We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful lodge, beautiful surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
444 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge, beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour group. The hotel is located at the end of a greenhouse growing area and there is nothing around for shopping. The grounds are well maintained and you can see giraffe, waterbuck, hippo and several kinds of monkey on the grounds roaming free. They send a guard to escort you if you go out after dark. The rooms are large and well equipped., with the exception of no hair dryer. It does offer free internet in the main building and we could sometimes pick it up in our room. The food is standard hotel fare with meals served buffet style.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    302
    93
    31
    16
See reviews for
235
307
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay either before or after Safari. Although there is wildlife abundant right at or near the lodge. Rooms were extremely spacious - with 4 suites to a small 'cottage'. Included was either a balcony or patio where one can sit and watch for giraffe, water buffalo, monkeys and hippos. I would have loved to have stayed longer at this very comfortable lodge. Good food and restaurant service. Very friendly and helpful staff - who escort you around the property after dark. A stay here is a terrific experience.

Room Tip: I would pick a room as far from the Main building as possible (more animal sightings).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebPortage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent the night at Sopa Lodge on the way back to Nairobi. I have been there before and I would rate it as a hotel that can be much nicer than it is. It is comfortable but the rooms are wall-to-wall carpeted. A nightmare for asthmatics. The food is quite nice and the location is very beautiful. One can see giraffe, zebra and antelopes on the gardens.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jokels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the first of the Sopa chain we stayed at on our recent trip to Kenya. On arrival we were seated in the lobby, with a welcome drink and a cooling towel. Check in was quick and we were shown our room.

The rooms are located in small huts (4 rooms per building) centered around a large grass field where animals roam at night. The rooms are excellent. Large, clean and also a large shower. The balcony offers a great view of the garden and at night you can see the giraffe and hippos graze. One small attention point: i think they work with boilers, so the warm water may run out when you are showering.

Due to these animals you have to call security if you want to go to dinner to pick you up. The first night this went wrong, and we had to wait for more than a half hour, the second time we called security was there in a few minutes, so this was probably an incident. The next day this went flawlessly.

Food is served in the restaurant, with a large buffet. Meat and salads are made to order. The quality is good with a lot of different choices. Service is excellent. Drinks can be ordered quite quickly and served quickly. The first night we were placed (as a couple) near a big group making it a bit noisy. After dinner we asked to be seated somewhere else the next day. The lady who helped us assured this would not be a problem. For breakfast she wouldn't be there but we could sit anywhere we liked. For dinner she would make sure we got the table we wanted. The next day at lunch and dinner our table had been reserved. She even came to check if everything was as we wanted. Great service!

Housekeeping is also good. The first night was a bit cold so we took an extra blanket, the second night housekeeping had left a warm water bottle. Also we smoke, so the next day there was an ash tray (we had thrown away an empty pack in the bin). So very attentive housekeeping.

We didn't have time for a swim, but the swimming pool is large and quite inviting. If we had had more time we would definitely have spend time there.

There is free wifi in the lobby and restaurant, but even in the rooms if you are not too far from the lobby. We were approximately half way and still had decent reception.

In all, a great place to stay near Lake Navaisha.

Pro's:
- Big rooms, clean with large bathrooms.
- Enough choices for food
- Great service (housekeeping and restaurant).

Con's:
- Nothing i can think of.

Room Tip: The further away you are from the reception, the quiter it will be. But than you have no wifi probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthijsvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijsbergen, Ne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Spend 2 days in a nice resort, with nice lodges, good food and restaurant service plus beautiful surroundings! But what a shame.....nobody told us before: wedding party at night, shouting people, disco-music, cars driving, chasing away all hippos (did not see 1!) and animals who were supposed to come up to the lodges and keeping us awake until 02.00 a.m.....Tried to express my dissatisfaction or at least put a complaint in the morning to a rather rude and impolite staff and never got see the manager ( it's Sunday, what do you expect.....?). What about customer services? Next doors resort already abandoned...

Room Tip: Make sure there are no parties that night!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We, group of 20 people, while visiting this property were completely taken to surprise when entered the room. Very spacious, great backyard with guests in the night being animals including Hippos, being escorted by security guards if we come out after 7pm, great choice for vegetrarians (Puri baji made to order for breakfast), good customer service....extremely satisfied with the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerADBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We checked in late at about 11pm, and found reception closed. At that hour one is received in the switchboard room, not a good image.
The hotel however has good fresh food and fruits. Our room was the last one closer to the lake, which gave us a super view of the animals. Ensure you have a guard walk you down to your rooms due to the animals.
The room was comfortable, TV being the old tube type with a limited selection of channels.
We took a boat ride, not free, but got a very informed tour guide who showed us most of the wildlife in the lake,
Would definitely return for a totally relaxed, restful weekend.

Room Tip: Last rooms closer to the lake have less human traffic, and closer to all the animals! Remember to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WairimuGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
3.3 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
11.0 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
3.6 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#4 of 40 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sawela Lodges
Sawela Lodges
#5 of 40 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
5.3 mi away
Elsamere
Elsamere
#6 of 40 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort

Property: Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Address: P.O.BOX 72630-00200 | Lake Naivasha, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Sopa Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing