We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
Nearby Hotels
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Homestay Cottage(Kisumu)(Great Value!)
$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveler rating
122
134
42
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
134
42
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjomo kenyattabusiness hotelair conditioningenjoyed my staybusiness tripbuffet breakfastexcellent hotelfirst floorrooms are cleanlake victoriahot waterwifigymnairobinetschannelscbd
Filter
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 309 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Had to stay overnight yet again after missing our flight to Nairobi. Last time we were booked into a Deluxe room which had been renovated, i.e. flat screen TV, mini fridge and bar,more spacious and comfortable bed, this time around we were put in a Superior room, no frills but comfortable. Pity front desk agent couldn't offer us the Deluxe room cause all deluxe rooms were sold out. Rooms are clean and comfortable but one must insist on the recently refurbished rooms. Also please a decent cake of soap will be appreciated not the tiny Imperial Lather table.

Breakfast is decent, thanks to an elaborate buffet but the cooked breakfast leaves a lot to be desired, couldn't get a decent omelet for the umpteenth time, I guess it means a fried egg to the chef. Service was great and attentive without being intrusive. I hope the F&B will improve on the cooked breakfast.

Otherwise a decent hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The Imperial Hotel is certainly not the worst I have stayed in nor is it antwhere near the best. Having said this, the check in was fast and efficient and all the staff at the hotel were friendly. The rooms are adequate but cannot be described as luxurious in any way and VERY noisy, particularly if it faces the street. I only ate breakfast in the Hotel which was fine and enjoyed a few drinks and snacks at the poolside bar. I feel that the rates are extremely high for what the hotel offered, especially for visitors! One irritating matter was the Internet, which is no longer free for residents, other than for an initial two hour connection. Whilst not expensive at Ksh. 200 per hour, it is the principal of charging for the service when room rates are so high. Would I go back? Yes I would, despite my criticism, but would do so with my eyes wide open!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoggsNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Every time I go to Kisumu I stay at the Imperial and the staff is so pleasant, the food great and the rooms comfortable. However this time I received a wonderful surprise. The standard rooms had new flooring some have hardwood others a fresh tile not carpeting and the bathrooms were so nice with new countertops and a large shower. Also in addition the chef has a new fruit salad with a hint of cinnamon in it that was so tasty. The staff is always accomodating and helpful and if you need to have a small dinner meeting they are quick to arrange and handle the details.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Texmission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Finding a really good business hotel in Kisumu remains something of a challenge and the Imperial Hotel comes closest to ticking the boxes.
Rooms are reasonably sized but those facing on to the main street can be noisy as can those on the 4th floor if there is a party on the 5th! Bathrooms are adequate, albeit a little small.
If you are planning a long stay evening meals in the restaurant become repetitive. Probably the best meal of the day is breakfast.
The pool area and, I believe, some of the rooms are currently being refurbished so don't expect to be able to swim - the pool is simply a tiled hole in the ground. Equally, if you are looking for a hotel with pleasant gardens in which to relax at the end of the day this is not the place to go.
Pack plenty of mossie repellant you are guaranteed some close up encounters.

Room Tip: Book a superior room
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SANDJAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We had two nights' stay in our old "home" town (since 30 years back!). Imperial proved to be a good choice (as recommended by a local friend). The rooms are basic with a/c & nets, and they are clean, bathrooms with tub from 90s and the breakfast buffet is fair. Since the location is excellent, I can recommend it instead of the fading Sunset Hotel on the lakeside.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matias66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guranbirgi, Group ICT Manager at Imperial Hotel Kisumu, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

Thank you for taking time to send your generous review on the trip advisor. We look forward to hosting you once again.

Erokamano
(Thank you in dholuo - native ethinic dialect in Kisumu )

Guran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews