We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place by the river”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Bridge Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Maun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We chose this place through the Lonely Planet. Got there by combi with our big muchillas, and had to walk the last kilometer. But when we arrived, it turned out to be a very nice place, with a good atmosphere. Staff was helpful in arranging our almost immediate flight over the Okavango Delta (different review). Met also some nice travellers (Benny and Kasper from Germany) whom we'll keep on meeting in Namibia and South Africa.
We camped with our tent under a tree, and were already on our way, next early morning. Took a cab that brought us to the best hitch-hiking location towards Namibia.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OphirB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 300 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the en suite tented camp, with an out door toliet. Which is a minus if it rains which is exactly what happened.

But beyond that it's a great place, great river view with hippos and crocodiles. But best of all is the vibe at the bar, travellers from all over, open to great conversation. The bar closes at a reasonable time, so you can enjoy good sleep. Friendly staff as well.

Would definitely go again!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank DorothyMokale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very buzzy, lively place. Camping spaces are limited as are ablutions. On the plus side the ribs were delicious. Not a bad place, just not the sort of campsite I was looking for! Mind you, it was Christmas day so not surprising it was busy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Overall had a great experience. I stayed in both the dorm and twin room - both were very clean and comfortable. Staff are very helpful in arranging mokoro excursions. Bar is great, food is adequate, there is an adequate little kitchen. Its a bit of trek to town by taxi but there isn't any reason to go there except for groceries and the setting by the river is very relaxing. This is one of the best budget choices I have stayed in Africa in terms of experience and value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

After comparing prices, facilities, locations, etc, we settled on the Old Bridge Backpackers as our base, from which we planned to do a scenic flight over the Okavango Delta and spend a few days on a mokoro trip into the Delta.

Jen, from the backpackers, booked everything for us, and was great with answering all my questions.

The backpackers has everything you need - friendly staff, comfortable beds, warm showers, a fully stocked bar, and a very decent kitchen. We stayed in an en-suite tent overlooking the river - it was amazing to wake up to the most colourful birds perched on branches merely metres from our tent.

The fully catered mokoro trip booked by the backpackers was as good as it gets - 3 days on the delta, wild animals, relaxing mokoro trips, bush walks (we saw elephants, giraffe, hyena, wildebeest, plenty buck, zebra, beautiful birds and smaller creatures too) and cooked meals by a very decent chef. Our guide, Lee, made us feel safe at all times.

The scenic flight is also a must if you have the time.

If you want to do the Okavango Delta on a budget I can't imagine you can do any better and have as amazing an experience as booking through the Old Bridge Backpackers.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Old Bridge Backpackers sits next to the river and offers a stunning view especially during the sunset and sunrise.

Camping, dorms and rooms options. Reasonably priced.

Nice clean toilets and bathrooms naturally build.

Vibrating bar and tasty food!! Local and international kitchen.

Plenty of activities around Maun that you can book at the reception.

The best spot to meet other travellers and exchange ideas and experiences.

All in all, Old Bridge is the best budget option in Maun before organising your safaris in Moremi GR.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were not staying at Old Bridge but close by. Our excursions for the Mokoro trip and a Moremi Game Reserve drive were arranged by our B & B with Old Bridge and we found them to be an excellent choice with courteous and knowledgeable guides and drivers at a reasonable price. Well done Old Bridge Backpackers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Brobb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maun hotels
5.0 mi away
Cresta Riley's
Cresta Riley's
#1 of 2 in Maun
122 reviews
1.9 mi away
Okavango River Lodge
Okavango River Lodge
#15 of 47 in Maun
139 reviews
1.8 mi away
Island Safari Lodge
Island Safari Lodge
#6 of 47 in Maun
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Motsebe Backpackers
Motsebe Backpackers
#34 of 47 in Maun
14 reviews
6.0 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
5.8 mi away
Maun Lodge
Maun Lodge
#7 of 47 in Maun
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bridge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bridge Backpackers

Address: Matlapaneng, Maun, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Maun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Maun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing