We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely people comfortable hotel menu needs more variety”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mzuzu
Juba, South Sudan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely people comfortable hotel menu needs more variety”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

The hotel and grounds are beautiful and safe. The Friday night disco is a bit boring and the prostitutes at the bar are a pain but it's better than it was. The menu could do with a revamp. Best place in town if you're new to Mzuzu.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokolosheman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
7
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel in July, 2010. The hotel was a bit like an average Canadian hotel for room quality and amenities but the staff and hotel administrators were outstanding. The stay was wonderful because of the people. I would highly recommend this facility for work or pleasure

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripman035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

A very good hotel by African standards
Clean rooms, good bathrooms, decent restaurant, friendly staff.
Not a holiday place though, as it is a city hotel in a fairly uninteresting town.
No swimming pool.
I have been coming here for nearly twenty years and standards have always been good.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaapv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

I have visited Malawi a number of times and generally stay at this hotel on my journey north.
The hotel is well secured and gives a genuine feeling of safety.
The rooms, for Malawi, are really very good. Perhaps basic by European standards but super delux with for Malawi. Rooms are ensuite, good water supply, air conditioned and very comfortable.
The staff are more than helpful, warm, friendly and kind hearted.
The restaurant is excellent and in my opinion do the best steak and chips in Malawi.
There is a good sized garden to stroll in and is beside the local golf club.
Overall a good place to stay with your family if you are in the area.
By Malawian standards though it is quite expensive.
I have stayed in the Sunbird Capital in Lilongwe and I would rate Sunbird Mzuz above it in every department except the rooms.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, good food
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Seaboughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mzuzu
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters by Serendib
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#1 of 6 in Mzuzu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Njaya Lodge
Njaya Lodge
#2 of 2 in Nkhata Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ilala Crest Lodge
Ilala Crest Lodge
#3 of 6 in Mzuzu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
2.5 mi away
Moni Lodge
Moni Lodge
#5 of 38 in Mzuzu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel

Property: Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel
Address: PO Box 231, Mzuzu, Malawi
Phone Number:
Location: Malawi > Northern Region > Mzuzu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mzuzu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing