We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Renovation”
Review of Sunset Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kisumu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Kisumu
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is the oldest hotel in Kisumu City which has since not been renovated for decades. The lift is faulty, take care. The rooms face the lake and command fantastic breeze from the lake but the rooms need a total overhaul. Linen, Bathrooms, Air condition is not in all the rooms, but some. They are yet to recruit another Manager after a frequent Manager turnover.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Victoriasafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 43 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

I like the tranquility and the serene environs there! I liked the lights but the seats out seems unmaintained. And the service was quite absurd! We had to wait for decades for someone to get our orders! Then we order food but we aren't given options for drinks ...instead the host walks fast even without asking how we want our steak done!medium rare or well-done and then pops up with a well-done which we could not eat! We ask for a steak knife and the whole restaurant has no steak knife! Anyway that host amazed me because he smiled at every visit. This was good and reminded us that we are in a safe place! Anyway its a good place to visiti for some quiet conversations

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vasquez444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Just be prepared for blackouts- we may need to use the stairs but you get fit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annewalsh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Against my better knowledge i took a couple here.Having known tht it was decreipt,in need of renovation and a complete overhaul coupled with the knowledge tht there is no general manager,financial manager,no qualified chef,i did so.Why?Cause they stayed there 30 yrs ago and wanted to relive some memories.They have no generator so no lights,no lifts working.Room was threadbare in every aspect of the word,bathroom facilites leaked and had mould.They inivited me for dinner,which turned into a no show as they didnt have wht we wanted on the menu.So we left had dinner elsewhere and i checked them into the Vic Hotel.It doesnt have the views but its modern,clean,comfotable and convenient for the shopping mall.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Byron78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in february this year. The rooms had big nice looking bed, we went down to the restaurant and the lifts were not working. They told us our room had very good view, but we had to wait for the morning to see the view. When we were eating, there were two big coackroches on the plates. when we went to our rooms, both our friend´s room and ours were flooded, our clothes were socked and when the repair man came, he was asking my husband what he thought the problem was and where he thought the water was coming from, since we had been travelling all day, we just needed to rest, we asked for another room, and they said we try and wait to see if the repair man can fix it, our little 3 old boy was so tied he could barely open his eyes, finally we demanded another room, and the one we were given had abig bucket under the sick, licking. there were no views as the lake is green, not their fault but they shouldnt tell people they will have good views from the rooms if there isnt any view.

Room Tip: Dont go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spaintracyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The Sunset Hotel is old, poorly managed and in urgent need of a major refurb. It has possibly the best location, overlooking Lake Victoria. Fantastic sunsets can be viewed from any room, but the hotel interior is drab, inferior and depressing. It could do so much more!!

During my 2 night stay over Christmas 2010 there was a power cut lasting several hours, driving rain, that flooded the bedroom and a water supply issue.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franc0Sc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I've stayed in quite a few hotels in Kenya and this is one of the better ones. It's great that it is outside of town overlooking Lake Victoria. It's quiet and the staff is friendly, attentive, and available. It's nice that it's located near the Kibuto restaurant at Hippo Bay and the Impala Sanctuary. From reading past reviews, it sounds as if they've always had elevator problems. During my stay, the elevators never worked, making the 5-story building quite a challenge. The staff religiously asserted that they would be fixed "tomorrow". One person even went so far as to say by 3 PM, which I thought was rather innovative.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NKyAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kisumu hotels
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
#2 of 26 in Kisumu
294 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Vic Hotel Kisumu
The Vic Hotel Kisumu
#7 of 26 in Kisumu
105 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shammah Hotel Kisumu
Shammah Hotel Kisumu
#22 of 26 in Kisumu
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel Express
Imperial Hotel Express
#6 of 26 in Kisumu
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sovereign Hotel
Sovereign Hotel
#3 of 26 in Kisumu
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acacia Premier Hotel
Acacia Premier Hotel
#1 of 26 in Kisumu
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Address: Impala Lane | Lake Victoria, Kisumu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nyanza Province > Kisumu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Kisumu
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Kisumu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing