We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheapest option by the lake”
Review of Fisherman's Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fisherman's Camp
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This place can be a bit noisy (particularly with school trips!), but is the cheapest option if you want to stay on the lakeside - whether you have your own tent or not. The grounds are scenic, and in the day it's also quite peaceful. If it's still a bit pricey for your budget (it was 2,000KSH for two of us to hire tents and camp), we found it a good option to stay in the village 5 minutes walk up the road (500KSH for a double room, with shared hot shower), and then come to the lake during the day (most of the campsites along that stretch charge 100KSH entry. There were a few restaurants and bars with attached rooms - just ask around. You could also stay in Navaisha town (500-800KSH for a double), and come to the lake during the day.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Fisherman's Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 100 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

Bungalows are spacious but basic. Camp is nice, a lot of space and trees, monkeys, birds. And you can see hippos too! Nicely located close to the lake. Seems to be a lot of travellers in transit, groups of young people on vacation and some people on a day-trip from Nairobi.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Emmanuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Fishermans Camp at Lake Naivasha is well worth a visit if you want to camp with your own tent, hire one of theirs or rent a room/banda.
Right on the edge of the Lake it is a peaceful place to base yourself if you wish to climb Mt Longonot, Visit Hells Gate National Park or investigate Naivasha.
The camp has working showers with hot water, clean toilets (at least once per day), and a restaurant/bar serving very good food at reasonable prices.
Overland vehicles do stop here, but I was lucky enough to stay when these were not around. (This is the time when things can get lively, after they take their fill of "Africa on a bar stool".
Nearby Elsamere is a place to visit for afternoon tea; see the place where Joy Adamson lived.
Black & White Colobus Monkeys are often seen hanging around the tree's and the bird life is spectacular in the camp and surrounding area of the Lake.
The wildlife in the area is very good and it was nice to see that at least one of the huge flower farms puts a lot into protecting a large area adjacent to the lake solely for wildlife.
A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaSimba67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We camped out here and brought our own tents, though we rented blankets and mattresses from the camp. It was nice for the price. The setting is really beautiful-- it's close enough to bike right down to Hell's Gate and we used it as our base to go to Mt. Longonot as well. Camp staff is nice, the shower is hot... we eventually switched to the YMCA in town for a night, because it got too cold for us at night there, though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place is a good affordable camping site. We enjoyed it. Nice clean bathrooms with hot water showers. On the down side, the food in the restaurant is very expensive for what you get, breakfast was 1,000 KES ($13). We were the only people in the camping when we were there so it was quite and a perfect way to enjoy the lake front.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in a tent that was provided by the camp. It only cost Ksh. 1,000 per person per night, pretty good value. Other guests tended to be very noisy at night. The bar closes late at night, but they keep the seating area open if you're planning a late one. They're totally fine with you bringing your own drink to the bar. The food itself is pretty good and fairly good value for money. The showers are OK, can look a bit grimey and you definitely need to have flip flops handy. Be sure to check the fire outside the showers to make sure there is enough heat.

Generally, pleasant enough break, a couple of issues with the workers giving us a single person tent when we specifically asked for a double. After about 30 minutes and a bit of complaining, we eventually got the right tent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hongky_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Camped here one night, right by the lake and only metres away from hippos! It was a Tuesday night and still lively - if you like dance music this is the bar for you - it took me back to the 90s with some great tunes and memories of my youth!! A really friendly bunch and a great breakfast. We did a boat safari the next day which was fab, our guide was informative, knew his stuff but also not intrusive on our relaxing hour on the water - would recommend highly a trip on the lake.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pot at Panda
The Pot at Panda
#21 of 40 in Naivasha
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burch's Resort Naivasha
Burch's Resort Naivasha
#9 of 27 in Naivasha
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crater Lake Tented Camp
Crater Lake Tented Camp
#14 of 40 in Naivasha
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Crescent Camp
Lake Naivasha Crescent Camp
#15 of 40 in Naivasha
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweet Lake Resort
Sweet Lake Resort
#6 of 6 in Naivasha
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Camp

Address: Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Price Range: $52 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jambo, welcome to fischers camp Naivasha, situated on the Moi Southlake Road, Naivasha, 500 mtrs off the Maai-Mahiu-Naivasha Highway. Fischers is the gateway destination we have been waiting for; as the name suggests Fischers is a place of comfort complete with ultra modern facilities. Amenities: accommodation, conferences halls and boardrooms, bar and restaurant, gardens for outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fisherman`s Camp Hotel Naivasha
Fisherman's Camp Naivasha, Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing