We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Maun”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Discovery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 20 Maun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at Discovery Bed & Breakfast Maun, at the end of a 3 week safari. It was a great place to wind down. The owners are an enterprising couple who have given the place so much of character. The decor has its own unique African touch. The place is away from town and surrounded by greenery that has been carefully tended by the owners Renee and Marije. They are friendly and go out of the way to make your stay a comfortable one. Since we were leaving early the next morning, they arranged to serve breakfast early and it was great. For Dinner Renee drove us into town and came back to pick us up. He even threw in a short sightseeing side trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cupcakeHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 167 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

Tucked away from central Maun. However, we wanted to experience staying in a roundavel, a traditional African hut. Signage clearly give you directions to Discovery B&B. There are two types of roundavel, one with attached shower & one common.
You can take leisure walks around Discovery, you'll spot a lot of birds.
There is nice pool to dip yourself in. You can walk around barefoot in Discovery admiring the nature. Dinner/drinks in the evening are by a pit fire, where you can interact with other guests. Discovery B&B is run by a Maun based Dutch couple. They are more of a friend than owners.

Room Tip: chose as per your requirement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kilroy_Mariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

They have lovely rooms set up as authentic huts in a natural setting. The owners were very helpful & accommodating with advice & everything we needed. They only supply breakfast & it’s a little out of the way so there isn’t anywhere to eat within walking distance. However the owner can drive you to dinner, excursions etc & then collect you after, for the same price as a taxi (without the taxi bargaining hassle!).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Was recommended Discovery by Mokolodi Backpackers (nr Gaborone)... first impression was the friendliness of the owner-managers, Rene and Marije, who took a lot of time to answer questions over email about Okavango mokoro trips and other logistical issues... and from the airport pickup onwards, it was clear how much effort and care is put into ensuring that guests are happy and comfortable, and have the best experience in Maun/Okavango

The place itself is also excellent... traditional houses and rondavels which have wonderful ambience without compromsiing on comfort and style ... the campfire and the swimming pool are great... the food - breakfasts and dinners - is excellent... and the surrounding parkland is also nice for a post-mokoro stroll

At $50 per night, this place is a must for anyone who doesn't want, or can't afford, an upmarket lodge

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Adam_in_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

This was a great place for us to stay 4 nights as we wrapped up our stay in Botswana. The owners and staff are fantastic, the huts very nice, the dinner and breakfast enjoyable, the location convenient, and the rate reasonable. No complaints to make really about our experience at Discovery.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PVI31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene A, Owner at Discovery Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir waren in den Chalets 1 und 2 - absolut empfehlenswert!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank manfred w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maun hotels
8.2 mi away
Cresta Riley's
Cresta Riley's
#1 of 2 in Maun
129 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
1.4 mi away
Okavango River Lodge
Okavango River Lodge
#16 of 48 in Maun
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mochaba Crossing Lodge
Mochaba Crossing Lodge
#15 of 48 in Maun
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cresta Maun
Cresta Maun
#2 of 20 in Maun
16 reviews
6.3 mi away
Motsebe Backpackers
Motsebe Backpackers
#34 of 48 in Maun
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Bed and Breakfast

Address: Maun - Shorobe Road, Maun, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Maun
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Maun
Price Range: $46 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Discovery Bed and Breakfast 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery bed and breakfast is a great stopover on the outskirts of Maun. In a quaint, picturesque setting, you will find an interpretation of a traditional small village. 9 traditional style thatched huts can accommodated up to 18 people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing