We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Giraffes, hippos, monkeys!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Penngrove, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Giraffes, hippos, monkeys!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We loved the staying here. The ambiance was delightful, the staff so attentive, the setting glorious. We were grateful that they escorted us back to our rooms in the evening to prevent any unwanted hippo attention, and having giraffes on the grounds was magical. A fabulous place to stay.

Room Tip: I don't think any rooms were undesirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    306
    96
    31
    16
See reviews for
239
308
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the lodge while visiting the Rift Valley and Naivasha. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the monkeys that roam the grounds~which we thought was amazing. The check-in process was easy, and the staff took us to our room. We thought our room was lovely and we really liked the balcony that overlooked the large lawn. We were pleasantly surprised at the animals that roamed the lawn....especially the giraffes! We encountered them while looking out the balcony window at 2:30 in the morning!! One giraffe was even eating the shrubbery off of our balcony. I loved it!!!
The lodge and grounds were just beautiful, and although we were not able to swim due to limited time at the lodge, the pool looked Amazing! The food was delicious and it was nice to be able to get a drink from the bar and sit by one of the open fireplaces. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely love to come back with our sons some day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathermwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this lodge at the beginning of an 18 day OAT tour of Kenya and Tanzania. The rooms are spacious and open onto a large wooded lawn that was visited by giraffes, waterbuck, zebra, vervet monkeys, dik diks and hippos. What a great beginning to our trip! The food was quite good, with a variety of choices and excellent desserts. The bar is pleasant and reasonably priced. Comfortable beds, but the mosquito netting didn't cover the opening in the wall behind our heads.

Room Tip: Get a downstairs room, you may get an up close visit from a vervet when you sit on the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ficimia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This lodge offer a large number of rooms thus you will find yourself with a large number of other tourists. The food was very good, a wide (the widdest from all our lodge experience) range of buffet food is offered during dinner and breakfast. Very nice.
Special is also that the lodge hosts it "own" giraffe, water bucks and hippos. The rooms are large however very basic in terms of style.
People who do not mind to spend their time with some 50 other tourists will find with this lodge a perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianAmmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Since our last visit here the food has greatly improved. Even the cheese was lovely! Animals are the same. Good friendly service. However I wish they could sort out the plumbing for the showers as some are scalding and some cold but I suspect that would need a major refurbishment.

Room Tip: When you get to the room check the shower temperature is OK before unpacking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoninWestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were greeted by a girrafee as we drove into the hotel. You cant beat that sort of welcome. The food was great and they had wide variety especially desserts. The hotel doesnt have a great view of Lake Naivasha (but apparenty thats because the lake has recaimed the land and so there are trees in part of the lake).Loved the hot watre bottes. However, we ditn get to swim as it was tooo cold.But then again it was July.During the night there we saw hippos roaming the compund.Awesome!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wambui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a 7 night safari and was really impressed. We stayed here for a visit to hells gate gorge and hasn't expected to see many animals but wow we had hippos grazing right outside our room at night time. Was amazing. Food was also excellent. I am a fussy vegetarian and had no trouble at all. Hubby is a carnivore and loved it too especially the BBQ. Overall we were extremely impressed. Staff we excellent. Wifi fastest we had out of 4 places we stayed and FREE! We stayed in 4 lodges, of which the best ones were the 2 Sopa lodges which leads me to think you can't go wrong with the sopa chain.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sushy_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
3.3 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
11.0 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#4 of 41 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sawela Lodges
Sawela Lodges
#5 of 41 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
5.2 mi away
Elsamere
Elsamere
#6 of 41 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort

Property: Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Address: P.O.BOX 72630-00200 | Lake Naivasha, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Sopa Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing