do so much more to preserve this place, perhaps more as it was in its day, but it is interesting nonetheless. The grounds down to the lake are beautiful and I would liked to have known things like the area where George kept Boy when he was recouperating there etc. It is also interesting to see what is apparently George's old vehicle there, too. But as he died in '89 and the rego stickers on the window are from 2000 and after, I did wonder if it was actually his vehicle ...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTravelsQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We went to Elsamere on the final day of our safari tour- it is a fascinating place where you can really learn about the experiences of George and Joy Adams. One of the best bits was viewing his old passport that had a section listing George's distinguishing scars - lion maul marks to the neck and legs! Such an interesting place- but beware there are some really big monkeys there that are not shy and jumped on to our picnic table from a great height to steal our afternoon tea and cake!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seymour31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the Elsemere lodge for one night. We knew of its background with the Adamson's and had been told it was a nice relaxing place to stay in the Rift Valley, which it was. The house is located on the south-west side of Lake Naivasha. It is just past the entrance to Hell's Canyon Park, off of good roads. It is about a two hour drive from Nairobi, depending on Nairobi rush hour traffic and the number of trucks on the road. You have to take the main road west and it is full of trucks. There is a climb over some ridges before descending into the Rift Valley. The views of the Rift Valley are wonderful from the top of the ridge.

There are rooms in the house itself and then two annex buildings with rooms also. The rooms are pretty much the same. They are pretty basic and seem more set up for graduate students or researchers. The bathroom was pretty dated and the bed a bit soft - we had a double and a single bed in our annex room. The room were clean and fairly large. The common areas in the house are spacious and the gardens beautiful and well maintained. There are a lot of birds around, but we did not see the Colobus monkeys during our visit. We did hear the hippos in the grounds at night, however. The estate itself is very pretty and has a charming ambiance, with the Adamson connection. There would be a terrific view of the lake, but it is obscured by low trees and bush.

The staff were very friendly and gracious. There is no wifi, but they allowed us to use their computers for internet access to check on airline flights. The manager joined guests for evening dinner and everyone was was helpful. Breakfast was a large spread; we ate the buffet lunch outside. Drinks (coffee, tea, homemade lemonade, etc.) are available all of the time. Although no alcohol is served, you can bring your own bottles. We had all three meals and all were delicious, having a very homemade taste.

We took a boat ride from the Marina about 25 mins down back down the road, which included a lake tour and then a walking guided tour of Crescent Island, where you can actually walk among, and be very close to, the animals - zebra, wildebeest, giraffes, waterbuck, etc.. You can see a lot of birds, including diving fish eagles, pelicans, storks, etc., plus hippos and other animals on the shores.

If you are looking for a nice relaxing location in beautiful surroundings with basic accommodations, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Noo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

When i discovered the place, i first thought it would be a huge place many buildings and crowded, but once i got there, it was a different experience. The place is cool, homely and wonderful to stay. My wife and kids enjoyed every bit of it and the room was well furnished, spacious and warm, and hot water flowed freely here.

I loved the view to the lake which is just close by, and it's well kept too. Monkeys, birds and other wildlife dot the place. The food was delicious too. Generally close to most of naivasha attractions. I'd love to go back there some time again.

Tina & Tony

Room Tip: Take the new rooms, twin bed if your with family. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony_Mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We only stayed here one night, the rooms are basic but clean and comfortable, the views are great over the lake and the food was brilliant well cooked and well flavoured. We had a 2 hour boat trip on Lake Navasha with Zack a guide from the lodge who again really knew his birds and where to find and able to dodge the pods of hippos basking in the water. Including getting 3 fish eagles to swoop down and pluck a fish out of the water close to the boat an awesome experience, there is also close by a small soda lake with a good few hundred flamingos which is worth a look.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
7.8 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
10.1 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
3.9 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 41 in Naivasha
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
804 reviews
4.8 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#9 of 41 in Naivasha
62 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sawela Lodges
Sawela Lodges
#4 of 41 in Naivasha
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elsamere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elsamere

Property: Elsamere
Address: Elsamere Conservation Centre | Moi South Lake Road, Naivasha 20117, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elsamere 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elsamere is the former home of Joy and George Adamson, renowned for Elsa the Lioness who's story was told by Joy in her international bestseller "Born Free" and in the film of the same name.Today Elsamere is a friendly lodge run by the Elsa Trust offering twin bedded accommodation in individual cottages set in the beautiful grounds and offers a homely atmosphere, good food and a relaxing stay.The grounds and lake provide a peaceful environment which abounds with wildlife -notably over 300 bird species making it an ideal stay for all bird lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Elsamere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elsamere Field Study Centre Hotel Naivasha
Elsamere Naivasha, Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing