We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chief's Camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Okavango Delta

Okavango Delta
Book In Advance
More Info
$2,382.00*
and up
Victoria Falls To Okavango Delta Tour
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Maun
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Chief's Camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was our second visit to Chief's Camp and if anything it was even more enjoyable than last time. The welcome from the staff was lovely as was the revamped reception/dining/bar areas. Still looking out over the vast expanse of the Delta where you are treated to wildlife coming by doing their daily routines with no bother that you are watching. The accommodation is of high standard, and during the day you may be lucky to see an elephant wandering through the camp which was a great thrill. Our guide whose name was Martin was extremely knowledgeable on all aspects of wildlife as well as flora and fauna and he had a great sense of humour. On one morning game drive he spent a lot of time trying to follow the tracks of a rhino but to no avail but we did see a lovely female leopard. Being a guest in the animal world is a great privilege and humbling that they are happy for us to see them. Having sundowners near a pond which was being shared by a small herd of elephants made our day. The food was of high standards as well as the cleaniness of the whole area. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were always on hand to answer any questions no matter how silly they might be. They even came to my rescue with hayfever tablets which I had forgotten to bring at no cost to me. Internet is available in your rooms, but hey, you are there to see the wildlife in their natural habitation and the outside world can just disappear for a few days. We survived it and would go back again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    68
    8
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Largest inland Delta of the world!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

and you just cant miss it... It is a must visit... I went only for the helicopter ride due to time constraints... but if you have time do visit... It is one of the best and beautiful deltas....

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Surbhi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokneam Moshava
Level Contributor
354 reviews
255 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Fly above the Okanvango Delta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

As usual, the inner debate was whether we should fly above or take a boat ride + hike through.
For the first option, you obviously get to cover a far more larger area, with more chances to see the animals and understand the 'overall amazing picture' of this place. However, your picture animals will look kind of 'strange' from a bird's view - if you're lucky enough to get the animals in and focused.
On the other hand - a boat ride + hike, in the 'wrong' season, may be very disappointing from the animal watching perspective, or as one traveller told us: "I thought we were the only ones there in the wilderness, and then suddenly we met more groups, which was a little disappointing". Another one said, that the 3 days in the delta, were her BEST experience so far. She LOVED it.
Since we already saw a 'bunch' of animals in previous days and places,we decided on the 45 minutes flight.
The views were amazing!! And - we got to understand African weather. In few places, some rain storms were right in front of us. The smart pilot simply avoided them and kept us in relatively good weather. We did see quite many animals, but obviously they look very small in the pictures. Overall, we were very happy we added that experience as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank OphirB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Recommend using Travel Beyond for safari plans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I almost always plan trips myself, but since we had less than 2 weeks to arrange a safari I went with other recommendations and called Travel Beyond. Rose made outstanding recommendations and set us up to see the variety of wildlife we were looking for (leopards at Tubu Tree and lions at Little Vumbura). It was a great combination! More importantly when Air Botswana abruptly cancelled one of our return flights while we were in the bush with no cell or internet access, Rose was able to re-book us on another flight. I would not travel on safari again without using these guys.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OBT_Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
161 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Largest inland delta in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

It is the largest inland delta in the world and is a mixture of narrow and wide streams, the water flows slowly from north to south, there are hundreds of islands.
The area was once part of the Makgadikgadimeer that dried up 10,000 years ago.
Today, the Okavango River flows not into the sea but ends up in the sands of the Kalahari and provides the desert of water. The delta is subject to seasonal flooding, islands may disappear completely under water and resurface at the end of the season. As the water evaporates it leaves enormous amounts of salt.
By poolers we transported in mokoros (dugout tree) to the bush campsite. Our camp site was located on an island. Only the most necessary we could take with us, because it had to be transported in mokoros.
A totally different landscape compared to the rest of Botswana.
We flying back to Maun. During the flight of one hour you have a very nice view of the landscape and the animals (about $190, cash).



Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMeeuwissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okavango Delta also viewed

Maun, North-West District
Maun, North-West District
 
Maun, North-West District
Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, Central District
 

Been to Okavango Delta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing