We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place on balance”
Review of Kiboko Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kisumu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiboko Bay Resort
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kisumu
Certificate of Excellence
sao paolo
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A good place on balance”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is located at the end of a fairly long drive down a bad road on the south side of the city. It's a picturesque location and you'll feel that the drive is worth it when you get there.

I'd try and avoid staying on a Friday night unless you have ear plugs (you're sleeping in a tent after all), and I'd definitely bring an eye patch and plenty mozzie repellent. The rooms have great mozzie deterrents and it's unlikely you'll get one in the room but outside is another matter.... They are determined in this part of Kenya and can bite through shirts.

The room has a really comfortable bed with nice sheets. My shower took ages to warm up but did produce warm enough water in the end. The staff are great and the food is above average.

Room Tip: They all look pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rexlombardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    73
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
45
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at Kiboko Bay for one night on our way to Kampala. We arrived early evening and left the next morning at the break of dawn so I didn't get to experience as much of Kiboko Bay as I would have liked. I was able to stroll the grounds and I really wish we could have stayed longer at this unexpected gem.

We've stayed in many tented accomodations in Kenya and these were definitely some of the nicest. The tents were very roomy, I loved the homy wooden floors, and the bathrooms were what you would find in any hotel - great shower.

We had a great dinner in the restaurant, the Indian dishes were fantastic. We even noticed some of the locals who were there just to eat at the resort resaurant...a very good sign.

The staff was extremely nice and accomodating. Our room included breakfast, but since we were leaving so early they offered to box our for us and had it ready first thing in the morning.

Kisumu is a town with very limited choices for places to stay, do yourself a favor and stay here...you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't be put-off by the road leading to the resort, we were getting a little nervous driving up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arkansas_Traveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Having visited the Sarova lodges in the national parks in 2011, we were very curious what the western region of Kenya had to offer. Being on the bumpy road leading to the lodge, you're really wondering: where is this leading to ? But once you're settled in (we stayed in the large appartment in the back of the lodge for 3 nights), you feel surprised by the serenity of being so close to Lake Victoria. Though small scale the lodge offers everything you could wish for, even a swimming pool. The personnel is very friendly and the food is great ! Having dinner and breakfast so close to this famous lake with its stunning views really puts you at ease. Perhaps with the exception of this American guy, who was relally close to the lake at night and was really surprised by a hippo popping up from under the water hyacinths !
A boattrip across the lake with a very knowledgeable guide certainly is something you won't want to miss out on. Furthermore, a visit to Impala Sanctuary, which is very nearby, is certainly worth your while. Would certainly recommned this lodge to people staying in Kisumu.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Johan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Kiboko Bay Resort is lovely, albeit a bit expensive. The views of the lake are stunning and you can use the pool and restaurant on site, which is good because the resort is a bit out of the way.

The service is flawless and the food is decent. My only complaint would be that it is all a bit expensive, but if you aren't a budget traveler it's probably the nicest place to stay in Kisumu at the moment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissTravelFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Bilt, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This resort is on the end of a dusty alley halfway Kisumu and Dunga (a fishermen's village). About 10 tented rooms and one apartment around a nice garden with pool. We four booked the apartment and this was a good choice. Spacious, with a little kitchen and a great bathroom.
The pool is nice, the (Indian) food great, but the main attraction are the nightly visits form Hippo's to the garden. Don't be surprised to see (and hear!) a small family of these giant animals grazing to the garden at night.
The resort is a bit further away from downtown, but when traveling as a family this place makes a good retreat in Kisumu.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdTum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I loved the layout of this little resort! The tent style accommodations were very nice and the beds extremely comfortable!
The management was also amazing, we had gotten stuck in Kisumu for the night and the managers at their sister hotel (The Vic Hotel) provided us with free transport to Kiboko Bay and helped us get settled in and even gave us the Kenyan Resident rate!
The location was also amazing, right on Lake Victoria with Hippos wandering about the grounds it was quite the experience!
The restaurant also has an great dinner menu with many features of fresh fish from the lake (I'm a vegetarian but my travel companions loved it). I highly recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Kisumu!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed just outside of kisumu for just under 6 months and got to know the area quite well. Kiboko Bay Resort was a beautiful little getaway from the hustle and bustle. It's about a 15 - 20 minute bumpy (!!!) tuk tuk ride (around 200ksh) from town, however is worth it all! It has a beautiful view of lake victoria which can be admired whilst sun baking and drinking a cocktail - bliss! on the down side.. the food was only okay (nothing special for the prices being paid) and the service was also average.All in all if your looking for an afternoon to getaway, this is the place, however if your only in kenya for a short time i recommend you go into the centre of kisumu!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dudiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kisumu hotels
2.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
#2 of 26 in Kisumu
278 reviews
1.7 mi away
Acacia Premier Hotel
Acacia Premier Hotel
#1 of 26 in Kisumu
167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sovereign Hotel
Sovereign Hotel
#4 of 26 in Kisumu
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vittoria Suites
Vittoria Suites
#6 of 26 in Kisumu
102 reviews
2.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel Express
Imperial Hotel Express
#5 of 26 in Kisumu
129 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pinecone Hotel
Pinecone Hotel
#7 of 26 in Kisumu
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiboko Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiboko Bay Resort

Property: Kiboko Bay Resort
Address: P.O. Box 2111, Kisumu 40100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nyanza Province > Kisumu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kisumu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiboko Bay Resort is undoubtedly a small piece of heaven in Kisumu.Located on the shores of the mighty Lake Victoria, this luxury resort is only 20 minutes from the airport and jogging distance from the city centre.The resort has 10 luxury accommodations. Hosting a first class bar and restaurant coupled with impeccable service and a breath taking location, Kiboko Bay Resort is a must visit and stay destination in Kisumu.At Kiboko Bay Resort, you will experience a honest Kisumu baring its soul. We do not put our guests in a bubble, we allow them to experience the local sights and sounds in its entirety, be it a pod of grazing hippos or fishermen grasping their nets of destiny, you will experience the character and culture,"up, close and personal."Though we promise you unbridled nature, boat trips into the wetlands and fresh water mangrove forest, hundreds of birds and hippos, and as we try to create more jobs in the local community we also give you the Real Kisumu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kiboko Bay Hotel Kisumu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing