We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Awful!”
Review of Sunset Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kisumu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Kisumu
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simply Awful!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was by far, our worst lodging experience in Kenya. Fortunately, we were there for only one night. Although you can choose meals from a menu, they don't have most of what is listed there. There was a wedding there that night, so we had to sit at an outdoor table, where we waited for over an hour for food that never arrived while being eaten alive by mosquitos. We eventually returned to our rooms, sans dinner, whereupon dinner was delivered to the rooms, mostly not what we ordered, but a mountain of french fries (chips). The rooms were primitive and run down. The toilet seat slid off to the side when sat upon, and the glass in the sliding door was loose from its frame. We overlooked the pool which was filled with green algae water and many children who seemed unconcerned about the water quality. The best part was getting away from here. The staff was apologetic for the meals and provided us with a box lunch that was, surprisingly good. I would never stay here or recommend it to anyone else!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailGarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    20
    4
    11
See reviews for
4
9
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eldoret
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I had stayed at Sunset Hotel many times, years ago, so when my family was visiting last summer and we were passing through Kisumu I thought this would be good place to go -- boy, was I wrong! The waiters had no clue how to describe menu items and what the menu said the dishes were and what they turned out to be were quite different. My niece ordered spagetti bolognese which was totally inedible -- I mean it even smelled bad! My sister ordered onion rings and cheese -- she was brought raw rings of onion and a few pieces of cheese. My nephew ordered french onion soup which was a few pieces of onion in a broth with a some soggy croutons floating on the top. The food took forever to bring, it took forever to get the bill and sorting out the bill was a nightmare!! I will never go back to Sunset again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kisumu hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed at sunset on my way to kakamega from nairobi. The hotel is run down. the service at the restaurant was horrible. we had to wait for so long to be served and the staff were very few. The room was average and run down as well. The corridors were dark with leaking roofs. Lift was not working. For that price you are better off staying at another hotel.

Room Tip: Bargain on the price of the room, if you are on a budget and have to stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The place is conducive and more of a home,i like the hotel and its environment + the swimming pool its so heavenly.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mtaliart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is the oldest hotel in Kisumu City which has since not been renovated for decades. The lift is faulty, take care. The rooms face the lake and command fantastic breeze from the lake but the rooms need a total overhaul. Linen, Bathrooms, Air condition is not in all the rooms, but some. They are yet to recruit another Manager after a frequent Manager turnover.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Victoriasafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I like the tranquility and the serene environs there! I liked the lights but the seats out seems unmaintained. And the service was quite absurd! We had to wait for decades for someone to get our orders! Then we order food but we aren't given options for drinks ...instead the host walks fast even without asking how we want our steak done!medium rare or well-done and then pops up with a well-done which we could not eat! We ask for a steak knife and the whole restaurant has no steak knife! Anyway that host amazed me because he smiled at every visit. This was good and reminded us that we are in a safe place! Anyway its a good place to visiti for some quiet conversations

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vasquez444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Just be prepared for blackouts- we may need to use the stairs but you get fit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annewalsh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kisumu hotels
0.1 mi away
Parkview Safari Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Rock Motel
Rock Motel
#16 of 26 in Kisumu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel Express
Imperial Hotel Express
#6 of 26 in Kisumu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sovereign Hotel
Sovereign Hotel
#4 of 26 in Kisumu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vittoria Suites
Vittoria Suites
#5 of 26 in Kisumu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal City Hotel
Royal City Hotel
#17 of 26 in Kisumu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Property: Sunset Hotel
Address: Impala Lane | Lake Victoria, Kisumu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nyanza Province > Kisumu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Kisumu
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Kisumu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing