We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delight of Maun”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Bridge Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Maun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I traveled with 7 other friends and we all stayed in safari tents for two nights (before and after doing a trip on the Delta with Old Bridge too).

Safari tents: lovely&spacious, beautiful view onto river, ensuite toilet & shower under the stars. Fantastic

Bar&restaurant: great setting on the river banks. Bar staff accommodating with various currencies & bar tabs. Great meals out of the kitchen. A back-up generator may be nice for electricity cuts to help out the kitchen.

3-day, 2-night Delta boat trip: the staff are awesome. The Delta itself is pristine and the birdlife phenomenal. Loads of elephants. The pre-erected camp is fantastic, as staff arrive early to set everything up. Meals are great and day-trips super. Cannot be more thrilled with our experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zelia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for The Old Bridge Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 294 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

Had a really nice 24hrs at this place. It was a lovely location, right on the river. Long drive, but we had a car, so not a problem. Were made to feel very welcome - requested en suite accommodation what was perfectly adequate (but it did really REALLY cold at night - make sure you have either a hot body to cuddle, or big fluffy pajamas!) Bathroom facilities were great. Staff helped me to organize a horse ride, which was great. There were also other tours that could be planned from site. The evening was great fun, good music, pool, drinks, really great pizza for dinner, good burger for lunch, and a lovely old collie dog (that we imaginatively christened Dog!) to keep us company. He even escorted us back to the tent. If you meet him, please give him some love :-)
Yes we would go back here for sure and happily stay fro a few nights (in the summer!)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T419KG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

First of all - and you'll probably know this already if you have found this page - but if you are following the Lonely Planet (aka The Book of Lies) you will realise that this hostel is indeed called The Old Bridge, and not 'Back to the Bridge'! We thought our taxi driver was taking us to the wrong place at first!
My boyfriend and I stayed at the Old Bridge for 3 nights in early March 2013. We had booked a standard tent, but to our delight found that we had been upgraded to an ensuite tent for our first night (they were doing some work in the dorms so were upgrading everyone up a level). Our first tent was absolutely fantastic - it had a great view over the river, very comfy beds, and a lovely outdoor ensuite. We stayed in a standard tent for the next two nights, which was a little bit cheaper but exactly the same, minus the ensuite and river view. The shared showers and toilets were also clean, well maintained and always stocked up with loo roll.
The bar area at the Old Bridge is great - they serve good value, tasty meals too. The staff are very friendly and attentive, and can offer lots of useful information about the local area and the trips and tours on offer. The self catering kitchen was very well equipped with everything you could need to prepare a meal. Free tea and coffee is a nice touch too!
Through the hostel we booked a one-night self-catering mokoro trip which was brilliant. We did';t have our own camping equipment so we were able to hire a tent, sleeping gear and cooking equipment from the hostel for a very nominal fee. The trip was excellent value for money and definitely a great way to experience the Okavango Delta while at the same time supporting fair trade and local enterprise.
Onward travel to Namibia is difficult in the absence of any useful bus service, but hitchhiking is safe - ask me if you have any questions about how we got to Windhoek!

Room Tip: The ensuite rooms are a bit more expensive but they are awesome. For a less expensive option, all yo...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place was marvelous on a weekend out with friends. We enjoyed ourselves having a party by thalakane river bank! Did a bit of swimming in the camp's swimming pool!

Boat cruises were suberp.

Got good affordable tented accomodation after being tipsy (from backpackers waterhole).

Room Tip: Try tented accomodation, its worth it! Especially during summer
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmac151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in the dorms. The accomodation was clean and well appointed for a backpackers. Thier kitchen facilities seemed a bit sparse but their menu at the bar was good (with two or three vegetarian options). The bar area is great for relaxing in the afternoons but as evening descends it can become rather rowdy (even unpleasently so later at night) - there seems to be little control of the bar patrons entering the dorms. On my first night, a number of drunken bar patrons "invaded" the dorms and without any intervention or control by the staff.
A huge positive however was the great ease at which my mokoro trip was organised. The staff were friendly and efficient in this matter and catered to my dietary requirements with the packed lunch. Freddie was a great mokoro guide - very knowledgable and friendly.

Room Tip: The dorm beds closest to the windows have a great view and breeze - but also very noisy
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rdaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Although we didn't stay here, we were recommended this place by a safari company as being able to meet our hopes to do some last minute trips in the Okavango and moremi game reserve. And boy did Stevie come up with the goods. A trip on a Mokoro and then a fantastic game drive with our very able guide, Moses who managed not only to get us a view of a leopard but also produced burger and chips for lunch! Both trips were arranged at the very last minute at very reasonable prices. Stevie even managed to find another couple interested in the game drive which helped reduce the price. The whole vibe at the hostel is really good and would thoroughly recommend it to fellow travellers

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a great place to stay near Maun. We are a couple in our mid-50s. There is a backpackers dormitory and also "rooms" (permanent tents) with en suite, which is where we stayed. The rooms overlook the river and the old bridge (a footbridge) after which the place is named. The only problem with the room is that there is no air-con or fan, so very hot in October!

The best thing about the Old Bridge is the bar. It is a meeting place for travellers, ex-pats working in Maun and surroundingn areas, and local white Botswanans. We had some great conversations and even played some games of pool for the first time in many years. The hamburgers are excellent, as is breakfast.

(I have scored it 4/5. If I were a bit younger I would have given it 5/5.)

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank robert_cumming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maun hotels
5.0 mi away
Cresta Riley's
Cresta Riley's
#1 of 2 in Maun
121 reviews
1.9 mi away
Okavango River Lodge
Okavango River Lodge
#16 of 45 in Maun
137 reviews
3.1 mi away
Motsebe Backpackers
Motsebe Backpackers
#34 of 45 in Maun
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Island Safari Lodge
Island Safari Lodge
#6 of 45 in Maun
164 reviews
6.0 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
9.2 mi away
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge
#5 of 45 in Maun
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bridge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bridge Backpackers

Address: Matlapaneng, Maun, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Maun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Maun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing