We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 12:30 PM, 2:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Simien Mountains National Park
Reviews (999)
Filter reviews
795 results
Traveler rating
668
94
17
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
668
94
17
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gelada baboons simien mountains day trek ethiopian wolf sleeping bag park office breathtaking views grand canyon altitude sickness imet gogo flora and fauna his team bleeding heart highest peak warm clothes days nights ras dashen
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 795 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I had a trip in the Simien Mountains and it is raining mostly in the afternoon which is not expected in this time of a year. Anyone who plan to hike to the mountains make sure you will equipped with water proof jacket and if you want to know the updated information contact the expert via simienguide1229@gmail.com

Thank Joshua1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I had an amazing time in the mountains. I highly recommend booking your tour through Teshe, you will not be disappointed. You will be camping through the night and hiking during the day. During the evening you will enjoy well prepared meals along with tea and coffee upon your arrival. Be sure to charge your batteries and wear warm clothes.

Contact:
Tesheomebezabe@yahoo.com
Whatsapp: +251 91 873 6425

Thank Flyer49473757276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

We had a 3 days trip to Simien Mountains; after a long research on Internet I have decided to trust Sammy Kassaw of hikeethiopia: he is a great organizer; he has been very clear and quick in answering all mails. He has organized a meeting in Gondar the day before the trip and there he proposed us a possible change in the program. At the beginning we weren't happy about this changing, also because sammy haven't told us before about the possible alternative in the itinerary; anyway at the end, after discussing the 2 options with him, we decided to choose the alternative and to change the itinerary. Now I am glad we did it! Thanks Sammy. It was the best choice above all according to our needs and health problems. The organization was good, he also provided one more sleeping bag for one of us, and we had the best cooker of the whole 3 weeks trip in Ethiopia. Futallo (i don't know if it's written like that) is a young chef that has a great potential, he managed to cook real italian pasta and a lot of very good food, better than in a restaurant. Also the guide Dereje was fine, he was born there and knows many things about fauna and flora. Moreover on the last day 2 of us were sick so we asked Sammy to change the program and go back from Chennek to Debarq before; ha managed to organize the car and the hotel, so we thank him for that.
We enjoyed the Simien Mountains! The government should do something to keep the camping sites in a better conditions (build new toilets, keep them clean) and try to keep out all the rubbish..

Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Three friends and I went on a 3 nights/4 days hike in Simien Mountains and everything worked perfectly fine. The length of the hike was perfect for us and we got to see a lot of the beautiful scenery in Simien as well as the Walia Ibex, the Gelada monkeys and even the Ethiopian wolf. We arranged our trip by Dezy (Trek Ethiopia- Travels and Tours) and are very satisfied with our choice. The booking and contact before were very smooth and since two of us are vegetarians they arranged vegetarian food for us which we appreciate very much. All four of us are very pleased with the trip; the transportation to Simien Mountains, our guide Injo who spoke very good English and seemed to know everything about the area, our nice scout Omer, our chef that prepared delicious food for us and the beautiful landscape – it all made the trek to a memory for life.

To get in contact with Dezy: dizzysimien@gmail.com, +251918156611(WhatsApp)

Thank Anna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

We organised our 5 day walk with a guide Samual Kasaw who organises walks out of Gondor. He did not come with us but organised guide, cook, scout and mules .
Everything went very smoothly and he organised onward travel to Axum. The trek itself is not to be missed , the scenery spectacular and the bird life , gelada monkeys and other wild life amazing.
The chef was great and we ate well 3 times a day.
The walk is not really difficult and it would definitely rate as one of our Highlights in our trip around Ethiopia

1  Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Bewteku kassa (bewketu200b@yahoo.com +251 91878 9242) was able to organise a day trip for me and my partner just the day before we wanted to go after I got sick and had to change my plans last minute. He arranged exactly the itinerary that we wanted and we were fully satisfied! Thanks Bewteku!

Thank Desmond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

I traveled with Discover simian tour on January 2018 and it was great experience which I enjoyed. All the services were professional including the guide, the cook, the guard, the supplies, the tents the porters and so on... Mr. Sahil is a lovely guy who take care of small details. We traveled to Geech camp and stayed there for a while to watch the Gelada baboons. It was great trekking and good company. the guide spoke good english and we could ask whatever we wanted including even having wine or beers at the top peeks. I recommend traveling in the simian mountains with this company.

1  Thank Yoram P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great experience - if you go try to book a tour with Bantihum. He is very helpful and a great guideZ Don’t forget to bring warm clothes.

Thank Konstantin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are a couple, we went to the Simien treck for 3 days with bocota's agency. The treck was amazing!
Bocota took care of all are staff inclouded- great fresh food every day, great guide with great english, sleeping bags and blankets for the cold nights.
We were very satisfied from the treck with bocata and recomended to go with him to this beutifull treck!

His mail-
bewketu200b@yahoo.com

Thank יעלי ב
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

An incredible geological and nature viewing site. Some of Ethiopia's most unique animals live in this area. And the scenery is unparalleled. It was rightfully described to me as surpassing the US Grand Canyon (different and greener) but at least as good.

1  Thank mclbteitelbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews