We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for flavorful in Kenya..”
Review of Haandi - CLOSED

Haandi
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Punjabi Indian restaurant in the downtown Nakumatt mall
Northwest
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you're looking for flavorful in Kenya..”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place was highly recommended to us by some other Americans. Food is delicious and flavorful which is hard to find in Kenya. Would recommend the coconut curry fish or any fish dish for that matter. Service is superb and quick! We've ate here a few times and we only stayed in Kisumu for a few days. Our friends have even ate there twice in one day! The kitchen is immaculate and it is ran by Punjabi's Indians so you know you're getting the real deal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cocopebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kisumu, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Haandi Food”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great food, reasonable prices and a lot of space. Usually fairly empty but a nice quiet spot to have a quality Indian meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Josh801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town. Thanks God Kisumu has this restaurant!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Lovely food in the heart of Kisumu. Thanks God he brought Haandi to Kisumu! Very tasty food, Nice staff.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wim_Nairobi_Kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“WOW.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Thats the only word for it! This place surpassed all my expectations! I don't normally eat Indian food, but I loved everything about this place. The atmosphere, the service, and of course the food! If you are in or around the Kisumu area and don't go here you are definitely missing out on an amazing culinary experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Haandi's serves up an extensive list of tasty Indian dishes at a reasonable price. The food is hot, delicious and at around US$6 for a vegetarian dish, not too expensive by Western standards (though it is for Kenya). When I went, I found a mix of Kenyan, Indian, and Western people all happily eating. For drinks, I'd also recommend purchasing a bottle of water beforehand at the nearby grocery store (in the same complex) beforehand to avoid the extra charge. For those looking for the Sunday lunch buffet, it no longer exists.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliciaMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi also viewed

Kisumu, Nyanza Province
 
Kisumu, Nyanza Province
Kisumu, Nyanza Province
 
Kisumu, Nyanza Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing