We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Riverside Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Safari Lodge
Ranked #6 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Maun
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a very nice simple lodging on the Tamalakane river which after a few nights of hot and dusty camping had all we needed...a hot shower, a clean bed, air conditioning, free wifi, cold drinks and friendly restaurant with a swimming pool and deck overlooking the pretty river, and at a very affordable price. The rooms lack TLC and could do with a deep clean, but as things can feel a little gritty in Maun, these were easily overlooked when the staff were so accommodating of any and every request made and the nice relaxed feeling at the establishment. We stayed in the simple rooms at the back which amusingly have a sign on them saying " Room Type: Room". There are interleading doors in these rooms, which, if you are not friends with your neighbours, are not sound proof, so snoring/chatting and shower singing are all quite audible! The style of the lodge is also quite nicely understated with simple rondavel chalets and, although we stayed in the "Rooms" it looked like the Chalets were the better choice and worth the few extra Pula. Watch out for the clever little monkeys that are opportunistically hanging around waiting for an open door/window to investigate for snacks...
We did a 2 hour, private sunset boat cruise which was a perfect ending to a Moremi/Savuti camping trip and the boat was impressively new and well maintained for such a laid back place. Our skipper and guide was thoroughly welcoming and good company. I would highly recommend doing a trip for at least an hour. I would happily stay there again next time I travel through Maun.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet that does not have traffic passing by on the footpaths if you would like more priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StanCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 182 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our family of four (children 9 and 11) stayed here for three nights in July 2012 and had a great time. We were put in one of the rooms in a block of 6 rather than the stand alone rooms because they are much bigger and we had wanted to all be in the same room. The price was exceptional especially as a really good breakfast was included (not only cooked breakfast but fruit, yogourt, cereals, muffins, toast etc.). The staff were universally helpful and enjoyed teaching our children some Setswana. On of our children left a special soft toy in the room which ISL very kindly had couriered down to Gaborone. The location is excellent, being right on the river and the organised mokoro trips etc. are good value. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have children the room with extra beds option is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rayl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We said in the standard rooms for two nights. The rooms are good but in need of some paint and anti mould. The restaurant was excellent and good priced. The staff will make you feel like a million dollars! I will definitely go back. We did the day trip to Moremi with the kids and it was awesome. I must do!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Abri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Island Safari was very pretty.. The hotel is 2K off the main road and it is all bush between the hotel and the road. We had a private house/chalet that was surrounded by native foliage. Aesthetically pleasing art is masterfully placed around the grounds. The hotel was on a delta/river bank that was beautiful. The hotel has built a walk down next to the delta so it is easy to have a close look and enjoy the nature.

Service is excellent. The staff is obviously concerned about each customers comfort and bends over backwards to provide a good experience.

There are many activities one can engage in directly from the lodge including hiking, swimming, play ground, and different boat rides. It is off the beat and path, and if you are young and want to hang out with other internationals having a good this may not be the most happening place. However, if this is perfect for a family or people looking to relax.

The food was above average, but not great. It is a little expensive for what you get – but it is not bad and good service always goes a long way towards mitigating average food that is slightly over priced. The bar charges about double costs – but not more than other hotel tourist bars.

The rooms ranged from Chalet to camp site. The hotel was allowing campers to upgrade at 50% discounts if the rooms were not yet rented, which was a nice touch.

The gift shop is small, but it has nice things appropriately priced.
Overall – it is a nice hotel with very good service!

Room Tip: You should try to negotiate prices before arrival - it seemed there were no set rates. I got a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolreckamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We found ourselves in Maun at 19h00 on a Thursday evening with no reservations for the night and most of the obvious places fully booked. Very tired, despondent and hungry we decided to venture down the 1,8km driveway into the 300ha property of te lodge. What luck, as the first impressions of the lodge were a favourable introduction to the good experience that followed. Reception was very welcoming and efficient. While we had a drink under the characterful big fig trees overlooking the Tamalakane river, our room was made up. We dined under the stars and lamplight and both the food and service was grartyingly good. In Botswana one does not expect gourmet fare as supplies as limites, but the prices were very reasonable, the food tasty and well presented and the portions extremely generous. The room iwas quite basic, but large, en suite with a roomy shower. The lodge also offers chalets, some almost on the river. We left after breakfast and returned later for lunch under the same trees. A wonderful stay with really friendly service and very good value for our pulas. We will certainly return

Room Tip: Choose the chalets, they are bigger and some very close to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KalahariAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at Island Safari Lodge. We arrived during a spell of exceptionally hot November temperatures (44 degrees Celsius) and were delighted to be presented with icy cold face flannels to mop our over-heated faces - what a great idea! The reception staff were very welcoming, and this friendly attitude was a consistent feature from all staff throughout our stay. We had booked a chalet and were very pleased to be allocated Number 3 (directly facing the Thamalakane River). The chalets were built in the 70s I'd say, and look a bit dated, but ours was very clean and comfortable. The air conditioning was a Godsend, especially after coming from Planet Baobab where we'd been unable to sleep because of the heat. The room was spacious enough, with a comfortable bed, hospitality tray, and drinking water. Bathroom was fine (though with a rather eccentric light which sometimes took a few minutes to come to life).

The bar area overlooks the river and is a very pleasant place to relax with a beer or dine. Breakfasts and dinners were enjoyable and well priced. Free wifi is available in and around the bar and the outside river front area.

We also booked a mokoro trip through the Lodge (an 8 hour day trip, including motorised boat transfer to the mokoro station and packed lunch) which was a great day out.

Island Safari Lodge was one of the better value places we stayed at while in Botswana, and its location on the Thamalakane River is idyllic.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KikiBeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We arrived at this resort and taken to a room when we had paid for a chalet. The Room was "poor" - door didn't shut properly - curtains not hanging properly so gaps, two light bulbs in the room as all the other blown, mold in bathroom and very poorly presented room. When we complained they said they were booked out of chalets and yet a group arrived after us that took over chalets that were empty. When we asked for new bulbs they provide all they had but they were the wrong size fitting. To make matters worse in the middle of the night world war three of the animal kingdom occurred either over our head or it sounded like in the walls so the average beds and screaming animals made for a poor night sleep. When we spoke to the Duty Manager about the room we were told we would be compensated the next morning. When we were leaving no offer of compensation was made and they even insisted I pay $4.00 US for three cans of Coke we had on VISA card. Far from impressed with room state, staff attitudes and customer relations. They eventually gave us a full refund by be hounded by our travel agent but that doesn't make up for the night of misery.

Room Tip: Book at another Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keiffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maun hotels
6.9 mi away
Cresta Riley's
Cresta Riley's
#1 of 2 in Maun
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Okavango River Lodge
Okavango River Lodge
#13 of 48 in Maun
141 reviews
4.1 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Maun Lodge
Maun Lodge
#5 of 48 in Maun
235 reviews
0 mi away
Cresta Maun
Cresta Maun
#2 of 20 in Maun
25 reviews
11.1 mi away
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge
#7 of 48 in Maun
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Safari Lodge

Address: Shorobe Road, Maun, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Maun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Maun
Price Range: $92 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Safari Lodge is set on a 300 acre private island reserve, and is just 10 km away from Maun Airport. It is situated on the banks of the Thamalakane River under a canopy of beautifully lush and green Okavango trees. The lodge overlooks a floodplain of fields and water that are frequented by an abundance of birdlife and the occasional Hippo. The lodge offers a tranquil bush setting that is complimented by the river view, a pool and the iconic tranquil call of the African Fish Eagle. The accommodation is comfortable and set in the lodge gardens. The lodge comprises of 12 Chalets all with en suite showers, WI FI, DSTV and air conditioning. The lodge has a main bar and restaurant area with seating indoors or out in the gardens. You are able to choose from a la carte menu for lunches and dinners accompanied by our wine list. It is an ideal place to relax alongside flowing waters, or beside one of the swimming pools, using the free WI-FI services and ordering refreshments from the restaurant. For those active bush loving visitors who are interested in adventure, there are many recreational excursions and opportunities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Island Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Safari Hotel Maun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing