We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Safari Lodge
Ranked #6 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Maun
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Value for money accommodation”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed for one night at the start and end of a 12 day safari in Botswana.
Positives:
# Friendly staff - charged my phone for me a few times(I didn't have correct adaptor). Great chats about with them about football. Polite and smiling
# Good food. huge pizzas and tasty salads. Good meat, chicken and pork choices. Excellent breakfasts with cereals and cooked options.
# Spacious Chalets .....clean, air con, hot water showers
Negatives:
# Could do with some tlc...sort the large pool out which was unusable...or at least I saw no one using it; put in some more chairs, loungers outside.

Room Tip: opt for chalet rather than apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southseabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    66
    42
    16
    13
See reviews for
38
58
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

If you go to Maun, don't expect much. This is the way station to safaris in the Okavango and it provides only what you need to go somewhere else. The rooms are adequate and the service is OK, but you won't find anything luxurious here. Get some rest and get going to the rest of Botswana. And don't be surprised by the prices.

Room Tip: Get one close to the Lodge. Otherwise you will be traversing dirt and gravel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skip15000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were greeted friendly and efficiently assisted to our chalet. It is not luxurious, but comfortable and clean. We had some washing to do, which we could give in that night and we got it back the next morning. This was fantastic. Food was good. The staff should really learn to smile more. The sunset cruise on the river was very interesting. This is value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet on the river. Those have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ockert4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The cottage I had was good, cool with a fairly large bathroom with shower. Air conditioning is provided and beds are very good. Restaurant is reasonable. Service depends on the member of staff that will help you. Two pools. Very nice location on the river and it's quiet. You can arrange there excursions to do in Botswana.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMeeuwissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights recently and initially it did have a good first impression however the longer we stayed the more issues that arose:

THE ROOM- our room was fairly clean however hot water was an issue at times, the toilet did not always work, the drain on the sink leaked, the drain in the shower was slow causing a small lake and the only light we had in the bathroom was one lamp over the door. The one over the sinks was missing the lamp and the other one over the door was burnt out.

THE GROUNDS- they are quite nice and reasonably well maintained. The only real issue we have is that they have created a very nice atmosphere but there is no decent place to sit. We ended up moving an uncomfortable, run down bench into the sun so we could sit and watch the river. A little bit of improvement here and you have a great environment.

THE RESTAURANT- very neat atmosphere. Everything was quite decent other than the fact they ran out of all chicken products by our 3rd night and did not have certain beef cuts earlier in our stay. That being said, the bar menu was really good and they make excellent pizza.

THE SAFARI- let me start by saying that our free lance guide, Ben, was excellent all day and the safari itself was amazing. The problems we had had to do with how Island Safari Lodge runs their business. Although I believe that the truck had canvas side that could have been rolled down to reduce the wind chill we ended up sitting on the back of the truck in temperatures close to freezing for close to 2 hours. The truck did not have seatbelts and we had to drive about 60 km's on very rough sand road to get to the game reserve. There were times that it did not feel safe. On the way back we got a flat at which time our guide discovered that he did not have the right tools to get the spare from underneath. After 2 hours and a park vehicle going back to the entrance to get the right tools we were on our way. In no way do I blame our guide- this is the hotel's problem. I saw MANY other safari vehicles from other areas that were much better equipped and comfortable for the guests. Island Safari Lodge needs to look at this to make a great experience even better.

All the above being said I would probably stay here again however not without looking at other properties in the area to see if a better deal could be had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel made up of bungalows could have been impressive. Instead it is run down and dirty. Our toilets were not cleaning (awful), the room looked half cleaned. We went to the restaurant were they don't change the table cloths so you have the stains of at least a dozen meals in front of you. Disgusting! The staff is nice but clueless. It seems that there is no management and the staff is left on his own trying to figure out what to do. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maun hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We recently stayed at this lodge between safaris. The room was not very clean and I don't think the carpet in our room had been vacuumed in quite some time. The queen size bed was also dipping in the middle. The staff were ok. But a little too laid back for my liking. The food was good and cheap. Glad it was only for one night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eur02012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maun hotels
6.9 mi away
Cresta Riley's
Cresta Riley's
#1 of 2 in Maun
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Okavango River Lodge
Okavango River Lodge
#16 of 45 in Maun
133 reviews
11.1 mi away
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge
#5 of 45 in Maun
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
7.6 mi away
Maun Lodge
Maun Lodge
#10 of 45 in Maun
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mochaba Crossing Lodge
Mochaba Crossing Lodge
#15 of 45 in Maun
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Safari Lodge

Property: Island Safari Lodge
Address: Shorobe Road, Maun, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Maun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Maun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Safari Lodge is set on a 300 acre private island reserve, and is just 10 km away from Maun Airport. It is situated on the banks of the Thamalakane River under a canopy of beautifully lush and green Okavango trees. The lodge overlooks a floodplain of fields and water that are frequented by an abundance of birdlife and the occasional Hippo. The lodge offers a tranquil bush setting that is complimented by the river view, a pool and the iconic tranquil call of the African Fish Eagle. The accommodation is comfortable and set in the lodge gardens. The lodge comprises of 12 Chalets all with en suite showers, WI FI, DSTV and air conditioning. The lodge has a main bar and restaurant area with seating indoors or out in the gardens. You are able to choose from a la carte menu for lunches and dinners accompanied by our wine list. It is an ideal place to relax alongside flowing waters, or beside one of the swimming pools, using the free WI-FI services and ordering refreshments from the restaurant. For those active bush loving visitors who are interested in adventure, there are many recreational excursions and opportunities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Island Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Safari Hotel Maun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing