We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic location but worst camp ground experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Crater Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crater Lake
Nairobi
1 review
“Idyllic location but worst camp ground experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

For all it's idyllic location, great history and positive reviews all it took to destroy the Easter weekend expectation for our party of 6 parents and 5 kids under 5yrs old was:
1. Terrible service at the restaurant; order a la carte at your own risk - took an hour and a half to get an authentic answer on our dinner order and only then did they confirm that they didn't have some of the menu items. By then all the kids were half asleep...
2. No camping ground rules; beware of drunk revelers arriving back at the camp at 1am and proceeding to blast music late into the early morning and no camp admin available to intervene.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeoGraBayOny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
194 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Crater Lake Camp is an extremely romantic place. There are only a few rooms (tents under a permanent structure) so, in the evening, when day guests are gone the number of guests is small. The dining area is very nice, though we preferred the terras overlooking the banks of the crater lake. Staff is very kind and knowledgeable. Walks with the game keepers are included in the overnight price (as is the entrance fee for the park itself). The park is amazing, there is a score of different animals and an abundance of birds. At night there even Hippo's grazing. The guide is highly qualified and gives background information. The walks through the park (or you can drive your own car) are magnificent. A long trails goes round the entire crater lake. Food is all fresh. Prices for souvenirs , in the camp shop, are very reasonable. Better I did in bargaining in town.
My complements to the staff and my respect to the Kenyan owner for keeping such a jewel in such a pristine condition. Obviously nature and preservation comes before company profit. I wish a lot of owners would have the same view.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

An average accommodation, yet clean and good service. All rooms look at the lake with lots of birds floating around. Walking safari is quite fun with zebras, giraffes, buffalos (be ware) and monkeys. Food has to be improved as well as wine list.

Room Tip: All rooms are at the bottom of the crater so you have to count on up-and-down to reach reception and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
303 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We recently spent two nights at Crater Lake lodge in Naivasha. The drive out to the lodge is a nice drive (about 45 minutes off the main road) and there are animals all along the way – we saw zebras, giraffes and many others. Walking down the steps, the camp area opens to a beautiful small lake filled with pink flamingos. Upon arrival, we lunched at the floating restaurant on the lake.

The lodge is under new management, and, while I have not been to the lodge before, we could see that many things are new at the lodge. Others have mentioned poor bathroom facilities and we did not find that to be the case anywhere on the grounds. The linens were new and of good quality and we could see some new cabins under construction. The tents were quite large with plenty of room to move around and a nice front porch with great chairs to watch the flamingos.

We took a night game drive which was fun and great to see so many animals grazing. It wasn’t great for pictures but we would still recommend it. We took a walking safari one morning which was amazing. To be standing just a few feet from giraffes and zebras was an incredible experience. I would HIGHLY recommend it.

The food at the lodge was good and there was plenty of it. The service, too, was good and friendly. We were told they had WIFI but we could never get it to connect. It did seem that the problem might have been outside of the lodge but I wouldn’t count on WIFI. The additional touch of a hot water bottle in the bed each night was much appreciated.

If you are looking for a quaint and quiet location you should consider this lodge. The upside is that it allows you to do things that you can’t do in the big parks – namely the night safari and walking safari. Both are well worth a stay at the Crater Lake lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjandthemissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
500 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were visiting this area on a daily trip. It is possible to walk around the lake (2,5 hours), the view is wonderful, the restaurant is on water, the stairs are leading down to the lake and flamingos. There are places to have picnic around reception since eating around the lake is not allowed. However, toilets at the reception were in awful state with flush not working. Still, a very nice place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lillemusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I spend
an overnight in Crater Lake, driving down from Nairobi.The 101 steps down to the tents were well worth the amazing view ; a lake filled with thousands of pink flamingos.later, when they took flight in the sunset, it was like they had become illuminated, unforgettable! The floating restaurant was fun and, staff attentive, however, accomodation basic and food below average, but then , we were in the middle of the bush. Well worth visiting.

Room Tip: Ask for the last tent, which is the honeymoon tent more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Having lunch on a platform on the flamingo-dotted lake, colobos monkeys on your veranda and a buffalo spending the night in the bush next to your tent, this all gave me the right start of my 'discover Kenya' trip. Special mentioning: the walking safari with guide Paul. You climb out of the crater, and stand eye to eye with giraffes, zebras, gazelles and - at a safe distance - herds of buffalo. The safari tents are perfect and comfortable, and the food is tasty. I do hope to come back, with more members of my family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naivasha
0.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
0.0 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crater Lake Tented Camp
Crater Lake Tented Camp
#17 of 41 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#4 of 41 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#10 of 41 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Lake

Property: Crater Lake
Address: Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Crater Lake Hotel Naivasha
Crater Lake Naivasha, Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing