We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating owners, great 1 night stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Discovery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 18 Maun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Accommodating owners, great 1 night stay”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Discovery after our mobile safari and before we caught a flight back to the States. The owners were more than accommodating with airport pick up, transport to lunch/dinner locations, arranging our taxi back to the airport, and even exchanging currency for us. It is a bit out of the way, but that didn't bother us at all as we would have to get transport to dining, etc anyway. The showers were lovely and the rooms were well taken care of. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin_Bishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    42
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
77
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, UK
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms. Helpful staff. But out of town but maun seems pretty spread out anyway. Couple of places to eat not too far away but you will need a taxi if it's dark. Owners offer lifts but will charge. Breakfast ok but a bit basic.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My daughter & I stayed with Rene & Marije at their delightful B&B and instantly felt at home. Their attention to detail was lovely and they genuinely cared about making our stay enjoyable. We stayed in the en suite hut which was decorated in traditional style and was comfortable and clean. The beds were soooo very comfortable after camping. If you're looking for something different then give this a go. These people care and will do what they can to help you get the most from you're stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharronlindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hi, We stayed one night in two rondavels... the hosts wer very helpful and the breakfast great. The room was clean and the outdoor shower OK. The grounds were very well landscaped. It was a little difficult to find but close to the main road from Okavango to Maun. It is not real close to town and you need a car or ride to get to services, like WiFi, grocery store, fuel etc. The night we were there it sounded like a party was going on a couple blocks from the Discovery B&B which was somewhat disturbing, but all in all a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is a little out of town but it's well sign-posted and easy to find. The owners have clearly put a lot of effort into making the place comfortable for travelers but also a little different from the average hotel room or guesthouse. It is a very comfortable place and you'd certainly never forget that you were in Africa.... My wife was a little freaked by some of the wildlife- you will perhaps see the odd fairly large spider but they are not dangerous and, hey, you're in Africa so what would you expect?! As for the review noting that it's noisy with dogs barking all night- yep, you will hear dogs but I've never stayed anywhere in an African town where you can't hear dogs, cockerels, traffic, a call-to-prayer or something! The mattress was extremely comfortable. This is NOT a five star hotel- it is a guesthouse offering something a little different...
The breakfast was decent enough and the hosts will direct you to various dining options in the evening. I followed Rene's recommendation and had the beef fillet at the Thalamakane Lodge- quite simply outstanding and only 4km up the road! Both hosts are wonderful- caring, interested, helpful. They really help to make the place and to ensure that you will have a pleasant stay.
The outside showers are lovely! I would heartily recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was a very comfortable, unique overnight stop. The rondavals were clean and comfortable and for some of us, we had the experience of an open air shower. The layout of the rondavals and setting added to the atmosphere of being in Africa. Our breakfast the following morning was satisfying. Rene, was very accommodating to our needs; picking us up after dinner at Maun Airport and organising a taxi to take us back the following morning. All in all, a very pleasant, cheap, overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Noisy. Dogs barking all night. Cold rooms with paper-thin curtains that let the light in from the security lights everywhere. Don't stay at a place that needs security lights and that locks the entrance gate with a padlock at night. Breakfast is yucky. Stale muffins and NO coffee. Fatty bacon. The grounds: sand everywhere. That's what you get here. Go to a real lodge or better yet stay at the Cresta Riley Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkLUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maun hotels
8.2 mi away
Cresta Riley's
Cresta Riley's
#1 of 2 in Maun
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Okavango River Lodge
Okavango River Lodge
#17 of 44 in Maun
132 reviews
12.4 mi away
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge
#5 of 44 in Maun
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Island Safari Lodge
Island Safari Lodge
#8 of 44 in Maun
154 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
6.3 mi away
Motsebe Backpackers
Motsebe Backpackers
#29 of 44 in Maun
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Bed and Breakfast

Property: Discovery Bed and Breakfast
Address: Maun - Shorobe Road, Maun, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Maun
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Maun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Discovery Bed and Breakfast 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery bed and breakfast is a great stopover on the outskirts of Maun. In a quaint, picturesque setting, you will find an interpretation of a traditional small village. 9 traditional style thatched huts can accommodated up to 18 people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing