We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
2
6
22
4
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
6
22
4
11
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 45 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I like the tranquility and the serene environs there! I liked the lights but the seats out seems unmaintained. And the service was quite absurd! We had to wait for decades for someone to get our orders! Then we order food but we aren't given options for drinks ...instead the host walks fast even without asking how we want our steak done!medium rare or well-done and then pops up with a well-done which we could not eat! We ask for a steak knife and the whole restaurant has no steak knife! Anyway that host amazed me because he smiled at every visit. This was good and reminded us that we are in a safe place! Anyway its a good place to visiti for some quiet conversations

Date of stay: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vasquez444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Just be prepared for blackouts- we may need to use the stairs but you get fit.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annewalsh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Against my better knowledge i took a couple here.Having known tht it was decreipt,in need of renovation and a complete overhaul coupled with the knowledge tht there is no general manager,financial manager,no qualified chef,i did so.Why?Cause they stayed there 30 yrs ago and wanted to relive some memories.They have no generator so no lights,no lifts working.Room was threadbare in every aspect of the word,bathroom facilites leaked and had mould.They inivited me for dinner,which turned into a no show as they didnt have wht we wanted on the menu.So we left had dinner elsewhere and i checked them into the Vic Hotel.It doesnt have the views but its modern,clean,comfotable and convenient for the shopping mall.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Byron78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in february this year. The rooms had big nice looking bed, we went down to the restaurant and the lifts were not working. They told us our room had very good view, but we had to wait for the morning to see the view. When we were eating, there were two big coackroches on the plates. when we went to our rooms, both our friend´s room and ours were flooded, our clothes were socked and when the repair man came, he was asking my husband what he thought the problem was and where he thought the water was coming from, since we had been travelling all day, we just needed to rest, we asked for another room, and they said we try and wait to see if the repair man can fix it, our little 3 old boy was so tied he could barely open his eyes, finally we demanded another room, and the one we were given had abig bucket under the sick, licking. there were no views as the lake is green, not their fault but they shouldnt tell people they will have good views from the rooms if there isnt any view.

Room tip: Dont go there.
Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spaintracyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The Sunset Hotel is old, poorly managed and in urgent need of a major refurb. It has possibly the best location, overlooking Lake Victoria. Fantastic sunsets can be viewed from any room, but the hotel interior is drab, inferior and depressing. It could do so much more!!

During my 2 night stay over Christmas 2010 there was a power cut lasting several hours, driving rain, that flooded the bedroom and a water supply issue.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franc0Sc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews