We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel unchanged from Days of British Rule in Kenya”
Review of Tea Hotel, Kericho

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kericho
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tea Hotel, Kericho
Ranked #2 of 20 Kericho B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 24, 2012

For Africa, this is a great hotel. You have to understand though, that not much has been done to it in 40 years. The rooms are quirky, but clean. Security is good. The curry buffet does not compare to big city North American curry houses, but is excellent for Africa. The small bar is the best part. Just like "Casablanca". Great fun. Don't forget to negotiate your rate when booking or arriving without a reservation, but be polite and kind. Laundry service is the best. Power comes and goes but that is Africa. The bar in the dark is fun though. Relax, it is far from perfect or North America standards, but it is an adventure. 2 days is pleanty.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hugh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

Extremely run down and in need of repair. Rooms feel 30 years old, water is a problem and the TVs hardly work. I would give it two stars but the price is reasonable for the condition and the grounds are much better kept than the hotel itself. It is just about acceptable for a night. The resturant is the same; just about acceptable for a night.

We stayed in the main building. 10 years ago the cottages were nicer but have too suffered from lack of basic maintainance.

Room Tip: Check out both cottages and main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This hotel was once the premium place to stay in Kericho but now is a sad shadow of its former self.
There was a power cut when we checked in at noon and the electricity didn't come on till 6 pm(apparently they did not want to use their generator).
We stayed in an upstrairs room on the main building overlooking the gardens. Although clean, the funiture was old and tatty; the hot water pressure in the shower a trickle!
The service in the resturant was glacial - 15 mins for the menu, another 15 for the drinks and another 15 tor the food!
The tea for which this place was reknown was awful, the cakes stale.
The roof tiles of the main building were dislodged here and there; the roof gutters so heavy with uncleared leaves that they bowed dangerously. The water in the swimming pool was so cloudy that the bottom could not be seen.
This place is ok for a drink (if you have the time) to enjoy the gardens but thats about it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EagleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rein K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kericho hotels
0.0 mi away
Sahara Gardens
Sahara Gardens
#1 of 3 in Kericho
3 reviews
30.3 mi away
Sunshine Hotel Limited
Sunshine Hotel Limited
#4 of 20 in Kericho
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kimugu River Lodge
Kimugu River Lodge
#1 of 9 in Kericho
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Hotel, Kericho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Hotel, Kericho

Address: Nairobi Road, Kericho 20200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Kericho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Kericho
Price Range: $40 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing