We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location good”
Review of Ashanti Gold Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashanti Gold Hotel
Ranked #31 of 75 Kumasi B&B and Inns
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location good”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

The location is good, you can walk to most places in Kumasi eg market/tro station. The rooms are clean. Staff are nice, we turned up late and they sorted some dinner out for us pretty quickly. It's pretty cheesy decor outside, which I quite like! It's not the most amazing place I've ever stayed in, but it's clean, comfortable and the location is good. You can also get a cold beer!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
1
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

This hotel was a welcome surprise as we only ended up staying here as we were sharing a cab with another couple who had a reservation here. The rooms were very clean, and it was one of the few places we stayed that had hot water! Score! The location is also great as you can walk to the HUGE market in about 10 minutes. It is also located just around the corner from the Culture Centre which is nice quiet haven away from the bustling chaos of the city. The staff at the hotel were a bit hit and miss. The reception staff were a bit cold and there was also a guy who worked there that seemed keen on doing things for foreigners like picking up bus tickets, arranging taxi’s, etc, but he would always come right into your room when talking to you which was sometimes a bit intimidating (although overall he was a nice guy). There is a pool at the hotel, but it dodn't look all that clean. Overall I would recommend this hotel to those staying in Kumasi.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

uk visitor selling truck engines in the transport hub of west africa spent 2 nights - location good - walk to a main street with bars music food [8pm friday saw 200+ gospel ladies singing under church canopy] Hotel is now showing its age but at 25 cedi for b&b with cold aircon was good value , spotless outside , a/c was noisy [earplugs] , staff charming.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turbofarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

+ near the cultural centre / relatively quite area
+ cheap place, only 20 Euro (Sep. 2009) for a twin room with a/c (loud!), tv, fridge

- no hot water
- maintenance is more outside then inside (they paint it new...)
- pool is dirty
- mosquito nets damaged

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarDues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Wadoma Royale Hotel
Wadoma Royale Hotel
#14 of 19 in Kumasi
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Noda Hotel
Noda Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kumasi
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laposada Royal Hotel
Laposada Royal Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kumasi
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Lake Road Hotel
#8 of 30 in Kumasi
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okubi Hotel
Okubi Hotel
#10 of 75 in Kumasi
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asantewaa Premier Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashanti Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashanti Gold Hotel

Property: Ashanti Gold Hotel
Address: 233 Box KS | Bantama, Kumasi, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Ashanti Region > Kumasi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Kumasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashanti Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing