We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but a bit too precious!”
Review of Olerai House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olerai House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice, but a bit too precious!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed with another family, taking three rooms for one night. We found the food was very good, fresh and well prepared and served beautifully in both the dining room and outside in the gardens. The rooms were ok, sometimes lacking in electricity, hot water and not up to the standards one would expect at this price point. Service was not up to par, and you had to ask for everything, including electricity! Disappointing for this beautiful, and magical place full of animals roaming freely. Early checkin was also a surprise and we felt rushed and not able to enjoy the day, nor take a showers! Big plus was the Samburu guide Likus, who was quite gracious and helpful.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodieant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
17
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laufelfingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Fantastic place to relax between safaris with beautiful open fields and wildlife like giraffes zebra, antelopes, monkeys, and buffalo running through the gardens as you eat. The food is the best I have ever had and 5 star quality. You sleep in beautiful cottages surrounded by flowers and trees. This place is owned by the Douglas Hamilton family that also own Elephant Watch in Samburu. You are looked after as much as you want or just left alone to enjoy the peace. One or two nights are enough though.

Room Tip: They do have family cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith09065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephantwatchcamp, at Olerai House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Meredith145,

Thank you for taking time to write on our TripAdvisor page.
We appreciate the positively glowing report.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Olerai in September 2012.
Welcome back and feel free to recommend us to your friends and family.


Kind Regards,
Eleanor Opiyo
Social media Officer
Olerai House Naivasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Olerai House is very friendly and relaxing place. The food was absolutely delicious, home grown in the beautiful organic gardens and tasted so fresh leaving us asking for the recipes of many dishes. The accomodation was spacious and cosy at the same time, and the surrounding grounds and lake with buffalo, giraffe and zebra wandering round leads to a special break away from the hustle of Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephantwatchcamp, at Olerai House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Lizling,

Thank you for taking time to write on our TripAdvisor page.
We appreciate the positively glowing report.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Olerai in June 2012.
Welcome back and feel free to recommend us to your friends and family.


Kind Regards,
Eleanor Opiyo
Social media Officer
Olerai House Naivasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

What a hidden paradise!
We spent the most lovely weekend at Olerai.
The food is brilliant - fresh greens and a selection of salads from their own garden brought to the table for a very personal touch. Vegetarians - have no fear.... my meat eating husband was also tempted by my vegetarian lasagna.
The rooms are clean, have a personal touch and provide toiletries.
A lovely location and will definitely go back there again.
Thank you Olerai House.
x

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeputitchyitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephantwatchcamp, at Olerai House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear deeputitchyitchyfeet,

Thank you for taking time to write on our TripAdvisor page.
We appreciate the positively glowing report.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Olerai in November 2011.
Welcome back and feel free to recommend us to your friends and family.


Kind Regards,
Eleanor Opiyo
Social media Officer
Olerai House Naivasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I arrived straight from the UK and after a fairly dusty bumpy ride from Nairobi to Naivaisha, we arrived at the peaceful Olerai, all calm breezes and dappled sunlight through the magnificent canopy of trees. I took a shower, had a delicious fresh lunch under the trees and slept for about 12 hours!

Olerai is immensely tranquil, conducive to relaxation! We ate really well (simple, tasty and unpretentious), had a very comfortable room with vast bed, the staff were charming, particularly Alfred and we really enjoyed watching the animals wander around and investigate the garden at dusk! We went off riding for an am and then explored Lake Naivaisha for another afternoon. All within an easy and interesting drive.

I've travelled a lot, but this was my first time in Africa, so Olerai was my opening introduction to Africa and it was very welcoming and comfortable!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephantwatchcamp, at Olerai House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Eliza B,

Thank you for taking time to write on our TripAdvisor page.
We appreciate the positively glowing report.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Olerai in February 2012.
Welcome back and feel free to recommend us to your friends and family.


Kind Regards,
Eleanor Opiyo
Social media Officer
Olerai House Naivasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed at Olerai for a marvellous week, and enjoyed everything about it. Simeon and the staff looked after us very well and cheerfully indeed. Miriam's cooking was uniformly delicious, and so fresh, using all the garden vegetables in interesting ways. The grounds and the wildlife were incredibly beautiful (with Ntawas an excellent guide to it all), and we loved the way the zebras and giraffes would wander past while we were reading, and the hippos would turn up outside our window at night. The room was very comfortable and well-equipped, with charming decoration and really thoughtful features. We also had some good trips to Crescent Island, Hell's Gate and Nakuru, which were very helpfully arranged for us.

Worth bringing mosquito repellent and bite cream, though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephantwatchcamp, at Olerai House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Laura B,

Thank you for taking time to write on our TripAdvisor page.
We appreciate the positively glowing report.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Olerai in February 2012.
Welcome back and feel free to recommend us to your friends and family.


Kind Regards,
Eleanor Opiyo
Social media Officer
Olerai House Naivasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed with the family for 1 night at Olerai. We live in Nairobi, have seen many places in Kenya and beyond, and we consider Olerai a nice place. The breakfast and lunch in the garden, with a great sun, and a great view over its private park, with zebras and giraffes strolling around. Very peaceful. Nice walks. Even a swimming pool (in the main house, 800m walk).
We paid Kshs 30,000 for 2 adults and 2 kids (residents rates! non-residents pay even much more), a lot of money, so we expected something very exciting, as exciting as other places we have seen in east Africa.Food was good, however not exciting. The rooms were nice, but not exciting, rather a bit old-fashioned. The bath tub was dirty. The mattresses on the veranda were old and broken. The manager told us that we had to check out of room at 09h30! Quite a few things that I hadn't expected in a venue at this price. And what a pity, and unnecessary when looked after in a bit more careful way..... And we have seen places that over the same or better for a lower price.

So for us, the only magical part was the breakfast and lunch in the garden with the view and the sun. All the other things in/around the house are having big competition in East Africa and one can find more exciting places, for less money! Please keep on looking around for the best places! There are many!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wim_Nairobi_Kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
9.8 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
4.7 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
6.4 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 41 in Naivasha
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#9 of 41 in Naivasha
61 reviews
10.0 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
773 reviews
6.5 mi away
Elsamere
Elsamere
#10 of 41 in Naivasha
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olerai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olerai House

Property: Olerai House
Address: off Nairobi-Nakuru highway, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olerai House is the family home of Oria Douglas Hamilton, a native Kenyan of French-Italian origin. The house is nestled within a 400-acre wildlife sanctuary on the North shores of Lake Naivasha. It has been open to guests since 1993, when it acted as a functioning farm. In 2001, it became a wildlife sanctuary and now has over 500 animals grazing harmoniously on its grounds. Zebras, giraffes, water buffalo, gazelles and monkeys greet you at breakfast in the morning, while a chorus of birds chirps overhead.The house is a web of five independent rooms, built from local materials, with beds made of vines, and walls inlaid with glass bottles. Rooms are each personally decorated by Oria with colourful Indian tapestries and local art. Three course meals at breakfast, lunch and dinner are included in the room rate, served on hand-made pottery and glassware. They are sumptuous affairs with fresh-baked bread, and soups and salads made from vegetables picked in the organic garden on the grounds.Olerai is the perfect weekend retreat from the bustle of Nairobi, and a wonderful haven for safari journers, eager for a cooler climate in the lush greens of Naivasha. The house is child-friendly and – need we say it? – animal friendly.Activities include:• Hiking up a gentle neighbouring hill with views over the Lake, accompanied by a Samburu warrior• Taking a boat ride through a small adjacent lake, home to 500,000 flamingos and large families of hippos• Walking among the animals in the sanctuary guided by expert on-site ornithologists and zoologists• Swimming in the pool while zebras curiously watch from an arm’s length• Reading a good book on the lawn amidst blankets and pillows• Having a sun-downer by the fire, indoors or out• Mount Longonot and Lake Nakuru National Park are within a one-hour drive ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olerai House Hotel Naivasha
Olerai House Naivasha, Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing