We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap clean and fun place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kisumu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Duke of Breeze Hotel
Ranked #16 of 54 Kisumu B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed here as a family for 4 nights Xmas 2011 Its basic but central clean large airy rooms with hot showers and as all the other reviews say the roof top bar makes it the place for a drink in central Kisumu. Wycliff is a great host at this bar and all the other staff were also very friendly and helpful
Wycliff can direct you to the music scene in town

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMotherof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 70 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2011

Excellent value for your money, room rates include breakfast, but you can get a lower rate without breakfast. Rooms have single or double beds, with bathrooms en-suite that have western toilet and hot shower. Long-term stay rooms are also available. Roof-top bar is excellent, food is great (I recommend the fajitas and pasta), drinks are pricey by Kisumu standards but for cheaper drinks you can go to the second floor bar. Integritours also has its office in the lobby and they are a great company for day and multi day trips in Western Kenya. Make sure and secure your belongings (break-ins have happened), there is a box in the rooms that should be bolted in the closet, but you'll need your own lock, otherwise valuables can be stored at the front desk (be sure to get a receipt).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceboyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Don't expect the Intercontinental Hotel in Kisumu. But by Kisumu standards, the Duke is good. We had a little trouble with the circuit breaker for the hot water a couple of times. And the front desk staff didn't know how to solve the problem, opting to make us wait until the morning when the engineer came on duty.
And if you're staying several nights, you have to TELL them to make up the room. I'm happy with using the same sheets, but I was puzzled that I needed to request having the room made up.
So with all this grumbling, why "very good" rating? The rooftop bar! Free Wi-Fi, great breezes. If staying over a Saturday night, get a room not adjacent to the courtyard or the DJ's cacophony will keep you awake. That's a good point: opt for a room on the alley or side street rather than facing over to the main street.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Kitcat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

This is one of the places I would like to stay in while visiting Kisumu. The staff there are not there to not only serve you but to make friends and make you feel at home too! Their rooms are the most spacious and I noticed the repairs and innovations that makes it of great value! The food is great but I think they lack variety. Because there are only five maincourses in the dinner menu and too much sandwich for lunch!in spite the brief menu, the food is excellent and cocktails are superb. Plus free internet and full B&B...cool lights and perfect view of Kisumu all rocks at the roof.don't forget to try their kenyan dishes at sports ba

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vasquez444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

The best and only trendy bar in Kisumu, great cocktails, good selection of Kenyan beers and excellent lunch & dinner.
With the free wireless internet, view on the lake and friendly staff, this is also my favorite office space!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AloisNicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Recently I stayed in The Duke of Breeze hotel in Kisumu, Kenya, for a period of almost three weeks.
The Duke of Breeze is a budget hotel with good facilities. The room fulfilled my expectations. Plain but good and safe. The electrical heated shower was nice and hot and the room was cleaned every day.
There are two bars/ restaurants. Firstly there is the Sports bar with two wide screens televisions for watching the big football matches in Europe and Africa together with “connoisseurs”.
The second is the trendy Rooftop bar on the 4th Floor from where you have a nice few over Kisumu. You can spot the sunset over Lake Victoria and on the roof there is always a cool breeze.
With free WI-FI, cold gold beers, fancy cocktails and good meals it was always a pleasure to be there.
The staff in The Duke of Breeze is very friendly and helpful.
There is a cultural evening in the Rooftop bar every Wednesday where you can enjoy a 'cultural' menu for a special price. These events should not be missed when you are staying in the Duke or elsewhere in Kisumu.
All the above made my stay in The Duke of Breeze a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GWvV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

I stayed in the Duke of Breeze for two nights in December 2010. The hotel is basic, and so are the rates. The rooms are simple but clean. The main attraction of the hotel is the rooftop bar which has great views over Lake Victoria. It serves excellent food and attracts a mostly affluent clientele. It gets quite busy on Friday and Saturday evening. There is free wireless internet on the rooftop bar. Service was excellent with very switched on staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kisumu hotels
0.9 mi away
Sovereign Hotel
Sovereign Hotel
#3 of 26 in Kisumu
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acacia Premier Hotel
Acacia Premier Hotel
#1 of 26 in Kisumu
191 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Homeland
Hotel Homeland
#17 of 54 in Kisumu
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal City Hotel
Royal City Hotel
#16 of 26 in Kisumu
15 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vittoria Suites
Vittoria Suites
#5 of 26 in Kisumu
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
#2 of 26 in Kisumu
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Breeze Hotel

Address: Off Kenyatta Avenue next to Yatin Supermarket | Kisumu Central Business District, Kisumu 40100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nyanza Province > Kisumu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Kisumu
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Breeze Hotel offers clean, spacious and affordable accommodation in the heart of Kisumu town. Sports bar with DStv and Rooftop bar with Free high speed internet. Local and international dishes available at sports bar and Rooftop bar. As part of our Corporate Social Responsibility: The Duke of Breeze is proudly associated with the Ujima Foundation. An NGO since 1999, Ujima Foundation is empowering young orphans to take control over their own lives. "The best support is self support" is their slogan. Most of our staff are graduates from Ujima Foundation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing