We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
2
6
22
4
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
6
22
4
11
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 45 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2016 via mobile

This hotel has seen better days. We understand that it caters to government functions and not tourists. But we used it so that we could quickly get to lake Victoria for birding. Found most of what we hoped for. Rooms were OK but elevator was out of order and we had to climb several flights of stairs on a hot day. Food was only 'acceptable'.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank Randall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

We've booked Sunset Hotel several times before when visiting Kisumu. Every time we come we find friendly staff, a relaxed atmosphere and amazing views over Lake Victoria.

After a relaxing drink watching the sun go down amongst the beautiful gardens, we enjoyed an evening dinner from their excellent kitchen.

The hotel is a little outside Kisumu in the prestigious Milimani Estate and that makes for a peaceful and secure location.

The only thing I need to comment is that the rooms are very tired and are well overdue for a refurbishment. That said, the rooms are ok and the rest of the hotel goes a long way to making up for it.

If you expect 5 star quality, then look elsewhere, but for the more discerning traveller who is prepared to accept an older simpler room, this hotel is a treasure.

Please someone buy it and refurbish :)

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
3  Thank stebb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

Honestly is average hotel who needs renovation but we like it. This hotel is usually on our way and we staying there only 1 night or maximum 2 nights.It was my 4th time to visit this hotel , I really like seating on open bar and having lovely chicken with chips and cold Tusker. Breakfast is very limited , lifting are smells like car garage, and they are not fitting will any security so you might be squeezed by the door if you are too slow. In the room you might find small lizards. You will find swimming pool there, nothing special but is good jump there after very hot day. At night you will heard noisy grasshoppers- just amazing, you feel been close to nature.

Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
3  Thank arcik14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2016

The hotel needs some work but it is not in the center of the city but close enough that you can walk and I doubt if there is a nicer view of Lake Victoria for under $100 per night. The staff is great and the pub is a decent pub with a nice breeze coming off the lake. So if you are looking for a good place to spend a weekend in Kisumu, I would recommend the Sunset Hotel.

Room Tip: get up as high as you can for good views of the Lake
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank johnmR5726OU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2016

I have stayed at the Sunset Hotel three times and am sorry to say it has gotten worse each time. It is sad to see a place with such beautiful features and great potential falling into disrepair. The elevators don't work and yet guests are given rooms on the upper floors (maybe the lower floors are no longer habitable?). The rooms are dark and dingy with furniture from the 1960's that has not been maintained. The towels are of the same vintage.The restaurant is often out of most items on the menu and the food that you are (finally) served is never better than average. The interior public rooms (restaurant, lobby, bar and meeting rooms) are dingy and unappealing. I felt insecure about safety since many of the rooms are unoccupied and the floors seem deserted.
The positives? There are some! The views are spectacular; the hotel is right on the lake. Dining on the patio is lovely. If you can open the door to the balcony, you may be able to sit out there and watch the sun set. The room rate is inexpensive. Many of the employees were helpful and apologetic about problems.

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeannie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews