We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
8
6
9
4
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
8
6
9
4
15
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 42 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed there for one night on the way to Cairo. Hotel is in Port Tawfiq on the other side of the canal from Suez, area surrounding it is neglected but not as filthy as Suez proper. It is an old fashioned hotel on 7 floors with a restaurant on the 6th floor serving average food with views over the entrance to the canal.
We had a canal view room which was a bit small with old fittings but looked like it had been redecorated recently and was clean. For what you get it is very expensive compared to other hotels in Egypt but choice in Suez is limited so it's not a bad choice.

Room tip: Ask for a room with canal view
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RichRJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Only stopped for one night, the rooms nothing matched I'm not sure if this was intentional or not, everything looked very old. I'm not even sure if my young children would have identified the TV as a TV. Ate in the hotel and the food was okay with great views of the Suez Canal.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharky91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We stayed 1 night. the hotel is 50ties design, maintained but could do with an upgrade (which may take away a bit of the charm and pleasant atmosphere).The restaurant on the 6th floor has excellent view on the Suez canal with the ship convoys passing by. Plenty of maritime related persons stay here. Staff is helpfull and pleasant, dont go in haj time as the hotel may be full with travellers to Mekka. No acohol as in other parts of Port Tawfiq, no tourists as well except us watching the canaltraffic. Tip: exit hotel & turn 2 x right in the left hand corner you find the Police Officers Club, pay 8 L.E. and make use of their terrace you can almost touch the ships passing by. We had a pleasant stay and would recommend this to break out from the traditional tourist spots in Egypt.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HenkMaasdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 15, 2007

We have been travelling around Egypt for 6 weeks and spent two weeks in the Canal Zone. Very interesting area with some smaller, cheaper hotels of good value. However, if you find yourself in Suez, which is a dirty, neglected town, don't go to the Red Sea Hotel; it is 4* with prices to match, but it has a terrible attitude to travellers by the management. You will be charged for every little thing, even the tea-bags in your room. We were literally chased to our taxi, a good couple of hundred yards away to reclaim the cost of two tea-bags used from our room. Go intead to the Green House Hotel, not cheaper, but friendlier.
Our recommendations for Port Said would be Hotel de la Post with breakfast across the road at Popeye. Excellent little place.
Ismailiya - Crocodile Inn, though the breakfast is rubbish. Go instead to Rosa Pattisserie across the road for coffee and croissant.

10  Thank wandererFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 21, 2021 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews