We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place to Relax and enjoy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to Relax and enjoy”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

It is a beautiful place to relax and enjoy the nature. The drive to the resort is excellent. The rooms are very big with all the modern day amenities. The rooms are very clean. The staff is friendly and polite. The view from the room is excellent. The grounds are lush green and Giraffes, Zebras and Deers roam around in the day time. After 7:00 pm you have to call security to escort you to the dinner area as Hippos come to graze in the grounds. Early morning walks to the lake is wonderful. The hotel is nice and food is good. We were 2 adults and 2 kids and we had wonderful time staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fasih u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    318
    101
    32
    17
See reviews for
252
317
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The drive into the lodge was very beautiful indeed and the rooms were also spacious as well. I particularly liked the view from outside the room of zebras, water buck and giraffes by the lake. There was reasonably fast, free internet and the only downside was the size of the place and congestion of the dining area. A great one night stay though!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zamalek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

It is indeed a very beautiful lodge.I loved it a minute I got in .Room is very spacious ,each room has a beautiful balcony look out the view with all the animals grazing around like Giraffe / water buck ...I took one star off because the cleanness of the bathroom / Coffee Pot and the fixtures in the bathroom starting falling apart.
Might be in just a bad day for me but the coffee pot in my room was totally DIRTY ( I think they forgot to clean it ) can not be used.
I love the dinning area and the food at the Buffet and Oh I love the Scones at the breakfast This lodge is the only place I found it on 16 days travel to Kenya ,and YES it hit the spot:)
I never have a chance to see the Pool so I can't comment on that .
I can never say enough about the beauty of the Ground they have in their property sooooo Beautiful and the walk from the room to the dinning area was awesome, walking around with the Giraffe?? Unreal
At night before you go to the dinner .You should called for the escort because the Hippos around the Lake .I didn't make a call but I was very careful to look around .
I really enjoyed the Balcony ,taking the book with you and settle in the chair look out the garden and feel so relaxing .Wishing I was there now :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyKimLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Sopa lodge swept us off of our feet when we first drove in through the long and winding drive way. Beautifully appointed grounds. It is a large property with zebras, giraffes, horses wandering at leisure. Staff quite efficient and friendly, though stretched due to the large number of guests flowing into the property.

Cottages are beautiful and spacious.

The only downside was the bathroom. Poor fixtures. Toilets were unclean and stained. Shower curtains old and frayed. You have to work magic with the hot water tap to have a proper shower- in the middle of your shower water can turn from the set temperature to scalding hot and then switch to freezing cold.

A bit of plumbing maintenance and proper house keeping would do this place a great favor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights and found the staff to be so helpful, from carrying bags to my room to the security guards that would take us out to see the wildlife (Hippos and giraffes mainly). Due to the danger of Hippos, during night time if you want to leave your room you call reception who will send a security guard to escort you to the restaurant or wherever you want to go. During the late hours they would also take you to see grazing hippos at a safe distance (but still quite close).

I had a room with a balcony, which allowed me to sit out at night and see the wildlife any time without worrying about my safety.

If you want wildlife on your doorstep with luxury accommodation this place is ideal!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with a balcony for all hours wildlife viewing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our third Hotel on our Titan Safari Tour (Excellent Company). It was also the best we experienced. The rooms were enormous, with kettle, safe,shower, bath, Mozzie nets, T.V. and best of all, an outside Balcony or Ground view of a Park with Animals wandering freely. The Dining Room and Bar required escort from your room after dark, because of grazing Hippos and Buffalo. The meals were the best we had on our Tour. Buffet style with a good choice at all meals.Staff and Service was good. Game drives were excellent with sighting of a variety of Game.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jontanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights late September early October 2013 and what a place to stay. We arrived late (12 midnight) due to a delay in Paris, reception was closed but Niomei was called and happily done all the paperwork, she got security to carry our cases to our cottage, Number 8.
The upper cottage itself was very spacious, the ground cottages are even bigger. It was very clean with fridge, TV, coffee/tea making facilities, safe and plenty storeage for clothes. Our first morning we awoke with giraffes walking passed our window, this was just the start of many truly amazing things at this lodge.
The dinning room is large and comfortable, buffet style with a great choice of food, tea/coffee free but water is charged, at breakfast go to the egg station and see Aida, she is a lovely lady, always got a smile, she will brighten any morning. All the staff are wonderful and there are only 3 words you need to know, Jambo, Asante and Karibu...Hello, Thank you and Welcome. try it out.
The grounds are magnificent, you can really get up close to the wild life, giraffes, zebras monkees and water bucks roam freely around the grounds, take a stroll to the jetty, stay awhile and listen to the sounds, a lovely thing to do just after breakfast.
The pool area is very clean and a great place to have a lazy day, but watch out for the giraffes, they too like to have a lazy day, we had one join us in the pool area, quite amazing.
There is no entertainment on in the evening, but watching the hippos come out to graze is in itself entertaining enough, sitting in the lounge is very comfortable chairs having a drink watching hippos, now how good is that. security will escort you to your room at night, the hippos, especially with babies are very dangerous.
On our last night before setting off to the Maasai Marra, we met Ludi the manageress, a lovely woman, we sat in the bar, had a drink and chat, a very warm person who we could have chatted to all night but an early start for us in the morning.
I would not hesitate to return to this lodge, it was so relaxing and nothing was ever a problem.
A special thanks to Robert our room boy, we came in from a walk one day, our shoes were rather dirty, we took them off, put them in the bathroom to clean later, when we returned to our room after dinner he had cleaned them for us, that is the kind of service this lodge gives you.
I read trip advisor before I came here and yes there were a few negitives, but you can't please all the people all the time, but I can honestly say everything was just perfect.

Room Tip: Upper room between 1 and 20, great view and not far to walk to dinning room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
3.3 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
11.0 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 41 in Naivasha
191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sawela Lodges
Sawela Lodges
#4 of 41 in Naivasha
224 reviews
8.7 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#9 of 41 in Naivasha
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort

Property: Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Address: P.O.BOX 72630-00200 | Lake Naivasha, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Sopa Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing