We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fogera Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gonder
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fogera Hotel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Gonder
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed here one night and it wasn't to bad. We first went to the Atsebekafa but that one was horrible!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank togians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    3
    8
    6
See reviews for
2
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gonder, Ethiopia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

the things wrote about Fogera Hotel seem to be age old. It is obvious that alll said might have been true. But, recently these things are not existing any more since the Hotel is private owned in these year.
All the things there were to be old since the hotel had a long and historical features. Recently, there are also many tukulu (loggins) which are smart enough and entertaining.
The problems therefore are not and will not be hap
pening any longer since the last year and in the future. you can also see the site which will be publshed in the near future which can tell and show you every changes in the Hotel.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank teddy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stumbled at this hidden gem in Gonder by accident. It has a great garden with an awesome view. A quiet spot with very friendly (not necessarily always competent) service. We enjoyed ourselves and ended up staying three nights instead of one. Food was excellent and breakfast served already very early.
I have to make clear, though, that it is an Ethiopian budget hotel , so there must be some lowered expectation concerning some features. I recommend everybody to check it out whether it has the right combinations for one's own preferences, we liked it a lot.

Room Tip: Take the garden lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gnuffgnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

We chose to stay in Fogera because it happens to be the oldest hotel in Gondar and the main building had been a villa belonging to a friend of Mussolini. So there's some history to the place. But this is about where it ends. We stayed in two adjoining bungalows and got little rest even though they're placed in the garden in the back of the main house. Barking dogs, fighting cats, donkeys, roosters and a motley of birds provided enternatinment all night and way into the morning. By sunrise, trash was being burned just down the slope, so the air wasn't exactly refreshing. Very very basic, the hotel was OK for the price ($25 for a double) but the night stand lamps that were left unplugged because there was no place to plug them in (!) and the cold showers were a bit much. The owner (or manager) struck us as a wheeler-dealer. If you have a sense of humor and can let your hair down, you'll laugh about it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gonder hotels

bern
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

The fogera hotel has a wonderful garden and the house was nice some long years ago.. But that is all. The bathrooms are dirty and old. The staff seems not to be interested in serving the guests. It happens, that you wait for a coffee 30 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarMarthaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

A place that has a great view and so much potential but is literally falling apart. We did not get any sleep because the bed was making so much noise! The service was terrible! The guy was trying but has no clue what he is doing and has no knowledge about customer service. We don't want to be too negative about this place but I'm afraid it's not going to survive unless they start investing more. It's a historical place and it would be a shame if it gets lost.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shjaarwle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

Some say it's charming, but actually we think it's just very very old. I guess at least no improvements since 1970s. Room is big with 2 beds, desk, chair; bathroom was a big "eek".
But reception staff and especially the restaurant staff was very nice and friendly! Food is also quite good. The garden is very green, but not well maintained. It's nice to sit on the terrace of the tukuls. 15mins walk to the Piazza. 225birr = 17EUR were ok for the tukul.
Watch out for Yohannis [--]. He has a yellow Toyota Taxi and we met him at the airport. Very reliable, fair price, friendly, funny and talkative driver.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JinxiBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gonder hotels
0.0 mi away
Goha Hotel
Goha Hotel
#1 of 15 in Gonder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gonder Landmark Hotel
Gonder Landmark Hotel
#10 of 15 in Gonder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ruth Hotel
The Ruth Hotel
#13 of 15 in Gonder
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AG Hotel Gondar
AG Hotel Gondar
#3 of 15 in Gonder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taye Belay Hotel
Taye Belay Hotel
#6 of 15 in Gonder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jantekel Hotel
Jantekel Hotel
#8 of 15 in Gonder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fogera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fogera Hotel

Property: Fogera Hotel
Address: Gonder, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Gonder
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Gonder
Number of rooms: 208

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing