We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome santuary”
Review of Kiboko Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kisumu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiboko Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Kisumu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

A group of colleagues and I enjoyed a weekend stay here during a trip to the Kisumu region. The staff are formal, but welcoming on the whole. The quality of service was excellent. Rooms are thatched, safari style tents, but luxurious, and highly recommended. The views over Lake Victoria are stunning. The surrounding area reflects the location, so the road leading to the resort is unmade. Well served by taxis.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Headmansmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nirmal D, Owner at Kiboko Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing Kiboko Bay Resort and our gratitude for your kind words, we appreciate the rationality you have attached to the road leading to the resort and wish more people would understand that the road to paradise is not always smooth but genuinely accessible.
We thank you for recommending our facilities and look forward to give you a warm welcome.
Thanks and best regards,
Nirmal Darbar,
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 178 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed at Kiboko Bay Resort for 3 nights and had a great time. The staff was very friendly and helpful, food was excellent (especially fish curry and family-style Kenyan food), and it was exciting (if a little scary) to wake up in the middle of the night to the sound of hippos munching grass right outside my window. I took a very interesting boat ride while I was there,and also enjoyed the sunsets and the pool. The room was comfortable and very clean. Food was very reasonably priced by US standards. Service was not all that fast for meals, but it did not bother me -- just part of the relaxed and relaxing atmosphere. If I come back to Kisumu, I definitely will stay there again.

Room Tip: #9 was good for seeing hippos in the middle of the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nirmal D, Owner at Kiboko Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review Kiboko Bay Resort, your encouraging words and the lovely description of Kiboko Bay Resort is sincerely appreciated.
Thank you for recommending Kiboko Bay Resort and assuring you of prompt food and beverage service, we look forward to warmly welcome you again and again.
Best regards,
Nirmal Darbar,
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My Husband and I thought it would be nice to have lunch at the Kiboko Bay, he had been there before with his business partners and really liked the food. On arrival, the guard stopped us and said "you cant go in with that", pointing at a 500ml water bottle my husband was carrying. No greeting, no welcome. Previously my husband and his business partners walked in, bottle of water in hand without any hustle. They were Americans, we are Kenyans. We asked for the manager, he was not in, the receptionist was not of much help, she called out for a lady I think the head waiter or something. She rudely informed us that it was hotel policy and if we didn't like it we should leave. We left, discovered the Impala Eco bay resort, lovely place, had a great lunch served by very friendly staff and no they were not bothered by the bottle of water.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Cherotich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nirmal D, Owner at Kiboko Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review Kiboko Bay Resort.
Though we celebrate every positive review, we are also grateful for your review which makes us realize that we have to work better. We do acknowledge that Kiboko Bay Resort does have a policy of not allowing in food or drinks from outside which is a common and basic hospitality business policy.
At Kiboko Bay Resort it is our fervent desire that the spirit of the policy is applied, rather than the letter. We also wish that being a visitor to Kisumu, if you had chosen Kiboko Bay Resort as your choice of residence, you would have realized that Kiboko Bay Resort is not a restricted facility and is accessible and welcoming to the local community and both domestic and international tourists.
I apologize on behalf of my whole team and assure you that though our policies will be consistent, we will strive to apply them in the spirit of Hospitality and Good Manners.
We do take your review seriously and implore you that "one swallow doesn't make a summer" and with all regards to your better judgement, that you visit us again and have the time and opportunity to review Kiboko Bay Resort again.
Thanking you.
Nirmal Darbar,
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

While is Kisumu is not a major tourist destination, it is a regional hub of commerce and an interesting destination in and of itself. There are just enough transport, hotel & restaurant options to make visting a pleasure for business or leisure.
Kisumu is not a city for walking, so the dirt road access to Kiboko Bay is offset by the fact that you will need a taxi or car anyway to get to most destinations.
The accomodations are both comfortable and memorable, but the friendly and accomodating staff are the primary reason to stay at Kiboko Bay (example: daily laundry service is included, so it is OK to pack light for your visit).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry_Posner_III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nirmal D, Owner at Kiboko Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for devoting your valuable time to review Kiboko Bay Resort, I have shared your kind words with my crew and its a great pleasure for us that your stay was pleasant and comfortable.
My staff and I look forward to warmly welcome you again.
Nirmal Darbar,
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Brilliant setting, nice set-up, unique environment. The rooms are very comfortable and natural (no TV), relaxing. If it rains, it is even better as you feel like you are outside (because of the tent) but not getting wet!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alif Abdulla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

When I first came to Kiboko Bay in a tuk-tuk, I thought the driver must be confused - I was going to a resort and we appeared to be driving through a slum. However, once we arrived, I couldn't not have been more surprised. The resort is beautiful, and the tent accommodations are amazing - hearing the hippos graze by your doorstep early in the morning is an added bonus. It was one of the best trips I have made in Kenya. The food was delicious, although a bit expensive. All staff were welcoming and incredibly helpful. It is a bit inconvenient if you are hoping to frequent Kisumu town, because getting a tuk-tuk to come fetch you at the resort can take a while, but it's so nice to get away from the noise and chaos here in the evenings. The pool is pretty run down, but still a welcome oasis during the heat of the day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAdhiambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nirmal D, Owner at Kiboko Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing Kiboko Bay Resort and writing about your experience. The kind words in your pleasant review are a source of encouragement for us. I am sure your review will motivate our staff to further improve their efforts in serving our esteemed guests.
Thank you and best regards,
Nirmal Darbar,
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The food, ambience and atmosphere in the restaurant are superb! We go here to eat whenever we have a special occasion to celebrate. It isn't the cheapest, but it is money well spent.

As for the pool area, it is a little tired and in need of sprucing up. Also, be careful, if you are not a guest of the hotel you will be charged for the use of sun beds - even if you have used other facilities, such as the restaurant, which is a little disappointing.

We have never stayed in the accommodation but have looked around - personally, I wouldn't pay the kind of prices they are asking. We have stayed at better and less expensive places in the hugely popular resort of Mombassa.

But, if you want good food in a good environment, you wont find better in Kisumu!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kisumu hotels
1.7 mi away
Acacia Premier Hotel
Acacia Premier Hotel
#1 of 26 in Kisumu
192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sovereign Hotel
Sovereign Hotel
#3 of 26 in Kisumu
140 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Vic Hotel Kisumu
The Vic Hotel Kisumu
#7 of 26 in Kisumu
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
#2 of 26 in Kisumu
295 reviews
2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Express
Imperial Hotel Express
#6 of 26 in Kisumu
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vittoria Suites
Vittoria Suites
#5 of 26 in Kisumu
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiboko Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiboko Bay Resort

Address: P.O. Box 2111, Kisumu 40100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nyanza Province > Kisumu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Kisumu
Price Range: $120 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiboko Bay Resort is undoubtedly a small piece of heaven in Kisumu.Located on the shores of the mighty Lake Victoria, this luxury resort is only 20 minutes from the airport and jogging distance from the city centre.The resort has 10 luxury accommodations. Hosting a first class bar and restaurant coupled with impeccable service and a breath taking location, Kiboko Bay Resort is a must visit and stay destination in Kisumu.At Kiboko Bay Resort, you will experience a honest Kisumu baring its soul. We do not put our guests in a bubble, we allow them to experience the local sights and sounds in its entirety, be it a pod of grazing hippos or fishermen grasping their nets of destiny, you will experience the character and culture,"up, close and personal."Though we promise you unbridled nature, boat trips into the wetlands and fresh water mangrove forest, hundreds of birds and hippos, and as we try to create more jobs in the local community we also give you the Real Kisumu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kiboko Bay Hotel Kisumu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing