We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Overnight Stop”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Discovery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Maun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Overnight Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was a very comfortable, unique overnight stop. The rondavals were clean and comfortable and for some of us, we had the experience of an open air shower. The layout of the rondavals and setting added to the atmosphere of being in Africa. Our breakfast the following morning was satisfying. Rene, was very accommodating to our needs; picking us up after dinner at Maun Airport and organising a taxi to take us back the following morning. All in all, a very pleasant, cheap, overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    42
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
75
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Noisy. Dogs barking all night. Cold rooms with paper-thin curtains that let the light in from the security lights everywhere. Don't stay at a place that needs security lights and that locks the entrance gate with a padlock at night. Breakfast is yucky. Stale muffins and NO coffee. Fatty bacon. The grounds: sand everywhere. That's what you get here. Go to a real lodge or better yet stay at the Cresta Riley Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkLUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed one night in August 2012 on are way through Maun and thought it was a great place to stay. The owners are a wonderful couple and are making a terrific stop for people on holiday in Maun. This isn't a luxury hotel, its a great place to stay. We met many like minded travelers there, and heard other good references from travelers we met in other places. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mitch955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a wonderful one-night stay on our way to a camp in the Delta. It was really worth doing as we got more time in the Delta itself by being able to take the morning flight. And Discovery itself was a great discovery! Rene looked after us so well, picking us up from the airport and taking us to a great place for dinner. And the room was beautiful - comfortable and well-appointed, with good mosquito nets. All the details of the compound are very nicely done, and the location is so peaceful. Also, an excellent breakfast. Amazing value for money, we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
321 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our Botswana safari. We got room with bathroom shower indoors. It cost 60 pula for a taxi from airport to B&B. They drive us to a nearby restaurant for a fee since there is no food for dinner. Breakfast was included, muffins, cereal, banana, eggs and bacon.
It was a great value and served our purpose.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ylc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place was a little more upmarket than some of the places where we tended to stay on our 6 month trip, but well worth the extra money. To be honest, it's very reasonably priced considering the excellent facilities and the whole place is very well run. Rene & Marije are knowledgeable and extremely helpful hosts, who were always keen to make sure we had whatever we needed. Even though it's a little way out of town (and NB - THE MAP IN LONELY PLANET IS TOTALLY WRONG!!...not Discovery's fault, needless to say), it's really not that far and there are plenty of eating places that you can get to without too much effort. (You can get there fine even if you don't have a car...the end of the line where the commuter combi-taxis run stops right next to where they are). Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel agent, San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The owners renee and maria are super nice. We were picked up at the airport promptly and about 10min later were at the hotel. It was very peaceful and relaxing. We sat by the campfire and also had dinner there. They have an honor bar for soda's/water etc. Breakfast was good. cereals/yogurt/toast/hot breakfast/fruit/etc.
I sat by the pool for awhile and you can walk down to the river if you like to get out
and stretch your legs. It's very quiet there and peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christy2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maun hotels
8.2 mi away
Cresta Riley's
Cresta Riley's
#1 of 2 in Maun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Okavango River Lodge
Okavango River Lodge
#21 of 44 in Maun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
12.4 mi away
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge
#4 of 44 in Maun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Island Safari Lodge
Island Safari Lodge
#11 of 44 in Maun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
8.9 mi away
Maun Lodge
Maun Lodge
#12 of 44 in Maun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
6.3 mi away
Motsebe Backpackers
Motsebe Backpackers
#27 of 44 in Maun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Bed and Breakfast

Property: Discovery Bed and Breakfast
Address: Maun - Shorobe Road, Maun, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Maun
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Maun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery bed and breakfast is a great stopover on the outskirts of Maun. In a quaint, picturesque setting, you will find an interpretation of a traditional small village. 9 traditional style thatched huts can accommodated up to 18 people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing