We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveler rating
1
6
5
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
6
5
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2017

Bit muddled on the booking and higher price than expected but a lovely staff and atmosphere and pretty good prices for facilities: pool and great restaurant, breakfast pretty good and rooms all fabulous with fully working wifi and aircon.

Room Tip: Balconies overlooking pool courtyard garden
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phelixo, General Manager at Royal City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Dear John,
We sincerely appreciate your staying with us and finding time from your busy schedule to review us. We are particularly happy that you found our staff likable, the atmosphere good and facilities in superb working condition.

We are working to address the issues with the booking that would perhaps have led you to spend more than necessary.

Kindly feel welcome to stay with us again when next you visit Kisumu, Kenya.

Kind regards,

Phelix Owiti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017

Located along Kisumu -Nairobi highway, the hotel is primed in a nice Mall and l has many amazing facilities including, Swimming pool, disco hall,nice hotel rooms and other amenities which can be a wonder if well managed. For the the number of times I have visited the hotel, to have a swim, for lunch or just to relax, the management have never failed to disappoint. Being in a Hotel in a new Mall, you expect the same with its facilities but there is just not much maintenance done.The staff are also rude and unprofessional. And putting bouncers to man the entry to the Pool is not only unwise but also uncalled for...This is an Hotel not a discotheque...

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maycelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017

Given the amount I paid per night (USD 35), i could not have asked for more. The hotel is small, and the environment around is is every quiet, though within a few meters to Kisumu city center. You also get some scene of security while at this small hotel. They have WIFI in the rooms and Flat Screen Tv's. Most of their rooms are small although you get what you pay for. The staffs were friendly, approaching you with a smile all the time and always ready to assist.Kisumu can be quiet hot and humid even at night and my room had a functional fan. I stayed there for 3 nights on while a business trip.....and yes, with regard to local food, they served me one of the best fish I have ever tasted

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamWaweru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phelixo, General Manager at Royal City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2017

Dear Sam,
We believe it is never too late to appreciate the feedback of a valued guest. We are very happy to know that you extremely enjoyed your stay with us. quite environment, friendly staff and best fish are encouraging words indeed. We look forward to build on these positives to continue affording every one of our guests a truly memorable experience. Feel welcome to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Phelix Owiti
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016

The hotel is abit far from the noise and congestion of kisumu town. available transport to the hotelo. Welcoming staff and front office staff. nice and delicius meals. good rooms which are clean and well set. nyce place to be.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _mmtira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016

Royal is small, personal, quiet and charming. Everything is average: location, food, service. Staff are friendly though not all that efficient. The ambiance is good you don't want to get out! I plan to go back and have been recommending few friends ever since.

Room Tip: They play nice rhumba
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews