We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Reserve Safari and Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kikambala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Reserve Safari and Beach Club
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kikambala
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

The whole site where the Royal Reserve is located was amazing. It was calm, peaceful and the perfect place for us to relax. The swimming pool was clean and very big, well maintained. The room was very large and clean, almost like a holiday house with a nice living room, kitchen and bedrooms and bathrooms. Enough space for four of us and a fold down bed in case there was another. Balcony was a nice place to relax. I went in June/July so it was really hot and this hotel was the best place to be in Kenya at that time. The workers at the hotel were very friendly and good to talk to. There was a decent gym and sauna, and good sports facilities such as tennis and volleyball. The restaurant and nightly entertainment at the hotel was really good too. The beach was alright, full of rocks but was okay to walk on. And the welcome we got at the hotel reception made us feel like royalty. There was also a mini market on site for groceries.

Only downside was too many lizards and I saw one in the safe, which was shocking and nasty! And one in the room. But it's Kenya eh?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazpar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    72
    28
    7
    13
See reviews for
61
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

This was our first time to Kenya, so didn't really know what to expect! We booked all of our trips through a very helpful Kenyan travel man who has a small business booking trips, he was excellent as he drove us everywhere and took us to the local restaurants, as we didn't want to eat in at the hotel as the food was rubbish! We have to recommend that you try the Kingfisher, Maradadi, the cave resturant in dianni beach and the floating restaurant in the creek as these were excellent
There are 2 pools one more quieter on the beach side and another one on the main campus, which came in useful as we took our two 15 year old daughters there and they made friends easily as there is entertainment and volleyball, and also a swim up bar.

The room that we stayed in was spacious, air conditioned, good balconys overlooking either the beach or the pool.

The staff we're extremely friendly, and always stopped to talk to you, especially the towel guys;)

We were disappointing with the food, we went for breakfast once, there wasnt a large range and there wasn't any of the things you would expect, so we found it better to eat in our room with food brought from the on site shop. We didn't even try going there for lunch or diner!

The nighttime entertainment - there is a variety, although we didn't see much as we were always eating out. we did see an acrobatic show from a local group which was spectacular.

On the beach front of the hotel, you can see dozens of 'beach boys' waiting to try and sell you goods, however there is a security guard to ensure no one is harrased and they dont get into the resort. This could be worrying if you have younger children as they can be abit loud. The beach doesnt have alot going on apart from beach walks round by the limited coral reef. There is also horse riding along the beach, which our tour guide arranged for us.

The hotel trips are much more expesive so i advise you book it through the local kenyan travel people like we did.

Hope this helps

Room Tip: We advise to go higher floors, if you have children they might enjoy it more if you have a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in March 2012 for 2 weeks. The resort is very clean and tidy and the staff cannot do enough for you. We had a 2 bed apartment and this was very spacious, well equipped and had lots of character. The balcony was huge and the air con worked well. The food in the restaurant was very good and good value for money.

The trips from the hotel were over priced and you can get the same trips by doing business with the beach boys for a lot less money. We found Frank and Julius on the beach who arranged several trips and a safari for us. The boys are very friendly and trustworthy and they are licenced. You will find them at Karbo Tours and the office is on the beach. We did a 3 day safari, Mombasa city tour, Haller park and a reef walk and all were excellent. They even took us to the local supermarket and cash point for no extra charge.

All in all a very good holiday!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

You Have to remember that you are in East Africa. We stayed in the hotel for 2 weeks with a four day safari in the first week which was fabulous and organised for us by Julius K. Nzumbi of J.T(JULIUS TACT SAFARIS) jtsafaris@yahoo.com. The time we spent in the hotel was very pleasant, we preferred the pool by the beach as there was always a breeze and it was generally children free. The prices of the food were not to disimilar to the UK we noticed this even in the supermarkets. The evening meals were very reasonably priced around 1500Ks for 3 courses approx £12 the hotel staff are very friendly and obliging nothing seemed to be to much trouble. The boys on the beach were not a bother to us in fact I went round the local villages with them and built up quite a rappour with most of themespecially Patrick Fish and George, in all my holiday experience of this part of Africa and the people I came in contact with was excellent and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask the driver who brings you in to call at the supermarket shop on site is limited and expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks at Royal Reserve and had a fantastic time. The hotel is comfortable, clean, well equipped and welcoming.
You do have to remember that you are on the East African coast not in a western city, so the infrastructure can look a little tired and the power drops out regularly. However, the generator kicks in quickly and the staff do their best to keep everything as ship shape as possible, especially the grounds which are a lush and green oasis.
On the way to the hotel it is easy to be put off by the extremes of mud huts and electric fences. Most of the people here are very poor, and the rich ones go to extremes to protect what they have - this was all part of the experience for us. If you feel the same, try and spend some time with the local people, easily arranged through your tour contact.
The hard sell for safaris and tours from both Simon at the hotel and the beach boys can be overwhelming. We overcame that in 2 ways:
1. We made contact by email with Kikambala Tours and Safaris (Via Google) who arranged our transfers and subsequently did us some great deals on our safari and various excursions. (Just over half the standard hotel price)
2. We were friendly and chatty with everyone but made it clear that we had arrangements in hand with a supplier we were already in contact with.

The hotel food is very good and quite good value. We had mixed results on meals out. Like some other reviewers we enjoyed the Maridadi and the Moorings, but our favourite was La Marina, who will send their transport to collect you and take you back. The food, service and setting were fabulous, a little more expensive, but worth it in our opinion.
The Kingfisher is the only bar/restaurant within a short walk, the food was poor quality, but the setting is great (in a lush green "Glade") making it a nice place to have a drink. However, insect repellent is a must and take a torch!
Taking a small torch is a good idea anyway, with the power cuts, lack of lighting outside the hotel and reading menu's in candlelight!
We thoroughly enjoyed our safari and various tours including snorkelling on the reef and a day on another beach, but trips are so personal you need to make up your own mind which ones you fancy. The only thing I would say is to trust the locals to look after you, but do negotiate a deal, and certainly don't be bulldozed in to booking through the hotel. It can be daunting parting with money to complete strangers, which is why we went for Kikambala Tours and Safaris, as they have an office next to the hotel. Also just pay a deposit with balance due on the trip itself.

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach side is quieter with sea views, but the other side has the better pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Culys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

The rooms are very spacious, very well appointed and very clean.
The staff is very nice, very considerate, very caring for customers.

Great people.

The Beach Boys are boys really unusual.
Do not be afraid, they do not want to rob you, they just want to earn a decent living.
If you trust them, they can organize for you unforgettable excursions, at lower cost compared to others with the same insurance and under the same conditions (the price difference is only had to because their commissions are less high).
They can teach you much about their country, their way of life, mentality, ....
These are boys who are full of love for their neighbors and that will make you an unforgettable holiday.
A big thanks to Anthony, Bob Marley, Adam and Simon

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schwaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed for 8 days on an RCI exchange. On three of those days I went on safari so only really stayed 5 nights.

I was based in the "old" part of the complex. The apartment was pretty good, it had everything one would need. When I was shown to the apartment I pointed out a lizard on the wall expecting the member of staff to shoo it out the door. Instead he battered it to pieces with a broom.

The pool in my part of the complex was pretty busy as it was a local holiday and it was constantly in use by people playing organised games of volleyball and water polo. It was extremely noisy and upset some of the older customers.

The beach is spectacular but is inhabited by the "beach boys". You can't go on the beach without them trying to sell you something. One tried to sell me his sister! Although I was always polite to them they were very insistent and took a long time to leave you alone, of course that meant another one approaches.

Its a real shame as the beach is massive and pristine white.

The bars are nice but close early, there's a pool table at the beach bar.

Food is good and service is a little formal.

The onsite shop is basic and expensive.

The internet connection didn't work most of the time and when it did it was worse than dial-up.

The staff try hard and are very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hopstepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kikambala
0.0 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jumuia Conference & Beach Resort, Kanamai
0.0 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#8 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beaumont Resort
Beaumont Resort
#3 of 3 in Mtwapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Reserve Safari and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Reserve Safari and Beach Club

Property: Royal Reserve Safari and Beach Club
Address: kanamai rd, Kikambala, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Kikambala
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kikambala
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Royal Reserve Safari And Beach Club Hotel Kikambala
Royal Reserve Safari And Beach Club Kenya/Kikambala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing