We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lodge du Chateau
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Quara Hotel(Gonder)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Goha Hotel(Gonder)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveler rating
295
146
32
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
146
32
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerroyal enclosurerooftop terracebreakfast is servedsimien mountainslocal honeypancakescentral gardenwarm breadexcellent breakfastsmall gardenhot watercastle wallsginger teaan oasisday triphis team
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 500 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were greeted by hot tea while Tena (the owner) helped us organize our trip to the Simien mountains. The outfitter Tena booked us with was very professional, and we had a great time with our guide, scout, and the rest of the crew during our 3-day trek.

Tena and the rest of the staff at the lodge were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast roof-top is a great way to greet the day with some views of the town and the surrounding mountains. The wifi worked well and had no issue with connectivity. The room was one of the cleanest we had during our 12-day tour of Ethiopia, however a bit on pricey side.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lil_birdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This place is an up market boutique hotel with a few cheap beds in the basement

I don't know why more backpackers don't stay here. When I stayed I payed about 15 USD a night (off season) to sleep in their dorm which has 5-6 beds and was completely empty. A person after me got it for 12 USD, so bargain hard.

The place was impeccably clean, included a decent breakfast and was completely quiet.

Pros:
Clean.
Location.
Internet worked most of the time.
View from the terrace.
They will let you in when you come home drunk at 3am.
Manager can organize group excursions w/ negotiable rates (I didn't take a tour but a group of backpackers that weren't staying at the lodge got a decent rate on a full day Simean Trek. Don't know how it was but what they paid was less than what the kids in town tried to sell me for essentially the same thing.)

Cons:
Might feel very crowded if full.
If the weather is bad (cold) there isn't really a warm comfortable common area for backpackers.
Beer at hotel is not budget friendly.


  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chasington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Tena, the co owner is a lovely lady who could not have been more helpful, she also organises trips to the local Simien mountains, should you wish. The staff are also delightful. The courtyard and breakfast roof top area are are great places to rest up and have a beer. The downside is that they do not do evening meals, which is OK, but sometimes it would have been nice to eat in. It is quite expensive by Gondar prices, and the rooms are starting to look a little tired and would benefit from some maintenance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed for five nights in the lodge du chateau, and i wish i could have stayed longer. ROoms are spotless and staff were incredibly helpful. I also booked a tour to the simien mountains through their inhouse travel agency which was great. ALl in all, it was the best service i recieved so far in ethiopia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this lodge. The breakfast was terrific and so the view from the terrace. The owner Tenda is really friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and nice decorated. Compared to other accommodations 50 dollars for a room is really expensive. But if you like to have a good standard, than you should book here your room!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews