We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for budget travellers”
Review of L-Shape Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gonder
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L-Shape Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Gonder
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We paid 270B for a double room with a balcony looking over the back of the hotel towards the hills. Large, firm double bed. Lock on the cuboard. Generally clean. Weak but hot shower, though water stopped some time in the night and didn’t come back in the morning. Insist on checking hot water before accepting room, as it didn’t work in the first room we were shown.

WiFI generally worked well, and routers were on every floor. Small amount of toilet paper, soap, towel, and flip-flops provided. Third-floor room helped minimize the noise from the downstairs club/bar/restaurant. Restaurant had good pizzas (70-80B), much cheaper than those at MasterChef, though some odd combinations of ingredients. Would recommend this hotel for budget travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 97 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were on an independant tour of Ethiopia and stayed in this hotel for 2 separate nights either side of a trip into the Simien mountains.

I had pre booked the hotel, and had been quoted 250Birr PRPN. When we arrived on the first night however we were told that the rooms would be $50 per room as it was Timkat. Fortunately I had e-mail proof that we had been offered the rooms at the lower price, so eventually after a long heated conversation we got then at 500Biirr per room. If it had not been for this incident I would maybee have given 5 stars.

The rooms were very spacious and very clean unless you started to move furnature around, and we had plenty of hot water. The balconies that we had looked out over the city and the royal enclosure could be seen from them.

One down side is that the hotel is on 5 or 6 floors and there is not a lift which could be a bit of an issue if you are not very good on your legs.

All in all this was very good accomodation at a bargin price which I would recomend if you have a couple of days in Gondar.

Room Tip: Not the first floor which is rather niosy and check for hot water and the price before commiting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Centrally located. Rooms with balconies. Clean. Quiet(except the rooms on the 1st floor)
Free wifi.(not working well). The only problem is that there is no restaurant nearby except
the one in the same building, which is expensive and not so delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J Hoon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice spacious clean rooms, decent service at the reception and wifi working more often than not. My advice: check if the boiler is working when choosing a room (I got a cold water one for the same price, was more clever when I came back there few days later). Also some rooms close to reception are a bit noisy. Haven't tried the restaurant but apparently they have decent pizza.

Room Tip: Check if the boiler is working when choosing a room (I got a cold water one for the same price, was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annasito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The rooms are super clean, not a bug or mosquito in sight which can be a rarity. Rooms have satellite TV, wi-fi, hot water and balconies. The owner is also extremely friendly and helpful with arranging trips. The rooms are quiet and the location is great, just a short walk to the Royal Enclosure. It's still a budget hotel so the price is fantastic for all the amenities you get. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Gonder.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueGoodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I am an Ethiopian basically from Addis but have been to Gondar so many times. Every time i come to Gondar i always stay in Lodges and Quara hotel but the Lodges are not clean and Quara is expensive i mean it is off my budget. This time i went to Lshape Hotel and i had an amazing stay out there. They have got WIFI in every floor. I had my Laptop with me and the connection was very good. The room was clean, I enjoyed the entertaining TV programs that was broadcast ed through their HD TVs. The hot shower make me feel all refreshed. The sheets are changed each day. The other day power was gone and a standby generator was launched and i was able to check my e-mails and watch TV at the same time. The foods they serve is very nice. I loved the closeness to the center of the city. The manager, owner and receptionists in addition to all the staff members were welcoming and cooperative. The music at night is good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackieethio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The service is pathetic. The food and service is the worst. Electricity backup depends on the mood. Frequent water shortage in the morning. Bad maintainance and upkeep - no light bulb in the bathroom, leaky taps. Nobody understands anything in the kitchen- had to explain 3 times to get scrambled eggs which is in the menu.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yv111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gonder
0 mi away
AG Hotel Gondar
AG Hotel Gondar
#4 of 14 in Gonder
96 reviews
0 mi away
Goha Hotel
Goha Hotel
#1 of 14 in Gonder
368 reviews
0 mi away
Taye Belay Hotel
Taye Belay Hotel
#9 of 14 in Gonder
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lammergeyer Hotel
Lammergeyer Hotel
#11 of 14 in Gonder
32 reviews
0 mi away
Florida International Hotel
0 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L-Shape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L-Shape Hotel

Address: Kebele 13, Gonder, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Gonder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Gonder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing