We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to find but just what we were looking for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 4 Sisters Restaurant

4 Sisters Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Gonder
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Hard to find but just what we were looking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We took a taxi and would never have found it by walking though it's not that far. However, the trip was worth it. Wonderful setting and decor. Great choice of classic Ethiopian food and polite staff. We loved the atmosphere and if you eat out only once in Gonder, this is the place to do it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank salkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    159
    35
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
340 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

This place is off of a dark rubble-strewn road, next to the football pitch, but do not let that put you off (just take a torch). It's a class act from the moment that the security chap blows a horn to announce your arrival and the staff line up to welcome you. The charming service continued throughout. In fact we enjoyed our first evening so much that we visited again. On the first occasion we tried the buffet which had so many different dishes to try. It was just 120 birr/£4 per person which was very good value. We enjoyed everything we sampled, and thought that the freshness and flavours were excellent. On the second evening we sampled the soups and had tibs and fish dulet. Again, everything we tasted was good. We also tried the tej honey wine and gouder red wine. Over our two and half weeks in Ethiopia this was one of the best restaurants we tried and we really recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SCSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great staff, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

we arrived when it was raining cats and dogs. Staff were very accommodating, regardless of the mud- tracing footsteps. Food is wonderful: both ethiopian and international are on the offer, also local red wine gondar on offer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
340 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“French fries suck.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

They don't know how to cook food that isn't traditional. The pepper steak came as mushroom steak. French fries were cooked crisp so I ended up not eating there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Murray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
283 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Best meal in Gonder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Our group really had a great time at Four Sisters. We enjoyed the wonderful service, the national food dishes, and music performer. Highly recommend but if you walk there from your hotel, don't forget to bring your flashlight.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4 Sisters Restaurant also viewed

Gonder, Amhara Region
Gonder, Amhara Region
 
Gonder, Amhara Region
Gonder, Amhara Region
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to 4 Sisters Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing