We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIce place to stay in Maun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cresta Riley's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cresta Riley's
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maun
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“NIce place to stay in Maun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

I went with a colleague to work in Maun--this was our second trip. During the first we stayed at the Maun Lodge, which was okay but out of town and not great. Cresta Riley's is about a minute drive from the airport/downtown, and was a nice place to stay. The rooms were charming--if you stay on the second floor you sleep under a thatched roof. First floor are more traditional. The rooms were comfortable. The property was very pretty. The staff were pretty unhelpful but not any more or less than any of the other staff we encountered in our search for places to stay there. There was pretty slow internet available at the restaurant--which you can hang out at beyond their hours and they are happy to help you plug in whatever device you might need to charge. The rooms were a little dirty--we had them come and clean them up (specif ally vacuum the rug which had dirt/small bits of litter on it). Basically, a pretty good place to stay, but don;t raise your expectations too high. The food in the restaurant was terrible--even breakfast. There are a few very nice cafes around and I would go out for Breakfast, even though it comes with the room.

Room Tip: If you like sleeping under thatch, go for the second floor rooms. None of the rooms are close enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Riley's, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Riley’s Hotel.

Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Riley’s.

We are pleased that you liked our central location, just a few minutes drive from the airport and right in Maun town. We are delighted that you found our rooms charming and comfortable. We will certainly take take heed of areas of concern highlighted in our operations.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Riley’s Hotel in Maun. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Yours sincerely,


Ngonidzashe Shumba
GM, Cresta Riley’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    47
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
12
42
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

What a shame about this hotel. It must be the worst one on the Cresta list. While there I read a magazine in the room with comments from the Cresta Group MD. It made good reading, especially the bit about him wanting the Cresta Hotel Group to be the leading group in Botswana - ha! He had better get himself down to Riley's then! It is in need of more than TLC. It would not be that difficult to turn this hotel around, just throw some money at it!

The rooms here are dull and so much needs changing. As you have already been told the restaurant is not good so be warned. The pool area is nice but on the only full day we were there there was a private party in the evening. That's fine but we were not told. The whole pool and its area was blocked off. I asked if we could still use the pool and was told yes, but before 10am - yep 10AM - they were setting up the music - loudly - and it went on all day until the event in the evening. Twice I asked a member of staff if the music was going on all day because we could not get any peace on the whole hotel site, especially in our room which was close to the pool. They said 'No, of course not'! In the end we got so fed up with it I went down to the man in charge of music who was sitting by it, him and the chaps setting up the tables were all having a whale of a time, and told him it was driving us mad could he please turn it off until the event. No, I did ask nicely! He gave me a lovely smile and turned it down for me. That lasted for - about an hour!

Anyway, Maun is not the greatest place on earth. We thought we would stay a few days there after our safaris but we need not have bothered. Nothing to see unless you go to a lodge or camp close by but the town centre is not worth looking at.

It looks like the Riley hotel manager does read these reviews and does respond to them which is good, but please manager, get in touch with your MD (I have!) and tell him of the problems. It might just work.

Room Tip: You'll be lucky! Actually there are some chalet type rooms past the pool, river side, that look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bessiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Riley's, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Riley’s Hotel.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Riley’s.

We regret that your experience was unpleasant and we will certainly take take heed of areas of concern highlighted. We do appreciate your compliments regarding the nice pool area and apologize that you were not able to make use of this facility during your stay due to a private function. We are embarking on a refurbishment project this year to complete all the back rooms, restaurant, Bar and Conference Centre – this will take place mid year.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Riley’s Hotel in Maun. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Yours sincerely,


Ngonidzashe Shumba
GM, Cresta Riley’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel itself was OK with clean rooms and friendly staff - albeit needing a refurbishment. The restaurant itself however was absolutely ridiculous and I would advise eating elsewhere if you are in Maun (not sure if anywhere else is any good either)

After a trek from Kasane via Gaberones - and spending a number of days under canvas - we were just looking forward to a good menu where we could choose our evening meal. We ordered Calamari as a starter which after an hour never arrived - when the main course Impala with Cranberry sauce arrived we were informed that there was no cranberry sauce left - speaking to the chef he said that the cranberry sauce ran out because of the high demand (there had been 7 people in the restaurant since we arrived - 90 minutes previously) so the inedible dry impala was the best they could offer - we went to bed hungry !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mac190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Riley's, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Riley’s Hotel.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Riley’s. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We regret that your experience in the restaurant was unpleasant and we will certainly take heed of your comments. We do appreciate your compliments regarding the clean rooms and friendly staff. Feedback from customers helps us affect swift improvements in problem areas.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Riley’s Hotel in Maun.

Yours sincerely,


Ngonidzashe Shumba
GM, Cresta Riley’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here after long haul flight from London via JNB, perfect place to get some sleep and pick up all your requirements before you head into the Delta. The rooms are fine, perfectly comfortable with good shower but it just lacks the final touches. Needs a little TLC. Would recommend as a 1 night stopover and perfectly located for shops. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Riley's, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Riley’s Hotel.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Riley’s. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are pleased that you found Rileys to be the perfect place after a long flight from the UK and that your room was comfortable and the shower was hot. We appreciate your comments regarding our friendly hardworking staff. Feedback from helpful customers like you is always inspiring for the entire team.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Riley’s Hotel in Maun.

Yours sincerely,


Ngonidzashe Shumba
GM, Cresta Riley’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea Gardens
Level Contributor
155 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had received varying reports of this hotel - so were not sure what to expect. Actually, we were pleasantly surprised. Yes, it is tired and in need of a refurb, but we found it clean and tidy. Everything in our room worked & the bed was comfy. The only 'problem' was the shower. This was over the bath with a glass screen to keep the water within the confines of the bath. However, this screen was far to short and as you couldnt adjust the shower head, water went everywhere. Luckily there were four towels each, so a couple of these were utilized to soak/wipe this all up.
We had an excellent dinner and breakfast in the restaurant - and can certainly recommend the pool bar.
Perhaps the only 'problem' was on checking out - there was a problem with the 'system connection' and I would think that this was not an isolated one. They did not appear to have a backup manual proceedure in place, so we had to wait until things righted themselves, thus causing some concern in making our flight connection...everything worked out in the end, but would recommend you checkout...EARLY!!

Room Tip: If you cant handle stairs, request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyallTeaGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Riley's, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Riley’s Hotel.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Riley’s. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are delighted that you found your stay with us to be comfortable and the rooms to be clean and tidy. Thank you for your kind compliments about the dinner and breakfast you had in the restaurant. We will certainly take heed of your comments regarding the shower and the checkout problems and affect improvements in a swift manner. Feedback from helpful customers like you is inspiring for the entire staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Riley’s Hotel in Maun.

Yours sincerely,


Ngonidzashe Shumba
GM, Cresta Riley’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked into the Cresta Maun (Riley's I suppose its called) for a brief day stay after our Air Botswana flight was delayed for 5 hours (the issue seemed to be that there weren't a lot of booked tickets so they sent the prop plane for the day instead of the jet and delayed us but that is another story).

After three nights of bush camping/showering/toileting we were ready for a bit of civilization. Cresta delivered on this with a decent room that in many ways reminded me of what you'd find at a Motel 6 or Super 8 or something.

We got a fair rate for a day stay (350 Pula) and it met all of our needs. Not a place I'd in any way stay for any other reason beyond sleep and a shower, but it got the job done OK.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank liaobuqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Riley's, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Riley’s Hotel.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Riley’s. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are pleased that we could offer you a bit of civilization at Cresta Rileys after your stay in the bush and that you found the room to be decent and the day rate to be fair. Feedback from helpful customers like you is inspiring to our staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Riley’s Hotel in Maun.

Yours sincerely,


Ngonidzashe Shumba
GM, Cresta Riley’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel on our way to the Moremi game reserve rooms 101 and 103. The entrance to the hotel from the road is so narrow only one car can either enter or exit at a time. Would advise then to demolish the flower pot on the right( as you come into the hotel). Safety first then you can decorate as much as you want.

The reception area is modest , nothing to write home about. Small crammed. The reception staff were ok not exceptional. Check in was difficult as they could not give us adjacent rooms with my kids. We requested a rate with no breakfast ie bed only but it was flatly refused. They only do bed and breakfast not bed only...we wanted to leave by 0530am ( buffet breakfast would not have started. We were told breakfast would be packed for us.. presumably prepared the night before. Needless to say we through the stale sandwiches and eggs away.
Checkout in the morning was a nightmare. There was no network so the lady could not help me quicker. Imagine having a team of tourist in a tour van waiting for you and an inept receptionist. I had to look for a receipt I had made through luggage to speed the process. Bad bad bad for your reputation.

The rooms themselves are outdated. They gave us khaki towel, I know they will claim they were beige. I am used to hotels with crisp white towels. The rooms are small with lots of Mosquitos. Insect repellant is a must for your stay. The gardens did not look nice. Lawns not well manicured, shrubs not trimmed and poorly lit . You should take a leaf from your sister hotels in Gaborone or Francistown.

The thing that killed it for me was no wifi. No wifi in the rooms only at the restaurant. How can they hope to attract the morden business people without these basics nowadays.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank impudzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Riley's, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Cresta Riley’s Hotel

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Riley’s Hotel.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Riley’s. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We regret that your stay at Cresta Rileys was so unpleasant and frustrating for you and sincerely apologize for the inconsistent service you received at reception upon arrival and again upon departure. We will certainly take heed of your comments regarding the entrance, the mosquitos and the grounds. We are planning a refurbishment project to begin in mid 2013. Wifi has been a problem and will be installed during the refurbishment exercise. All other operational items that you have pointed out will be addressed immediately. We do appreciate your comments and with your helpful feedback, we can work on problem areas and affect improvements in a swift manner.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Riley’s Hotel in Maun.

Yours sincerely,



GM, Cresta Riley’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maun
0.0 mi away
Aquarian Tide Hotel
Aquarian Tide Hotel
#7 of 15 in Gaborone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge
#4 of 41 in Maun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#18 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
63.5 mi away
Mogotlho Safari Lodge
Mogotlho Safari Lodge
#14 of 41 in Maun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peo Luxury Apartments
Peo Luxury Apartments
#29 of 41 in Maun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cresta Riley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresta Riley's

Property: Cresta Riley's
Address: Tsheko Tsheko Road (Riverside Road) | P.O. Box 1, Maun, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Maun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cresta Riley's 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Thamakalane River, Cresta Riley’s offers any visitor to Maun a warm welcome in true African style. Facilities include modern conference rooms, comfortably stylish accommodation and a feast of fine dining. Situated at the gateway to the Okavango Delta, there are also several tours and safaris available to Savuti, Moremi or the Chobe National Park. Made for the traveller who loves nature and adventure as much as unparalleled comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Cresta Riley's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing