We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Lakeside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge
Ranked #12 of 47 Kisumu B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay at the Lakeside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I called in the hotel at the last minute and for sure they reserved a room for me even though I did not pay upfront and had to wait till I got there. Their rooms are very clean and the site is magnificent especially the pool area at night. The bar area is well thought of. The only thing I found disappointing, was the food both dinner and breakfast, they need alot of improvements in that area, probably even get a Chef.

Room Tip: There are two Le savanna. The Milimani one is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Primrose118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
6
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Am travel operator,and i do organize accommodation for my clients from outside the country.To tell you the truth,this is the best hotel you can find in kisumu town.am planning to visit there during the month of august,hope the atmosphere will be the same as before.travel and have fun......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odera431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Was looking for a place to stay while in Kisumu and looked up on Trip Advisor to find Le Savanna being ranked as the 1st in Kisumu. I decided to try it out with my boyfriend. On arriving at the venue at 4 am, we were quite surprised to find that they had reserved a room for us which was ready and since we were so tired from our journey, we were thankful for the express check in.
They have beautiful grounds which offers so much opportunity for outside dining options. The swimming pool was the best I have seen in Kisumu by far and was quite impressed. Their rooms are very clean and everything seemed to work even the hot showers! Was pleasantly surprised in the evening when they provided fresh towels and replaced amenities used like water and soap though would have preferred to use the same soap due to cost control.
The only disadvantage they have is their F&B product. For such a beautiful property, I found their breakfast to be quite average...not a wow factor and nothing motivated us to have lunch or dinner in their restaurant.
We tried their room service which was quite ok, we had French fries and chicken in a basket. Their French fries are the best!
Though we only stayed for one night, my boyfriend and I wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy their surrounding and property.
Thank you once again, we shall be back soon to sample your pool!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fwawesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have been staying at Le Savanna for 6 years now. The rooms are clean, the air condtioning works well as does the wifi on the terrace. Frankly we come over from KMET to use it once in a while. The staff is very friendly.
The breakfast is average, eggs, toast, sausage, fruits, beans. If you want brewed coffee you must ask for it in a press.
Dinner can be a bit dicey since the service is not great. Sitting on the terrace with all the time in the world, it's fine. But if you're really hungry you've got to be firm with the staff. I will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been staying at Le Savanna for several years. It is close to where I work when in Kisumu. The staff is lovely, the rooms are clean, their wifi works as long as they have electricity, and it's air conditioned. The food is adequate, and service can be very slow if you are eating on the patio. If you are drinking on the patio it's no problem.
Breakfast is included in your room and is good. It is held in the dining room below. Get there on the earlier side of breakfast. Coffee is the only difficult thing. They don't drink coffee, so if they bring it to you in a press it's still Nescafe.
Safety is not an issue. I would suggest if you have valuables you do give them to the desk to lock up just because it's a good idea. But as an older muzungu I have always felt safe and welcome and do not worry about who is staying in the room next to me.

Room Tip: There is no lift so you will be walking. Try and get a room on the other side of the patio because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbgcitykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I did not have high expectations for lodging in Kisumu, but this place was terrific. A former mansion that had fallen into disrepair has been carefully updated. The grounds surrounding the mansion are luscious, and tables with umbrellas are set up around the grounds where you can take meals or drinks.

I stayed in a small new unit outside of the mansion. The rooms were clean, spacious, and had nice features like wrap around mosquito nets, halogen lighting, a small TV, and a serviceable shower with plenty of hot water. Nice new a/c. The rooms were a bit noisy - the ones away from the lake (i believe the north side) bordered on a small house with a constantly barking dog in the lot - and the doors were heavy and when slammed reverberated through the corridor.

The staff were terrific, and the food was quite nice, especially when taken beside the lovely pool.

Room Tip: In new "extension" unit, consider a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugdocsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Le Savanna Country Hotel is clean, beautiful, well constructed, locally owned, and an overall pleasant place to stay in Kisumu. The drivers and staff are local, pleasant, and helpful. The cooks have a great menu selection, and are willing to go out of their way to meet your dietary needs. This hotel also has the best pool in town - it has a special filtration system and is so clean that you can practically drink the water (and I would not say that for any other pool in all of Africa.) This is a safe place for any westerner to stay, while still interacting daily with locals that stay at the hotel. Le Savanna often has western guests and understand their needs. I stayed here as a single white woman, and had no problems. They have rooms for short and long-term stays. In fact, one of the buildings has a full apartment set-up.
One of the best parts of staying here is that Le Savannah is part of a chain of 3 hotels whose purpose is to support a local charity. The first is Le Savannah, the second Dewchurch Hotel (just a few short blocks away) and the third Las Iguanas (located outside of town). These hotels were developed to generate income for OGRA Foundation, a local, indigenous, upcoming NGO who supports health and education programming for women and children in and around Kisumu. In short, your stay at Le Savanna ensures children in the area are healthy and go to school with full stomachs, and women and babies receive pre and post natal care for long-term health, and young people learn about sexual health and HIV prevention.
Staying at Le Savanna is a win-win: a beautiful and safe place to stay for a great cause.

Room Tip: The bed nets are custom-made and do not have insecticide. I recommend spraying them down with deet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Serena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kisumu hotels
0.0 mi away
Sovereign Hotel
Sovereign Hotel
#4 of 26 in Kisumu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acacia Premier Hotel
Acacia Premier Hotel
#2 of 26 in Kisumu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel Express
Imperial Hotel Express
#6 of 26 in Kisumu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vittoria Suites
Vittoria Suites
#5 of 26 in Kisumu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
#1 of 26 in Kisumu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pinecone Hotel
Pinecone Hotel
#7 of 26 in Kisumu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge

Property: Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge
Address: Robert Ouko estate, Kisumu 3050, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nyanza Province > Kisumu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Kisumu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge® is a striking piece of architecture, a converted merchants house with attractive walled gardens and a 12 meter swimming pool, bar and outside restaurant. The hotel is on the outskirts of Kisumu town, home to 200 NGO offices and Kenya’s third city, the only UN appointed Millennium city in Africa and is situated between the middle class residential estates of USAID and Robert Ouko Estate.At Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge® our professional and friendly staff are dedicated to excellence to ensure a memorable experience.Le Savanna is 7 minutes away from the airport we have our own dedicated transport service, and 5 minutes away from the main high street.There is a dedicated conference facility that can accommodate up to a hundred delegates.Excellent security with an entirely walled garden and electric fencing and good business facilities that includes free high speed internet is complemented by air conditioning in all rooms. Kisumu can get very hot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Savanna Country Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Savanna Country Hotel Kisumu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing