We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't expecting this!”

Debre Berhan Selassie Church
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Gonder
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wasn't expecting this!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The church is a short ride out of town and on arrival it didn't look anything special but on entering the church I was blown away. The paintings are exquisite and the ceiling simply stunning. Spent a good while here just appreciating the art. Our fantastic guide Tamirat gave a wonderful explanation and put everything into context. LOVED it. And a really nice touch was that there were places set up to take the best photos in the church. Don't miss it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    73
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
215 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The paintings inside this wonderful church are astonishing, as well as the location. It is considered one of the most beautiful churches in ethiopia. It is not round as the monasteries on lake tana, but squared in shape

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fabiofort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
287 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

At first I let my Western ideology distract me because women have to enter in a separate side door at this church. You must remove shoes, hats, and sunglasses. But I quickly checked myself and embraced the experience. Once inside, there's something very calming in this church. The paintings are very beautiful. Our guide got crowd participation my getting some people in our group to line up and learn how the church service goes - using the instruments and repeating chants. Very lovely experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarenville, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fabulous paintings inside”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Although it is very dim inside, the amazing paintings inside this church are worth the time to let your eyes adjust to the lighting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank centralNFLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
340 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“An old church with a must see painting.”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The grounds here are old like the castles. The church is inside the walls. Inside the church there are pillars down one side with an old painting inside of Jesus and some angels. People are more true to the old ways here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Murray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Debre Berhan Selassie Church also viewed

 

Been to Debre Berhan Selassie Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing